PDA

View Full Version : On-line pilot skill level



slipBall
07-30-2006, 04:15 AM
Rookie
Average
Veteran
Ace

I was wondering if mission, server designers, ...have the ability to set the skill level of pilots, and AI, for on-line play. Or is this feature not available on-line....if so, what is the default standard skill level set at. http://forums.ubi.com/images/smilies/354.gif

slipBall
07-30-2006, 04:15 AM
Rookie
Average
Veteran
Ace

I was wondering if mission, server designers, ...have the ability to set the skill level of pilots, and AI, for on-line play. Or is this feature not available on-line....if so, what is the default standard skill level set at. http://forums.ubi.com/images/smilies/354.gif

danjama
07-30-2006, 05:42 AM
In Co-ops of course the AI planes will have skill levels, but no AI in DF mode. And of course, real "pilots" have to improve their own skillz.

slipBall
07-30-2006, 09:14 AM
Thanks for the reply,....But I still have a question about this. In QMB, you can set your own skill level. By setting your level to Ace, does that make the FM less forgiving to your handeling style. Does setting your level to rookie have a effect on the flight model, making it more forgiving? I quess what I am saying is why the 4 skill level choice's for your flight. http://forums.ubi.com/groupee_common/emoticons/icon_confused.gif

money_money
07-30-2006, 09:19 AM
Isn't it more like setting the other 3 aircraft in your flight? (does the setting change AI gunner performance?)

berg417448
07-30-2006, 09:21 AM
I'm pretty sure that skill level only affects the AI planes. I've never noticed any difference in my aircraft.

slipBall
07-30-2006, 09:22 AM
http://forums.ubi.com/images/smilies/35.gif Yep, that's it, I alway's fly solo, I never considered AI...thanks

Tully__
07-30-2006, 09:22 AM
The skill level setting controls how good the AI pilots are, it has nothing to do with how your own aicraft handles. To make the aicraft easier to fly you have to click on the "Difficulty" setting button and turn off some of the flight difficulty level options. Among those that make the flight model and cockpit workload easier are:
<UL TYPE=SQUARE>
<LI> Stalls & Spins
<LI> Turbulence
<LI> Engine overheat
<LI> Realistic Landings
<LI> Complex Engine Management
<LI> Seperate Engine Start
<LI> ...and a few others...[/list]

For online servers, most servers operate with all the flight model difficulty settings turned on. The differences between servers in most cases relate to whether external views, icons, clouds and other visibility/navigation options are on or off. For details on the individual servers, most of the lobbies provide some means for server hosts to display the flight model/view difficulty settings in use, check out the user guide for the lobby you use.

thefruitbat
07-30-2006, 09:28 AM
does putting your skill at ace, give you ace ai gunners for the relevant planes???

cheers fruitbat

Pig_Mac
07-30-2006, 09:30 AM
<BLOCKQUOTE class="ip-ubbcode-quote"><div class="ip-ubbcode-quote-title">quote:</div><div class="ip-ubbcode-quote-content">Originally posted by slipBall:
Thanks for the reply,....But I still have a question about this. In QMB, you can set your own skill level. By setting your level to Ace, does that make the FM less forgiving to your handeling style. Does setting your level to rookie have a effect on the flight model, making it more forgiving? I quess what I am saying is why the 4 skill level choice's for your flight. http://forums.ubi.com/groupee_common/emoticons/icon_confused.gif </div></BLOCKQUOTE>

Setting your own plane/flights skill, sets the skill your planes AI pilot gets when you turn autopilot on (only works offline). It doesn't seem to affect the reargunner, he's still spraying all over the place.

triad773
07-30-2006, 09:34 AM
Hi Fruitbat- my understanding of the settings for Ace, etc. affects only AI. The bearing you have on your flight was that your wingman or such could be effected but not your ship. You fly, as you fly. Set the rest to dunderheads and test it. I think you will find this also to be true.

I myself have been flying more offline so I had been recently been paying more attention to it.

~S~

Aviar
07-30-2006, 10:06 AM
<BLOCKQUOTE class="ip-ubbcode-quote"><div class="ip-ubbcode-quote-title">quote:</div><div class="ip-ubbcode-quote-content">Originally posted by thefruitbat:
does putting your skill at ace, give you ace ai gunners for the relevant planes???

cheers fruitbat </div></BLOCKQUOTE>

The answer is yes. The skill level applies to the AI pilot and the AI gunners.

Let's say you make a mission with a 2-plane flight consisting of IL-2's. You give the #1 plane a skill level of Ace and the #2 plane a skill level of Rookie.

When you fly the mission and take the #1 plane, your rear gunner will be at Ace level. If you take the #2 plane, your rear gunner will be at Rookie level.

Aviar