PDA

View Full Version : Spitfire Gunsight Question

GunnyHighway99
11-05-2007, 08:51 AM
Everyone,

I just started playing closed cockpit, and I noticed that the Spitfire has a gunsight with a range dial (for lack of a better term) underneath. In all of the versions of the Spitfire that I have flown, it is always the same:

The number on the top part of the dial is a "3" with a line underneath and the bottom part of the dial says "Range 100 yards." The bottom part of the dial also has a line, and it lines up pretty much with the "3" on the top part of the dial.

This leads me to believe that the range on the gunsight is 300 yards.

1) Is this correct?

2) What does the command "Toggle Gunsight (Auto)" do?

3) What do the commands "Increase Sight Distance" and "Decrease Sight Distance" do?

4) Do these commands have any bearing on the Sptifire or any other fighters?

5) Does the range on the Spifire gunsight have anything to do with weapons convergence distance?

In regards to guestion 5), I suppose that the gunsight lets you know how far they are, and the convergence distance is already set. I guess it can't hurt to ask.

Thanks!!

crucislancer
11-05-2007, 09:31 AM
I don't believe that you can adjust the sight on the spitfire, it's only the P-51D-20-NA and the P-80 that have the K-14 sight. I could be wrong, I don't fly spitfires much.

As far as the range of the sight, I was under the impression that the sight is rated at 100 meters for the wingspan of a Fw190. in other words, if you have a 190 in your sights, and his wings tips touch the sight ring, he's at 100 meters.

This is different from convergence, though, since you can set your convergence however you like. Some folks don't feel comfortable getting right up close, and prefer higher convergence distances. Set it for whatever feels comfortable to you.

crucislancer
11-05-2007, 09:41 AM
Oh, I should have answered your specific questions:

1) Nope, see my previous post.