PDA

View Full Version : not beign able to host online game?



bank-n-yank
08-09-2004, 12:09 AM
Well the other day i attempeted to host a server for some friends of mine but they said they couldnt join, they said instead of it saying "connection succesful", it said "timed out". Someone mentioned it was like me being behind a fire wall.
does anyone know what the problem could be, if so could u help me into fixing it.
thanks.

bank-n-yank
08-09-2004, 12:09 AM
Well the other day i attempeted to host a server for some friends of mine but they said they couldnt join, they said instead of it saying "connection succesful", it said "timed out". Someone mentioned it was like me being behind a fire wall.
does anyone know what the problem could be, if so could u help me into fixing it.
thanks.

THE_Bu11dog
08-09-2004, 12:41 AM
Yep... It sounds like you have a firewall running. XP comes with a firewall that you may have to shut off. Some ISP's also put you behind a firewall that they will not shut off for you. If you are on a router, it may have a firewall that you will need to open a port for you to host an FB session.

bank-n-yank
08-09-2004, 12:46 AM
thanks for ur help man

bank-n-yank
08-09-2004, 12:49 AM
by the way does anyone know how i open a port so people are able to join.

Maj_Death
08-09-2004, 01:04 AM
Depends on your router if you have one. Mine has a control panel for the firewall in the router's setup program. In order to host games I had to turn the firewall off. Now any hacker in the world can access my computer to steal my porn movies and joystick profiles. http://ubbxforums.ubi.com/images/smiley/34.gif

----------------------------------------------------------------------------
Spelling mistakes left in intentionally to annoy tttiger.

Maj_Death here, I/JG1_Death at HL

I build COOPs and DF maps. If you would like some of them you can get them atmy COOP page (http://www14.brinkster.com/triggerhappy770/default.htm)

I/JG1 Oesau is recruiting axis pilots who prefer to fly maximum realism. We accept both veterans and rookies. We fly in VEF2, VWF and may join other online wars in the future. I am currently the acting CO, if you are interested in joining please PM me here or page me in HL.
http://www.bestanimations.com/Humans/Skulls/Skull-06.gif

lil_labbit
08-09-2004, 06:33 AM
Maj. Death - cant you JUST set the ports 43500 (UBI chat) and 21000 21010 (FB Game) open on the firewall ? That way most is still protected http://ubbxforums.ubi.com/infopop/emoticons/icon_biggrin.gif - or just run a decent firewall on the connected computers too http://ubbxforums.ubi.com/infopop/emoticons/icon_biggrin.gif

OK IF you have a router it is very probably you will not be able to host on UBI, that said - Portforward the mentioned ports above - switch OFF Window's firewall (it's useless anyway) - If ppl cannot connect - run il2setup and select the other IP (if it's there).
If you still don't have success - you can allways host on Hyper Lobby http://hyperfighter.jinak.cz/, ASE http://www.udpsoft.com/eye2/index.html or Host by IP

http://members.home.nl/lil.labbit/lilseesya.jpg
Night is better than Day

Bearcat99
08-09-2004, 07:17 AM
You might also want to try checking your IP config. My router will sometimnes change my IP in relatiohn to the network and if i dont changee it back I wont be able to host. Make sure the IP for the ports forwarded for FB & HL are the same as the IP for your computer.

<UL TYPE=SQUARE>http://www.jodavidsmeyer.com/combat/bookstore/tuskegeebondposter.jpg (http://www.tuskegeeairmen.org)[/list]<UL TYPE=SQUARE>vflyer@comcast.net [/list]<UL TYPE=SQUARE>99thPursuit Squadron IL2 Forgotten Battles (http://www.geocities.com/rt_bearcat)[/list]
UDQMG (http://www.uberdemon.com/index2.html) | HYPERLOBBY (http://hyperfighter.jinak.cz/) | Sturmovik Essentials (http://forums.ubi.com/eve/forums?a=tpc&s=400102&f=23110283&m=51910959) | MUDMOVERS (http://magnum-pc.netfirms.com/mudmovers/index.htm)

IMMERSION BABY!!

tfu_iain1
08-09-2004, 07:38 AM
well he could try putting his comp on DMZ mode on the router setup... its a blunt instrumented way of doing it but he's guaranteed to host no probs. just remember to change back to normal NAT function after youve finished hosting, no reason to leave your computer vulnerable for longer than necessary