PDA

View Full Version : Clues To a Flyable Avenger?



Snootles
10-03-2004, 07:35 PM
I was looking over the SimHQ preview of PacFighters when I noticed something in one of the screen shots. It's a shot of seven Avengers taking off from the deck of the Lex. Anyway, the lead Avenger's engine is up and running, and there's this blue message text, you know the kind, that says Power: 97%. It wouldn't show this throttle message if they were AI planes, now would it?

Check it out (http://www.simhq.com/_air2/air_033b.html) to see what I'm talking about...

Jason Bourne
10-03-2004, 07:54 PM
hmmm....Im likeing this http://forums.ubi.com/groupee_common/emoticons/icon_biggrin.gif if this is why they are pushing the date back, then i can wait a few more days.

actionhank1786
10-03-2004, 08:07 PM
I'm pretty sure it's coming in the first patch
That's what i've heard atleast

Obi_Kwiet
10-04-2004, 06:23 AM
Yeah. All the planes won't fit on two CDs.

Tvrdi
10-04-2004, 07:15 AM
<BLOCKQUOTE class="ip-ubbcode-quote"><font size="-1">quote:</font><HR>Originally posted by actionhank1786:
I'm pretty sure it's coming in the first patch
That's what i've heard atleast <HR></BLOCKQUOTE>

hoping ur right....cause PF sim without torpedo/fighters or torpedo/bombers who were important units through the war is ridiculous...

Yellonet
10-04-2004, 01:53 PM
A fun ride, and a key plane. It's bound to be made. Then again, there are many "key" planes missing from FB.

JG53Frankyboy
10-04-2004, 02:00 PM
well, the screenshot maker could still have flown another plane - just made an outside view of this Avenger http://forums.ubi.com/groupee_common/emoticons/icon_wink.gif

also Starshoy said that propably there will no Avenger , and no B5N (!) , in release and NOT in the first patch !

Maj_Death
10-04-2004, 02:07 PM
Let's get a few facts here

1) Those messages appear regardless of whether or not you are looking at your own plane.

2) Plane 1 has an icon, plane 2 does not. Because icons only appear on planes that the camera is not attached to, plane 2 must be the one the camera is centered on.

3) Just because the camera is centered on plane 2 doesn't mean plane 2 is human, you can center on any AI plane you want.

4) All planes in that screenshot have full up elevator. This would be consistant for AI planes cause they like to do wierd stuff like that.

My interpretation:
Those screenshots only prove that the TBF is atleast an AI plane in PF, which of course we already knew. It does not prove if it is flyable or not.

Snootles
10-04-2004, 02:44 PM
I know that message could have come from another human-controlled plane- but WHY? The purpose of that shot is to show some Avengers taking off. To do that, you'd set up a flight of Avengers on a carrier and watch them take off. It would make no sense to have another plane flying around while setting up the Avengers. That would be like a photographer employing someone to run around in circles in another room while the photographer takes his shots.

MEGILE
10-04-2004, 03:09 PM
i think you are reading way too far in to things....
The pilot could have been flying a mission and simply scrolled views to take shots of other planes..
similarly it could have been taken from a track of a previous mission http://forums.ubi.com/groupee_common/emoticons/icon_smile.gif

That front Avenger doesn't appear to be moving does it, yet Power: 97% is selected.. http://forums.ubi.com/images/smilies/16x16_smiley-wink.gif

AI. Be sure.

Snootles
10-04-2004, 03:22 PM
It's a static picture...why would it appear to be moving?

All the pilot would have to do is quickly rev the throttle to full (which is presumably what a carrier pilot would do with limited take-off space). If it's the absence of a dust cloud or gray wheel clouds you're talking about- it would make perfect sense to remove that big brown clowd for ship take-offs, and the wheel clouds (if they haven't been tuned down or removed) only form at higher speeds as the plane begins to nose forwards.

JG53Frankyboy
10-04-2004, 03:46 PM
senseless discussion , in a few weeks we will all know http://forums.ubi.com/groupee_common/emoticons/icon_biggrin.gif

TC_Stele
10-04-2004, 05:54 PM
Yeah I know we'll find out soon but it just tears at my heels. Why is the fourth plane's engine already on? Do the planes in the AI flight start one by one or is it random?

heywooood
10-04-2004, 07:44 PM
this Avenger wont be flyable either - but some people will buy it..see here (http://www.squadron.com/ItemDetails.asp?item=TR32233)