PDA

View Full Version : Knots, miles per hour, kilometres per hour



nsteense
11-27-2006, 04:44 AM
If you use the speedbar, in what setting do you use it? Kts, mph, kph?
I use the kts indication, because I can related it to real life in my training for PPL<form action="http://forums.ubi.com/eve/forums" method="POST" name="VOTE">

Philipscdrw
11-27-2006, 05:03 AM
I tend to use km/h; I've got used to it since Il-2 v1.00. I'll still fly using the airspeed indicator on the panel, but I find it useful to know my speed in knots and km/h.<div class="ev_tpc_signature">

------------------------------------------------------------
PhilipsCDRw

The "Il-2 Sturmovik: 1946" DVD will contain EVERYTHING since FB, including all the new addons and Pe-2.

x6BL_Brando
11-27-2006, 05:18 AM
You left out one choice, nsteense.

I'd vote for: Set speedbar to suit type (and nationality) of aircraft.

B.

F0_Dark_P
11-27-2006, 05:19 AM
i only use the speedometer on the intstrumentpanel http://forums.ubi.com/groupee_common/emoticons/icon_smile.gif<div class="ev_tpc_signature">

http://img.photobucket.com/albums/v238/Nahoj/monkysign.jpg

F19_Ob
11-27-2006, 05:59 AM
I just realised I hardly look at speed at all nowadays. Not many other gauges either. http://forums.ubi.com/groupee_common/emoticons/icon_rolleyes.gif
If I'm hit I count off 30+ km/h from my maxspeed.

My only gauge-concern in the air is to try to guess my fuelstate when I have been up a while or hit.
In some planes it can be a hasle to find the fuelgauge, especially with divided gauges or several of them.
Usually I fly on pretty low powersettings ranging from 60% up to 85%
I rarely go 100% more than very short periods because I've learned the hard way and burned a lot of engines. http://forums.ubi.com/images/smilies/winky.gif


The only thing that bugs me is that I seem incabable of reloading the 20mm tailcannon in the Betty. My crew dislikes my lack of training and tries to get me replaced.
My dfense is that if I don't shoot the ammmo up my AI crew will squander it away on clouds and into the oceans instead of on allied planes.
Too many times I have entered the reargunner to find the cannon empty.
If AI-crews could blush mine would like young virgins on their first romance.

http://forums.ubi.com/groupee_common/emoticons/icon_mad.gif http://forums.ubi.com/images/smilies/icon_twisted.gif<div class="ev_tpc_signature">

http://img.photobucket.com/albums/v382/f19_ob/ob_ver2.jpg

Xiolablu3
11-27-2006, 08:10 AM
I have to look at the speed if I am in certain planes with low break up speed.

Planes like Zero/La5/Mosquito break up at such low speeds.

When I B&Z I have to constantly check the speed in my attack dive, otherwise I lose parts.

Then theres the p51, which I dare not fly anymore because it picks up speed so fast in a dive that you lose a wing when you pull out. I always take the P47 nowadays instead.

If it did not lose a wing then I would use the P51.<div class="ev_tpc_signature">

--------------------------------------------------------------------
"I despise what you say; I will defend to the death your right to say it."
-Voltaire

major_setback
11-27-2006, 08:30 AM
With the original IL2 I used Km/h, so I got used to that. I know the right landing/stall speeds (approximately) too, and get a bit lost in any other measurement.

I find that the dials are confusing to use if you change aircraft a lot, so I prefer the speedbar. as well as you can't see the dials in the normal cockpit view (not by lowering my eyes, as I would in real life).

The British dials where the airspeed indicator goes more than once around the face of the dial are impossible to understand, I never know which scale to read (innner or outer - or are these only in MS?). How are you supposed to know if the needle has already gone around once?<div class="ev_tpc_signature">

http://i4.photobucket.com/albums/y129/major-setback/Signaurepic004BESTframe014small.jpg
<span class="ev_code_PINK">My Aim is True.</span>

Capt.LoneRanger
11-27-2006, 08:44 AM
If speedbar, then kph.

Living in Germany, I'm more used to it.<div class="ev_tpc_signature">

greets
Capt.LoneRanger

http://img.photobucket.com/albums/v411/Arcadiac/Lone1copy.png

F0_Dark_P
11-27-2006, 08:56 AM
Originally posted by major_setback:
The British dials where the airspeed indicator goes more than once around the face of the dial are impossible to understand, I never know which scale to read (innner or outer - or are these only in MS?). How are you supposed to know if the needle has already gone around once?

yeah that sucks i agree totaly, really confusing design, wonder why they did it like that?<div class="ev_tpc_signature">

http://img.photobucket.com/albums/v238/Nahoj/monkysign.jpg

nsteense
11-27-2006, 08:56 AM
Originally posted by Capt.LoneRanger:
If speedbar, then kph.

Living in Germany, I'm more used to it.

I'm also living the life of the metric way, but I still find it usefull to use the speedbar in kts (and altitude in feet for that matter) because I can relate it more to my real life flying, which is done in Knots and feet.

Platypus_1.JaVA
11-27-2006, 09:39 AM
It is a bit silly to use knots really. Not alot of WWII aircraft had speed dials wich where calibrated in knots. So why use it on the speedbar then?<div class="ev_tpc_signature">

1 Judge not, that ye be not judged.
2 For with what judgment ye judge,
ye shall be judged: and with what
measure ye mete, it shall be measured
to you again.

http://www.f19vs.se/fokker_now.jpg

TgD Thunderbolt56
11-27-2006, 10:35 AM
If I use the speedbar then I toggle between whatever my flight is using (for obvious reasons). If given the preference, I use kph, but I fly on many servers that have only compass heading enabled thus I use cockpit instruments and whatever denomination they're calibrated in.


TB<div class="ev_tpc_signature">

http://img.photobucket.com/albums/v687/Thunderbolt56/English157.jpg
================================================== ======
I.O.C.L. (International Online Competition League) (http://www.gozr.net/iocl/index.php?sid=77e1596a8421c8d6f7e717eab883f534)

nsteense
11-27-2006, 12:46 PM
Originally posted by Platypus_1.JaVA:
It is a bit silly to use knots really. Not alot of WWII aircraft had speed dials wich where calibrated in knots. So why use it on the speedbar then?

Because I see this flight sim as a nice tool to practice some manouvers which I'm currently training for my PPL. And in general aviation, knots are still very much the norm.

T_O_A_D
11-27-2006, 12:48 PM
all of the above, just depends on what I'm doing.<div class="ev_tpc_signature">

<center>
Flying as BlitzPig_TOAD
My TrackIR fix, Read the whole thread (http://ubbxforums.ubi.com/6/ubb.x?q=Y&a=tpc&s=400102&f=49310655&m=15310285&p=1)
Charvel's Tutorial on setting up yout Track Ir (http://www.airwarfare.com/guides/tir_setup.htm)

<A HREF="http://blitzpigs.com/forum/index.php?sid=3b61cb4521d729767adc892dfd2ceddf" TARGET=_blank>http://home.mchsi.com/~t_o_a_d/T_O_A_D.jpg
</A>
<b style="color:black;background-color:#a0ffff">UBI[/b] Forums/IL2/FB/PF Moderator
I.O.C.L (http://www.gozr.net/iocl/)> Pictures of War (http://forums.ubi.com/groupee/forums/a/tpc/f/23110283/m/2291023914)>My AT-6 Flight (http://forums.ubi.com/eve/forums/a/tpc/f/23110283/m/6641084723?r=6641084723#6641084723)>

Zeus-cat
11-27-2006, 06:13 PM
I do what x6BL_Brando does and use the appropriate measurements for the nationality and aircraft.<div class="ev_tpc_signature">

Zeus-cat

My Campaigns:
Straight Shot (9 missions in the Japanese Seaplane - A6M2-N "Rufe")
Straight Into an Icy Hell (14 missions for the Rufe in the Aleutians)
Straight Down (26 dive-bombing missions in a carrier-based SBD-3)
Straight Down Some More (19 more missions in a carrier-based SBD-3)
Straight and True (30 torpedo bomber missions in an IL-2T)

My campaign page at Miision4Today
http://mission4today.com/index.php?name=Downloads&c=22

x6BL_Brando
11-27-2006, 06:44 PM
Re. the British-style gauges.

They work on the basis of a clock. E.g. Altimeters. The longest needle displays the small increments (100s of feet), while the shorter needle displays the large increments (thousands of feet).
Airspeed indicators work in the same way.

I agree that they are hard to read in the sim, but I can assure you that this is not so in real life. Our ability to focus rapidly, rather than by imposed increments of 'FOV', makes reading them easy.

B.

Taylortony
11-27-2006, 08:02 PM
http://forums.ubi.com/images/smilies/351.gif

Akronnick
11-27-2006, 09:19 PM
Which aircraft come equipped with a speedometer? Don't they use airspeed indicators? Might come in handy if your setting up a treadmill takeoff though.<div class="ev_tpc_signature">

---Loose nut removed from cockpit, ship OK

waffen-79
11-27-2006, 11:46 PM
Metric all teh way. BE SURE!<div class="ev_tpc_signature">

http://www.hrservices.com.mx/signature.jpg
You need blokes like me to fly Blue side!
Banning Planes OnLine? NOT COOL, M'KAY?