PDA

View Full Version : How do I change the skill of AI gunners?



Abel29A
07-11-2005, 05:55 AM
I used IL2 Stab(i think) earlier and I could choose the option for AI Gunner Skill. I Havent installed Stab or anything li9ke it lately and I was wondering how I adjust this manually. I assume I add something ioin conf.ini but what? and where?

While on the subject - how do I manually adjust the other skill/difficulty settings? Is there a list somewhere of conf.ini tweaks?

Abel29A
07-11-2005, 05:55 AM
I used IL2 Stab(i think) earlier and I could choose the option for AI Gunner Skill. I Havent installed Stab or anything li9ke it lately and I was wondering how I adjust this manually. I assume I add something ioin conf.ini but what? and where?

While on the subject - how do I manually adjust the other skill/difficulty settings? Is there a list somewhere of conf.ini tweaks?

Dunkelgrun
07-11-2005, 06:05 AM
To change the skill settings open up the mission in the Full Mission Builder and click on the relevant plane or flight. Each aircraft in the flight can be accessed through Plane 1, Plane 2 etc, and for each one you can choose between Ace; Veteran; Average and Rookie. It does not affect only the gunners but all of the crew, so determines what action the pilot will do in, a particular situation, as well.
You can also do this by manually editing the .mis file using notepad, or with Shift_E's Quick Mission Tuner (not sure of the link to that offhand http://forums.ubi.com/groupee_common/emoticons/icon_confused.gif), which is a very fine piece of kit.
In the Quick Mission Builder you can choose the skill levels as you construct the mission.
Hope that this helps a bit,
Cheers!

Abel29A
07-11-2005, 06:09 AM
Ah OK. So thats probably the way Stab did it - and why Stab had to run in the background all the time.

I thought maybe there was some magical setting for it somewhere http://forums.ubi.com/groupee_common/emoticons/icon_smile.gif

Thanks for the quick reply Dunkelgrun

antifreeze
07-11-2005, 06:35 AM
But it depends what mission-type you're talking about.
For online and offline campaigns, there are overall settings you can change in the conf.ini so that each mission generated conforms to that setting:

[DGen]
CampaignAI=Normal ; Easy, Normal, Hard
MaxBomberSkill=2 ; between 0 and 3

The first works on all maps/campaigns, and sets the average 'rookie to ace' parameters used by the generator.
The second as far as I know only works on Eastern and Western front maps (ie. not the Pacific theatre). It sets the AI gunner level in large bombers AND affects how accurate the bombs drop too.

However, if you are talking about single offline missions or single online coops, then you have to set that in each .mis file. Dunkelgrun is absolutely correct when he said QMT is the best tool for the job for editing mission details.
http://home.comcast.net/~qmtsupport/qmt.htm

Abel29A
07-11-2005, 09:10 AM
I see... I should have been more spesific. I meant for Campaigns yeah.

Ok then I'll have a dive into the conf.ini file and see what settings works best for me.

Cheers mate

dieg777
07-11-2005, 09:22 AM
see link to config in my sig http://forums.ubi.com/images/smilies/16x16_smiley-wink.gif

good luck