PDA

View Full Version : Where are the AA Searchlights??



AStotzer
12-13-2004, 08:26 AM
I have had IL2 for about a year. Then, after PF came out, I also bought IL2 FB last week. I've flown tons of missions but I never have any night missions that show the searchlights looking over the city.

Where can I find one of those missions with the searchlights??

AStotzer
12-13-2004, 08:26 AM
I have had IL2 for about a year. Then, after PF came out, I also bought IL2 FB last week. I've flown tons of missions but I never have any night missions that show the searchlights looking over the city.

Where can I find one of those missions with the searchlights??

JG52MadAdler
12-13-2004, 10:42 AM
You can make your own missions using them.
In the FMB under stationary objects.
I have a couple I made if you you want to
try them out PM me your email addy

Capt._Tenneal
12-13-2004, 11:15 AM
It still works for me. I am in the middle of re-playing an old IL-2 FB campaign I downloaded from a couple of years back. In one night mission where I flew a TB-3 strike on an airfield, the searchlights still turned on to track my group as we were over the field.

This was on merged version 3.02, btw.

MajorBloodnok
12-13-2004, 11:45 AM
<BLOCKQUOTE class="ip-ubbcode-quote"><font size="-1">quote:</font><HR>Originally posted by AStotzer:
I have had IL2 for about a year. Then, after PF came out, I also bought IL3 FB last week. I've flown tons of missions but I never have any night missions that show the searchlights looking over the city.

Where can I find one of those missions with the searchlights?? <HR></BLOCKQUOTE>Wait a second, I see what's wrong. You bought IL3 instead of IL2. They're definately in IL2. Problem solved! http://forums.ubi.com/images/smilies/53.gif

Maj_Death
12-13-2004, 11:46 AM
Try the Russian TB-3 campaign, almost all missions after 1941 are night time. You can also test out the lights yourself by creating a quicky mission in the FMB. Set up your plane to fly over some enemy lights, they will light you up as long as you are under 3000m (max beam range). On a related note, in IL2Setup.exe you must set texture compression to either none or S3TC in order to see the actual beams. If it is set to 16bit then you will still get lit up, but there will not be the visible beam going through the air.

AStotzer
12-13-2004, 12:27 PM
Yes, I meant IL2 not IL3 MajorBloodnok. Just a type-o I think. But still, nice of you to jump right on that! http://forums.ubi.com/images/smilies/16x16_smiley-wink.gif

I've done the TB-3 training missions, so I'll try the campaign next.

I have IL2 FB & AEP & PF. I thought their might be a B-17 or B-25 Night mission where I could fly a german figher and see the searchlights as well. Are there any of those around?

JG52MadAdler, I'll pm you to check out your missions. Thanks for the offer. http://forums.ubi.com/images/smilies/11.gif