general_kalle
04-14-2006, 10:00 AM
whats the purpose of parafrag bombs?

general_kalle
04-14-2006, 10:00 AM
whats the purpose of parafrag bombs?

VVaFFenPanZZeR
04-14-2006, 10:08 AM
Parafrag Bomblets are used to destroy enemy defensive positions, troop positions, light skin armored vehicles, equipment, and also to destroy runways, bridges, roads, buildings. ...........etc.

Its obvious what their for.

RxMan
04-14-2006, 10:45 AM
Used graphically in a popular WW2 film clip droping on a small Japanese fishing village/harbor.

LEBillfish
04-14-2006, 11:10 AM
Here is some of a write-up I did which includes them......What they allowed for was the ability to hit many targets in a swath of sorts. The Parachute ******ing the forward flight helping to insure they would drop on target not bouncing off revetments drifting straight down.

The Missing Ordinance:
(know I am no expert on U.S. ordinance, yet some info I ran across)

The following information is from many sources, yet the lions share of this segment comes from "Capt. M.K.Rodman's, A War of their Own, Bombers Over the Southwest Pacific".....An excellent read that goes into great detail as to the 5th Air Force Bombers and their various configurations, weapons and tactics. (lots and lots on ship bombing as well).

Missing Japanese Bombs:

Though weapon creativity seemed to be lacking mostly due to the light loadouts and inferior planes of the Japanese Army and Navy, one weapon is sorely missing here. That being the "Anti-Bomber Phosphorous Bomb".

Though I am trying to gather more detailed information (and at this time is sketchy so not to be considered accurate), essentially the bomb I believe came in 30 & 50kg constructions and came in 2 types. Sticks of incendiaries bound together would be dropped into a formation of bombers. The first type would break up in the fall spreading out...The second would drop as a bundle then discharge casting out the sticks before their detonation.