PDA

View Full Version : Problems connecting to online w/ 4.02m



Falconise
11-29-2005, 07:05 PM
Now that I have my graphics set the way I want:

http://forums.ubi.com/eve/forums?a=tpc&s=400102&f=2...711027183#6711027183 (http://forums.ubi.com/eve/forums?a=tpc&s=400102&f=26310365&m=6711027183&r=6711027183#6711027183)

I find that I am still having problems connecting to servers online. I use ASE to connect. I tried HyperLobby but there were only two empty servers in the list. I haven't tried UBIcom lately.

90% of the servers I try to join through ASE fail to connect, the error says something like "Failed to connect. Reason: you have been kicked."

This is a fresh vanilla install of IL2 (just bought it), patched to 4.02m. The only thing to note about the patching process, is that I patched to 2.04 FB+AEP before buying PF and patching to 4.02m. The game runs fine in single player, so I can't see how this could affect multiplayer connections, particularly because I can connect to a small few of them. Yes, I did patch these in correct order.

I've been struggling with this for about a week now, and since then have installed some custom skins and utilities, but nothing else. This has been happening from way before installing any extras.

I'm wondering if it is a server side setting, that may be checking for a client side option that maybe I need to turn off?

Last thing I want to do is uninstall and reinstall, it would just take too long. If I couldn't connect to *any* server, I'd reluctantly try. But since I can connect to some servers, I don't feel it's an install/patch problem.

I have 7mbit cable internet, going through a Dlink 604e router. Ports appear to open fine with uPnP because I never had to manually set any.

Perhaps these other servers are using custom ports? Should I open them anyway?

Any help would be muchly appreciated. Thanks in advance!

Falconise
11-29-2005, 07:05 PM
Now that I have my graphics set the way I want:

http://forums.ubi.com/eve/forums?a=tpc&s=400102&f=2...711027183#6711027183 (http://forums.ubi.com/eve/forums?a=tpc&s=400102&f=26310365&m=6711027183&r=67 11027183#6711027183)

I find that I am still having problems connecting to servers online. I use ASE to connect. I tried HyperLobby but there were only two empty servers in the list. I haven't tried UBIcom lately.

90% of the servers I try to join through ASE fail to connect, the error says something like "Failed to connect. Reason: you have been kicked."

This is a fresh vanilla install of IL2 (just bought it), patched to 4.02m. The only thing to note about the patching process, is that I patched to 2.04 FB+AEP before buying PF and patching to 4.02m. The game runs fine in single player, so I can't see how this could affect multiplayer connections, particularly because I can connect to a small few of them. Yes, I did patch these in correct order.

I've been struggling with this for about a week now, and since then have installed some custom skins and utilities, but nothing else. This has been happening from way before installing any extras.

I'm wondering if it is a server side setting, that may be checking for a client side option that maybe I need to turn off?

Last thing I want to do is uninstall and reinstall, it would just take too long. If I couldn't connect to *any* server, I'd reluctantly try. But since I can connect to some servers, I don't feel it's an install/patch problem.

I have 7mbit cable internet, going through a Dlink 604e router. Ports appear to open fine with uPnP because I never had to manually set any.

Perhaps these other servers are using custom ports? Should I open them anyway?

Any help would be muchly appreciated. Thanks in advance!

VVaFFenPanZZeR
11-29-2005, 09:03 PM
Goto the forgotten battles hyperlobby deal thats where everyone plays, not the pacific fighters one.

Falconise
11-30-2005, 10:08 AM
Ahhhh! Thanks for that Panz!

Plenty of servers there, first one I tried connected too!

I wonder if the problem is with ASE?

/edit

Sure enough, it was an ASE setting.

There must have been a problem with the default playername that ASE was sending to the game when joining a server.

My default name had a clan tag in brackets. In options/games/il2 the name field was empty. I put in "Falconise" without the tag, and can now join all the servers.

Thanks again Panz, your suggestion pointed me in the right direction.

Tully__
11-30-2005, 01:30 PM
Most servers are set to autokick the ASE default player name to prevent them having lots of players with the same name. http://forums.ubi.com/groupee_common/emoticons/icon_wink.gif http://forums.ubi.com/groupee_common/emoticons/icon_wink.gif

Falconise
12-01-2005, 11:38 AM
Well that certainly explains it. http://forums.ubi.com/groupee_common/emoticons/icon_smile.gif

Thanks for that heads up. Learning curve is still steep for me atm, but enjoying the ride. http://forums.ubi.com/groupee_common/emoticons/icon_smile.gif

<BLOCKQUOTE class="ip-ubbcode-quote"><div class="ip-ubbcode-quote-title">quote:</div><div class="ip-ubbcode-quote-content">Originally posted by Tully__:
Most servers are set to autokick the ASE default player name to prevent them having lots of players with the same name. http://forums.ubi.com/groupee_common/emoticons/icon_wink.gif http://forums.ubi.com/groupee_common/emoticons/icon_wink.gif </div></BLOCKQUOTE>