PDA

View Full Version : Hello! New to IL2, saying hello and a few questions

RCAFStingray
07-21-2008, 03:15 PM
Yo everyone! I am fairly new to IL2, been playing a few months, what a great game!

Got the game a few months ago, and it is my first real experience with flight sims (I played EF2000 10 years ago, but never really learned anything about actually flying). Couldn't even take off, so read the Nuggets Guide (which was awesome btw), and played for a while, then read some more, and played and so forth. Starting to get a little bit better, but wow, so much to learn. Been online a few times and even managed to even get a few kills! But for the most part I am just online cannon fodder, improving the scores of everyone who flies against me.

Anyhoo, I've been lurking around the forums, thought I'd introduce myself and ask a few questions. I have tried to answer these with the search, but the shear volume of posts on this forum can make researching things a little overwhelming, so I thought I'd ask:

1.) WEP. Is there a proper protocol for turning on/off WEP in different planes? Can I just hit W on planes that have it at any throttle setting and RPM without damaging the engine? I read somewhere that in the 109 that you should only enable it at low RPMs. So, I am curious if there is a proper protocol for using WEP and if it varies from plane-to-plane?

2.) Damage with radiator cowl open. Does the damage model in IL-2 make it easier for the engine to get damage when the cowl is open? What about for sucking debris into the engine, say after a low ground attack, or flying behind a plane you are attacking? I've seen some comments about this, but never a definitive answer.