PDA

View Full Version : Best Joystick for FB



Manreaper
06-24-2004, 10:31 AM
Hi,
What would you say is the best Joystick to use for FB?
Thanks.

Manreaper
06-24-2004, 10:31 AM
Hi,
What would you say is the best Joystick to use for FB?
Thanks.

Tully__
06-24-2004, 10:47 AM
Joysticks are a personal choice. What suits one person will not suit another.

If you're buying new, plan to spend at least US$40. Find (& try if possible) as many different models as you can from:

Thrustmaster
Saitek
CH Products

and choose the one that best suits your needs & budget and that feels good to you.

I use the Saitek X-45 and I'm very happy with it, but have also used and found satisfactory the Thrustmaster Topgun Afterburner II and the Saitek Cyborg 3D USB.

The more money you pay, the more likely you are to get a product that lasts and the high prices of the CH Products equipment is generally reflected in quality build. I haven't used any myself, but there are people on these forums using CH sticks over 5 years old with no reliability problems.

=================================================


http://members.optusnet.com.au/tully_78th/sig.jpg

IL2 Forums Moderator
Forum Terms of Use (http://www.ubi.com/US/Info/TermsOfUse.htm)
Tully's X-45 profile (SST drivers) (http://members.optusnet.com.au/tully_78th/fb.zip)

Salut
Tully

ElAurens
06-24-2004, 10:56 AM
I have used the Saitek 3D and still keep it "just in case". But I have been using the whole CH setup (stick, throttle, pedals) for some time now. Never a problem. Pricey? Be sure, but what good thing isn't these days?

Listen to Tully's advice, try a lot of them, and don't buy the bottom end, no matter who makes it.

_____________________________

http://www.blitzpigs.com/forum/images/avatars/Curtiss_logo.gif

BlitzPig_EL

Manreaper
06-24-2004, 11:58 AM
Thanks. I have the Saitek Cyborg 3D and it keeps uninstalling itself and will not be recognised by my computer so I can not use it, so I thought about getting a new one.
Thanks again!

Capt._Tenneal
06-24-2004, 12:01 PM
Silly question time : can you use a gamepad to play FB ? I have one with the analog thumbsticks, and if I can use those for Ace Combat 4, I was thinking maybe in FB ? http://ubbxforums.ubi.com/images/smiley/35.gif

CowboyTodd41
06-24-2004, 12:19 PM
My Microsoft Sidewinder 2 works pretty well, although I'd like to have a seperate throttle.

http://mywebpage.netscape.com/Tgan92/vote.jpg

horseback
06-24-2004, 01:25 PM
<BLOCKQUOTE class="ip-ubbcode-quote"><font size="-1">quote:</font><HR>Originally posted by Capt._Tenneal:
Silly question time : can you use a gamepad to play FB ? I have one with the analog thumbsticks, and if I can use those for Ace Combat 4, I was thinking maybe in FB ? http://ubbxforums.ubi.com/images/smiley/35.gif<HR></BLOCKQUOTE>

You, sir, are a heretic! http://ubbxforums.ubi.com/images/smiley/784.gif

Seriously, this sim is lightyears ahead of most flightsims out there today; I have a hard time imagining a gamepad with sufficiently sensitive 'thumbsticks', much less someone with sufficient control of their thumbs, being competitive with someone using a decent joystick.

I don't know what Manreaper's dedication to FB is, or his budget for a control system, but if he's spending an hour or more a day on the game, a CH Combatstick, Pro Throttle, and Pro Pedals would be a very good investment. They will increase his ability to control not only his aircraft, but his views. I can combine the 3 units into one Controller with 6 axes and 30 button assignments, allowing me to dispense with many of the 2-key commands. It really enhances the game for me (coincidentally, I figure that the more people who buy CH, the lower the per-unit cost will go, allowing me to get more).

cheers

horseback

"Here's your new Mustangs, boys. You can learn to fly'em on the way to the target. Cheers!" -LTCOL Don Blakeslee, 4th FG CO, February 27th, 1944

terencemace
06-24-2004, 01:35 PM
****Make sure you get one that has rudder control, such as the twist-handle kind.

I have a Logitech cordless Freedom joystick and have been very happy with it.

arcadeace
06-24-2004, 02:17 PM
If you can wait a few extra days try eBay. I just received a Thrustmaster Afterburner II non-FFB today and its in excellent condition. I paid $10 plus that for shipping. I have a Saitek Evo, basically the same as the Cyborg 3D and have the same problem as you.

http://www.onpoi.net/ah/pics/users/222_1082457373_222_1082441075_airaces.jpg

DeerHunterUK
06-24-2004, 04:35 PM
<BLOCKQUOTE class="ip-ubbcode-quote"><font size="-1">quote:</font><HR>Originally posted by Manreaper:
Thanks. I have the Saitek Cyborg 3D and it keeps uninstalling itself and will not be recognised by my computer so I can not use it, so I thought about getting a new one.
Thanks again!<HR></BLOCKQUOTE>

My last 2 Cyborg Platinums kept on doing that. What I found is that if I looked in the device manager in Windows, the "Human Interface Device" had the yellow warning triangle indicating it wasn't working properly. If I disabled it and then re-enabled it, then 9 times out of 10 it would sort the problem out itself and it would indicate that it was functioning ok and a 2nd device would then appear in the box underneath and then the joystick would work fine. If disabling it didn't work 1st time, it'd usually work on the 2nd try. I'm not saying that this is a definite cure but it worked for me.
Anyway, it's all academic now as I took back the Platinums as both were faulty (1 had a loose top and bad drift in the centre and the other had a stiff throttle that wouldn't stay in 1 position) and got a Saitek Evo instead which has worked beautifully ever since.

No1_Moggy
-----
In memory of 'The Few'
http://www.lima1.co.uk/Sharkey/spitfire.jpg
The Tangmere Pilots - http://www.tangmerepilots-raf.co.uk/
Know your enemy and know yourself; in a hundred battles, you will never be defeated.

Bearcat99
06-24-2004, 06:19 PM
<BLOCKQUOTE class="ip-ubbcode-quote"><font size="-1">quote:</font><HR>Originally posted by Capt._Tenneal:
Silly question time : can you use a gamepad to play FB ? I have one with the analog thumbsticks, and if I can use those for Ace Combat 4, I was thinking maybe in FB ? http://ubbxforums.ubi.com/images/smiley/35.gif<HR></BLOCKQUOTE>
You can use it as a seperate controller as far as buttons and such but foe flying ... get a joystick.

<UL TYPE=SQUARE>http://www.jodavidsmeyer.com/combat/bookstore/tuskegeebondposter.jpg (http://tuskegeeairmen.org/airmen/who.html)[/list]<UL TYPE=SQUARE>vflyer@comcast.net [/list]<UL TYPE=SQUARE>99thPursuit Squadron IL2 Forgotten Battles (http://www.geocities.com/rt_bearcat)[/list]
UDQMG (http://www.uberdemon.com/index2.html) | HYPERLOBBY (http://hyperfighter.jinak.cz/) | Sturmovik Essentials (http://forums.ubi.com/eve/forums?a=tpc&s=400102&f=23110283&m=51910959) | MUDMOVERS (http://magnum-pc.netfirms.com/mudmovers/index.htm)

IMMERSION BABY!!

Dawg-of-death
06-24-2004, 08:01 PM
I use a Micro Soft Side Winder II......
I never see them any more ,. They may have quit making them. ...............

S~

Bad-MF(Mongrel Fighter) AKA .......Dawg-of-death

WTE_Galway
06-24-2004, 08:02 PM
i use Microsft FFB2

once you fly with FFB you cannot do without it

Kondor99
06-24-2004, 09:36 PM
I love my Microsoft Force Feedback 2. Which is a bit of a tease, since they're impossible to find at a reasonable price. Sorry.

The Saitek Cyborg 3D Force is a nice 2nd choice, however...

ddsflyer
06-26-2004, 10:04 PM
CH products are the most precise and also the most durable. They stand behind them 100%.

P4 3.4GHz Northwood
Intel D875PBZ
ATI Radeon X800XT PT
1.0GB Kingston HyperX PC3200
W.D. Dual 80GB SATA RAID
Plextor PX-708A
Lite-On 52x
Creative Audigy2 ZS
NEC FP2141SB