PDA

View Full Version : OT: BOB 4 CFS3 OK?

tagTaken2
04-28-2005, 10:29 PM
The firepower addon, I mean. Looking to add value to my coaster.

I'm sure this has been asked before, but search function still doesn't seem to be working on forums.

tagTaken2
04-28-2005, 10:29 PM
The firepower addon, I mean. Looking to add value to my coaster.

I'm sure this has been asked before, but search function still doesn't seem to be working on forums.

FI-Aflak
04-28-2005, 11:45 PM
I have no direct experience . . . but I've been on these boards and remember the last topic.

I think the consensus was it was much much better than standard CFS3, but still nowhere close to IL2. I think it was recommended for people that wanted to fly in parts of the war that IL2+FB+AEP+PF don't have.

-HH- Beebop
04-28-2005, 11:48 PM
IIRC the Firepower addon for M$FS2004 does give you warplanes but no load outs. As you pass over a city make whistling noises followed by your best <span class="ev_code_RED">KABOOM!</span> sound. Rat-a-tat-tat-tat will do for the guns.

Seriously the planes look like they are rendered nicely but you can't go to war. Now if you want to simulate the Confederate Airforce flying museum pieces to various airshows...............

Skycat_2
04-29-2005, 01:36 PM
-HH- Beebop is describing Shockwave's "Wings of Power" add-on for FS2004 that adds WWII-era heavy bombers to the sim. Not much help in answering the original question, but I think I know where he was trying to go with that reply ...

Shockwave also released a similar product for CFS-3 titled "FirePower" that has all the same bombers plus some new fighters. I understand that the real value comes with the smoke and battlefield effects, and the improved damage and weapon values. If you ask about add-ons for CFS-3 in a CFS-3 forum, people will swear that FirePower is essential to making the sim playable. Personally, I don't have it so it wouldn't be fair for me to comment.