PDA

View Full Version : A bug



m013690
11-11-2007, 08:28 PM
Hope someone at UBI is reading this because I couldn't find a way to send a message through the tech support section of the website.

I played a game in the training room, and when I promoted a pawn on the a8 square to a queen, the queen never showed up on the board. The program knew it was there, because it properly recognized the checkmate two moves later, but the piece never occupied the space on the board. It also showed in the end of game diagram in the annotation window, just not on the board.

Strange, and if I had not been playing out the game on a real board at the same time, it would have been really, REALLY annoying.

Would be nice to have this fixed in the next patch to be released.

Ionut11
11-12-2007, 03:47 AM
Hello, m013690!

Do you remember what chess set you used when you played the game?
Have you tried to change the chess set?
The bug is reproductible at every promotion with your chess set?

m013690
11-12-2007, 10:40 AM
It was the "Expert" chess set.

No, I did not try to change it.

Not sure if it's reproducible, but come to think of it, I have played other games where I made a promotion, and I don't think I've noticed this before. Hope that helps, asvague as it is.

m013690
11-12-2007, 01:06 PM
More Info for troubleshooting:

This only happens when reviewing the game after game analysis. I just played another game that ended with a promotion.

I promoted to a queen with a pawn on H8. During the game, the piece appeared on the board as expected. Mate came about 3 moves later, and all the while, the queen was visible and moving properly.

After game analysis, when I got to that portion of the game in playback, the pawn advanced to the promotion square, disappeared, and was NOT replaced by a queen symbol.

HOWEVER, for the rest of the replay, the "queen" continued to move as per the game log. This was evidenced by the circles that appear to show the last move. So, the game knew there was a queen there, and treated it properly, but just failed to display the symbol on the board.

I hope this helps a bit more now that I've gotten you some further info.

~ Ted

diskamyl
11-12-2007, 11:21 PM
I have the same bug, and it's totally reproducible.

in addition, the bug doesn't go away when you change the sets.

Ionut11
11-19-2007, 05:28 AM
Please, post a reply with the pgn from the game where you can reproduce it.
10x.

jamesbrown911
11-22-2007, 08:17 PM
here it goes....

you just need to open this .pgn file and forward the moves until the "a" file pawn gets promoted.

<pre class="ip-ubbcode-code-pre">
[Event ""]
[Site ""]
[Date "2007.11.23"]
[Round ""]
[White "me"]
[Black "Raj"]
[TimeControl "1800"]
[Result "1-0"]
[ECO " "]

1.e4 e5 2.d4 exd4 3.Qxd4 Nc6 4.Qd1 Bc5 5.Be3 Bxe3 6.fxe3 Qh4+ 7.g3 Qg5 8.Qf3 Nd4 9.exd4 Qc1+ 10.Qd1 Qxd1+ 11.Kxd1 Nf6 12.Nc3 c6
13.Kd2 d5 14.exd5 g5 15.dxc6 O-O 16.Re1 Kh8 17.Nb5 Kg7 18.Nd6 Kg8 19.cxb7 Bxb7 20.Nxb7 Rfe8 21.Nd6 Rxe1 22.Kxe1 Rb8 23.Bc4 Rxb2
24.Nf3 Rxc2 25.Bxf7+ Kh8 26.Kd1 Rb2 27.Re1 h6 28.Re6 g4 29.Rxf6 gxf3 30.Rxf3 Rb4 31.Rf6 Kg7 32.Rg6+ Kf8 33.Kc2 Rxd4 34.Kc3 Ra4
35.Kb3 Ra6 36.a4 Rb6+ 37.Kc4 Rb2 38.Kd5 Rd2+ 39.Kc6 Rxd6+ 40.Kxd6 Kxf7 41.Rxh6 Kg7 42.Re6 a6 43.Ke7 a5 44.Ra6 Kg8 45.Rxa5 Kg7
46.Rb5 Kg6 47.a5 Kg7 48.a6 Kg6 49.a7 Kg7 50.a8=Q Kh7 51.Kf7 Kh6 52.Qh8# 1-0
</pre>

Ionut11
11-23-2007, 03:33 AM
The bug is fixed on Patch 1.2.0.
Thanks for the feedback jamesbrown911.

YankeeJeff
11-23-2007, 08:59 AM
Is patch 1.2.0 out yet? I can only find Patch 1.0.1

jamesbrown911
11-23-2007, 08:59 AM
where can i download it?
i found 1.01.
thanks!