PDA

View Full Version : Allies Ultimate Weapon



Robertr4836
08-22-2006, 09:45 AM
First, I want to thank you all. I bought this game a few weeks ago and this forum has been an invaluable resource.

Two nights ago I was heading out to my distant patrol area and I had to call it a night so I saved and exited. Last night I loaded the save and almost immediately had a convoy sighting almost on top of me and headed in my direction. I was very excited as I had not had much luck with convoys and I was hoping all I had learned would come in good stead.

I went deep and hid while the first escort passed overhead. I came up to periscope depth and was detected almost immediately. That's OK because I could not believe the bounty before my eyes. Three T3 tankers, three C3 cargo and a half dozen smaller merchants all with only three destroyers escorting them. As a matter of fact I had come up to a perfect kill shot for one of the three T3's and took it out with only one torpedo (a first for me with the T3's)!

I was scoping the situation and trying to figure if I should engage the destroyers who were closing fast, go deep and evade or try to line up another shot on the second T3 when the allies pulled there ultimate weapon on me..."SHIII has encountered a problem and needs to close...".

The allied scientists were obviously far more advanced then we gave them credit for and had managed to warp time and space in a way that ended the reality of the war. Using advanced German physics I was able to transport my sub and crew back into the time space continuum at a point just before my encounter. Unfortunately, every time I engaged the convoy the allies would pull the same trick, one moment I would be on the bridge of my sub and the next moment I would be in a domestic domicile living room looking at a desktop computer screen.

I suspect the rumors of the Philadelphia Experiment were more than just rumors!

Seriously though, I had to abandon any thoughts of going near the convoy (as much as that hurt!). I was thinking all my troubles were behind me as I came close to finishing the patrol but then a swarm of planes hit me and the game crashed to the desktop again. I have spent the last hour searching the forums for "game crashes" and I have not found any solutions to this. I found a lot of posts about game crashes (including a poll where 33% of the respondents reported game crashes, so at least I know I'm not alone!) but I haven't found any posts with any solutions (or even any acknowledgements that there is a major problem and the developers are working on it).

I updated the game as soon as I installed it and I am not running any mods at all. I'm not at home so I can't give specifics about my systems; from memory: AMD Athlon 64 FX (the new 64 bit processor - the comps only about six months old), NVIDIA GeForce 7800 GT with 512MB onboard RAM and 2GB of memory.

AdolphMeinhard
08-22-2006, 10:18 AM
I had a similar problem and found threads for fix on the community forum. Basically I upgraded my ram to 1024, installed patch up to 1.4b. The crashes went away. If you got to community help forum and type find for CTD to crash to desktop you should be able to get some help. A.M.

Foehammer-1
08-22-2006, 10:23 AM
I have that happen every once in a while, sometimes in the middle of the ocean, sometimes in the middle of a convoy, and always when I forgot to save in the last half an hour. My remedy is to bite the bullet and try again, amybe with a different convoy

Robertr4836
08-22-2006, 01:55 PM
Originally posted by AdolphMeinhard:
I had a similar problem and found threads for fix on the community forum. Basically I upgraded my ram to 1024, installed patch up to 1.4b. The crashes went away. If you got to community help forum and type find for CTD to crash to desktop you should be able to get some help. A.M.

Do you mean the community manual? I checked there but did not see anything. The game is patched and with two gigs of RAM I don't think that's my problem (the 512MB RAM I mentioned is the video cards on board memory - the computer has two gigs of RAM).

Robertr4836
08-22-2006, 01:59 PM
Originally posted by Foehammer-1:
I have that happen every once in a while, sometimes in the middle of the ocean, sometimes in the middle of a convoy, and always when I forgot to save in the last half an hour. My remedy is to bite the bullet and try again, amybe with a different convoy

I can't tell you how much it broke my heart to have to give up on that convoy but as you say, it was time to bite the bullet.

Your post is encouraging...my biggest concern is that this is just the tip of the iceberg (so to speak) and that the game would quickly reach a point of instability that required a re-install.

hueywolf123
08-22-2006, 03:36 PM
About biting bullets, you may have to - do a complete fresh reinstall & don't forget the SHIII folder in my documents.
So, a complete uninstall, reinstall, then patch to 1.4b (make sure you use the correct patch).
When you start again, go to options in the main menu and turn your particle density down.
You won't notice any difference and the game will then run properly

Bubblehead1948
08-22-2006, 04:17 PM
http://forums.ubi.com/images/smilies/16x16_smiley-indifferent.gif I upgraded to 2 Gigs of ram sometime ago. Game crashes are so rare now that I don't even think about them. There was a lot of discussion in the beginning of this sims life about resource bottlenecks. I believed then and I do now that most of these crashes that happen for no apparent reason are a case of resource starvation which occurs at a critical point during code execution. If you have a decent cpu, and a decent graphics card, then do yourself a favor and invest in as much ram as you can afford. It has proven time and again to overcome these phantom crashes.

Oh, and never mind that cheap 3.0 CL stuff; get at least 2.5 CL or better yet 2.0 CL. These new motherboards dont like ram that takes its time steppin' and fetchin'.

Robertr4836
08-22-2006, 04:38 PM
Originally posted by hueywolf123:
About biting bullets, you may have to - do a complete fresh reinstall & don't forget the SHIII folder in my documents.
So, a complete uninstall, reinstall, then patch to 1.4b (make sure you use the correct patch).
When you start again, go to options in the main menu and turn your particle density down.
You won't notice any difference and the game will then run properly

Thanks! If I keep getting the crashes and have to abandon this career I will try a fresh instal and lower the particle density as you described.

Would it do any good to lower the particle density now?

Robertr4836
08-22-2006, 04:47 PM
Originally posted by Bubblehead1948:
http://forums.ubi.com/images/smilies/16x16_smiley-indifferent.gif I upgraded to 2 Gigs of ram sometime ago. Game crashes are so rare now that I don't even think about them.

Sorry for the confusion...the video card has 512MB of on-board RAM. The computer itself has 2GB of RAM (isn't it awesome? My old system only had 512MB of RAM, this one came with 1GB and I added another 1GB before I even turned it on for the first time...that's probably why this type of thing is so frustrating for me, I'm just not used to such poor performance now!).

(Processor is an AMD Athlon 64 3500+ 2.21GHz)

Bubblehead1948
08-22-2006, 05:32 PM
http://forums.ubi.com/images/smilies/16x16_smiley-indifferent.gif Well it doesn't look like you have any hardware issues. There is really no reason you should be having crashes unless there is a mod issue. I once had chronic crashes because I installed a new ship package while in mid patrol. This has been known to cause crash havoc.

It cleared up as soon as I ended the patrol. At that point the prgram code was able to reconcile the changes I had made and incorporate them into the next patrol. This is a high maintainence prog.

Baldricks_Mate
08-23-2006, 05:27 AM
A workaround that's an oldie but a goodie. http://forums.ubi.com/images/smilies/10.gif

Open task manger (Ctrl/Alt/Del), go to processes. Locate sh3.exe. Right click. Go to set priority (for sh3.exe). Set to High or Above Normal.

Repeat every time you boot up SH3.

CTD's dropped to but a few every other-ish game session for me.

Robertr4836
08-23-2006, 07:30 AM
Originally posted by Baldricks_Mate:
A workaround that's an oldie but a goodie. http://forums.ubi.com/images/smilies/10.gif

Open task manger (Ctrl/Alt/Del), go to processes. Locate sh3.exe. Right click. Go to set priority (for sh3.exe). Set to High or Above Normal.

Repeat every time you boot up SH3.

CTD's dropped to but a few every other-ish game session for me.

Thanks! I never even heard of that!

Robertr4836
08-23-2006, 07:50 AM
Well, patrol number 28 of my first career was the one with the multiple crashes. I started and completed patrol number 29 last night without any CTD incidents (but I didn't run into any convoys or a flock of planes that may have overloaded the programs ability to handle the graphics).

I did manually delete all but one save for all previous patrols (dropping the number of saves from around 100 down to 28) before I started patrol 29. I don't really know if that had any effect but it did significantly reduce the size of the career folder!