PDA

View Full Version : Video card dilemma ...



XyZspineZyX
07-24-2003, 04:24 PM
Hello,

I went to the store for a new video card (current : nVidia GeForce3 Ti 200), and if I hear gnogtr's review about the ATI Radeon 9800 Pro, it's gotta be good. In the store there was a card, but the box said: Hercules 3D Prophet 9800 Pro, but there was also a little textbox that said:
Powered by 'ATI Radeon 9800 Pro' .
Does that mean it's the same?

Kind regards

P.S. The offer was really attractive, because you get a free copy of 'Rainbow Six 3: RavenShield' and the total amount was 500$, now, I don't know if that's much, so, any info is welcome ...

My system:

-AMD Athlon XP 1800+ @ 1.53 GHz with 256MB RAM
-NVidia GeForce3 Ti 200
-Avance AC'97 Audio for VIA(r) Audio Controller
-Windows XP Professional Service Pack 1
-Microsoft Directx 9.0a
-Lite-on DVD-ROM LTD163D
-48x12x48 Lite-on LTR-48125S CD-RW
-Sony SDM-N50R Flatscreen
-Realtek RTL8139 Family PCI Fast Ethernet NIC
-2x Maxtor 6L040J2 harddrives: each 40 GB
-VIA EP-8KHA+ Epox Socket A mainboard, 4-in-1 4.48

XyZspineZyX
07-24-2003, 04:24 PM
Hello,

I went to the store for a new video card (current : nVidia GeForce3 Ti 200), and if I hear gnogtr's review about the ATI Radeon 9800 Pro, it's gotta be good. In the store there was a card, but the box said: Hercules 3D Prophet 9800 Pro, but there was also a little textbox that said:
Powered by 'ATI Radeon 9800 Pro' .
Does that mean it's the same?

Kind regards

P.S. The offer was really attractive, because you get a free copy of 'Rainbow Six 3: RavenShield' and the total amount was 500$, now, I don't know if that's much, so, any info is welcome ...

My system:

-AMD Athlon XP 1800+ @ 1.53 GHz with 256MB RAM
-NVidia GeForce3 Ti 200
-Avance AC'97 Audio for VIA(r) Audio Controller
-Windows XP Professional Service Pack 1
-Microsoft Directx 9.0a
-Lite-on DVD-ROM LTD163D
-48x12x48 Lite-on LTR-48125S CD-RW
-Sony SDM-N50R Flatscreen
-Realtek RTL8139 Family PCI Fast Ethernet NIC
-2x Maxtor 6L040J2 harddrives: each 40 GB
-VIA EP-8KHA+ Epox Socket A mainboard, 4-in-1 4.48

XyZspineZyX
07-24-2003, 04:43 PM
Ok Gampa. Take you old 3dmark2003 scores (I'm guessing 700-800) and multiply them by 7.3. That'll give you an estimate of the amount of performance increase you'll get if you change to this card. But I do have a couple of questions regarding the price. I paid $400 for mine and I bought it right after its inital release from a guy in Illinois. Where do you live? The 128MB version of the card is around $370-$400 in the US, if you're in Canada I'd understand. If it's the 256MB version, in the US $500 is about right.

Now that'll give you something to think about. As for it being "Powered by ATI," all that means is Hercules took ATI's chip and put it in their own modded card. There may be performance gains, overclocking, or just a really cool heat sink on it (I don't have ATI's heatsink on mine, I modded it to a Thermaltake Giant II cooler). Brouse the internet and see if you can find a review on that particular card and see if it meet or beats the "Built by ATI" version (the one I have).

If you have a credit card and are interested in comparing prices, go to www.googlegear.com (http://www.googlegear.com) and look at the cards on there, you can usually get 2nd day free shipping from them, so you'll have it in a few days. I usually buy my computer components from them.

Also (hehe, I have a lot of these...) the card requires a direct hook up to your powersupply. It comes with a molex splitter cable so you have to hook it up in line with the hard drive, so make sure you psu is strong enough to push it. I recommend anywhere from 350W and up.

One last thing /i/smilies/16x16_smiley-wink.gif , you'll be coming off an Nvidia system, and the ATI drivers are a nasty thing when it comes with mixing them with the Nvidia drivers. I had no problem installing my card directly w/o getting rid of the Nvidia drivers and didn't have any problems. That may not be your case, you may have to do a clean install of your operating system to get optimal performance. I usually reinstall my os religously, such as after the release of a new video driver, I just go ahead and reinstall.

My system:

AMD XP 2400+ @ 2.13 Ghz
1 gig of Corsair DDR PC2700 RAM @333Mhz
Radeon 9800 Pro video w/TV out core @434, mem @720
Windows XP SP 1
Microsoft Directx 9.0a
Antec TruePower TrueBlue True480 PSU
16x Antec DVD drive
24x10x40 Plexwriter CD-RW
1 Westerndigital 40 gig harddrive, master
1 Westerndigital 100 gig hdd, slave
XFX KT400 ALH Via mainboard, 4-in-1 4.48

Additional PC version help:

http://scmod.splintercellsource.com

XyZspineZyX
07-24-2003, 11:20 PM
Ok,

euhm... the official 'hercules' site says this: (you gotta say whether it's good or not... /i/smilies/16x16_smiley-happy.gif you're my little virtual slave/i/smilies/16x16_smiley-happy.gif )

RADEONT 9800 PRO, the benchmark technology for First Person Shooters.
8 pixel-pipeline architecture for increased rendering power.
128MB DDR memory to boost the latest games with tons of textures.
High-quality onboard 256-bit DDR RAM interface: no bottlenecks, faster frame rates.HyperZTIII+: intelligent memory bandwidth optimization technology.
AGP 8X / 4X / 2X support for maximum performance with the latest motherboards.
Incredible benchmarking scores.




STEP INTO THE FUTURE: FULL HARDWARE SUPPORT OF MICROSOFT'S DIRECTXâ® 9 FEATURES


Full DirectXâ® 9 & OpenGLâ® hardware accelerator.
Movie-quality 3D images provided by ATI's latest 3D technology innovations:
SMARTSHADERT 2.1: Programmable Pixel Shaders 2.0 & Vertex Shaders 2.0
TRUFORMT 2.0 and DX9 Displacement Mapping
SMOOTHVISIONT 2.1: hardware engine for 2X/4X/6X FSAA (Full Scene Anti-Aliasing) mode and advanced anisotropic filtering - no more jagged edges or speed compromise.




ADVANCED RANGE OF VIDEO & MULTIMEDIA FEATURES


High-quality TV display on CRT and flat panel monitors.
VIDEOSHADERT engine: fluid playback of DVD movies on TV set or CRT and flat panels monitors.FULLSTREAMT technology for improved Internet streaming.
Dual display on VGA, DVI or TV-Out (HYDRAVISIONT).
Dual integrated 400MHz RAMDACs, maximum resolution of 2048x1536 @ 85Hz.

So, these are the specs...

And I live in Europe, in Belgium. It's a little hell hole next to France ... the card costs 550 EURO there (EURO is the price unit, it's almost as much as a USD) AND A COPY OF RAINBOW SIX 3: RAVENSHIELD INCLUDED !!!!!!!!!!!

So euhm... advice please...

My system:

-AMD Athlon XP 1800+ @ 1.53 GHz with 256MB RAM
-NVidia GeForce3 Ti 200
-Avance AC'97 Audio for VIA(r) Audio Controller
-Windows XP Professional Service Pack 1
-Microsoft Directx 9.0a
-Lite-on DVD-ROM LTD163D
-48x12x48 Lite-on LTR-48125S CD-RW
-Sony SDM-N50R Flatscreen
-Realtek RTL8139 Family PCI Fast Ethernet NIC
-2x Maxtor 6L040J2 harddrives: each 40 GB
-VIA EP-8KHA+ Epox Socket A mainboard, 4-in-1 4.48

XyZspineZyX
07-25-2003, 12:12 AM
Oh, no, the card is AWSOME. That's not the point, the price is the point. As I stated in my last post, I bought mine a few days after it hit shelves and paid $400. It's identical to this one except this one is "Powered by" and mine is "Built by." Unless you're in Canada, $500 is $100 too much in the US, I'd just order one online. Plus if you're willing to spend $500, go with the 256 MB version.

My system:

AMD XP 2400+ @ 2.13 Ghz
1 gig of Corsair DDR PC2700 RAM @333Mhz
Radeon 9800 Pro video w/TV out core @434, mem @720
Windows XP SP 1
Microsoft Directx 9.0a
Antec TruePower TrueBlue True480 PSU
16x Antec DVD drive
24x10x40 Plexwriter CD-RW
1 Westerndigital 40 gig harddrive, master
1 Westerndigital 100 gig hdd, slave
XFX KT400 ALH Via mainboard, 4-in-1 4.48

Additional PC version help:

http://scmod.splintercellsource.com

XyZspineZyX
07-25-2003, 01:18 PM
Well, I did like you said and I went to http://www.googlegear.com and I looked at the card you have and the price is 372,50$ if I'm correct, but it's a 128MB.
But I don't know if the 256MB version is worth the extra 150$...
Is the difference really THAT big or should I be satisfied with the 128MB ?

Thanks


P.S. The 2nd day shipping from googlegear is free, right?

My system:

-AMD Athlon XP 1800+ @ 1.53 GHz with 256MB RAM
-NVidia GeForce3 Ti 200
-Avance AC'97 Audio for VIA(r) Audio Controller
-Windows XP Professional Service Pack 1
-Microsoft Directx 9.0a
-Lite-on DVD-ROM LTD163D
-48x12x48 Lite-on LTR-48125S CD-RW
-Sony SDM-N50R Flatscreen
-Realtek RTL8139 Family PCI Fast Ethernet NIC
-2x Maxtor 6L040J2 harddrives: each 40 GB
-VIA EP-8KHA+ Epox Socket A mainboard, 4-in-1 4.48

XyZspineZyX
07-25-2003, 03:31 PM
Gnogtr,

thanks to someone on the general discussion forum, I have a doubt... do you know if the new Nvidia GeForce FX 5900 is better than the ATI Radeon 9800 Pro? If you don't know, will you please check it on http://www.nvidia.com/page/fx_5900.html ?

Thanks ...

My system:

-AMD Athlon XP 1800+ @ 1.53 GHz with 256MB RAM
-NVidia GeForce3 Ti 200
-Avance AC'97 Audio for VIA(r) Audio Controller
-Windows XP Professional Service Pack 1
-Microsoft Directx 9.0a
-Lite-on DVD-ROM LTD163D
-48x12x48 Lite-on LTR-48125S CD-RW
-Sony SDM-N50R Flatscreen
-Realtek RTL8139 Family PCI Fast Ethernet NIC
-2x Maxtor 6L040J2 harddrives: each 40 GB
-VIA EP-8KHA+ Epox Socket A mainboard, 4-in-1 4.48

XyZspineZyX
07-25-2003, 07:24 PM
Well, the GF card is better, but at the added price, plus it's extreemly bulky and hot. It's clock speeds are more than the overclocking I have on my card and I get much higher benchmarks with my card. The 128MB version is very suitable, and no, the extra 128MB of memory is not worth the extra money. The only place where the 5900 can beat my card (I guess, I've never tried it) is on the 1600x1200 resolution, but my monitor doesn't support it, so it doesn't help me any.

As for the video card industry, ATI have a new card coming on the market later this year known as the Radeon 9900. The code name is "Geforce killer." It's supposed to literally kill the FX5900, but I don't know when it'll be released or how much it'll be. I do know it has Directx 9.1 support, and kills the 9.0 cards. So if the added price isn't much, I'll probably be upgrading to it myself later this year. I usually upgrade cards every 1/2 years.

My system:

AMD XP 2400+ @ 2.13 Ghz
1 gig of Corsair DDR PC2700 RAM @333Mhz
Radeon 9800 Pro video w/TV out core @434, mem @720
Windows XP SP 1
Microsoft Directx 9.0a
Antec TruePower TrueBlue True480 PSU
16x Antec DVD drive
24x10x40 Plexwriter CD-RW
1 Westerndigital 40 gig harddrive, master
1 Westerndigital 100 gig hdd, slave
XFX KT400 ALH Via mainboard, 4-in-1 4.48

Additional PC version help:

http://scmod.splintercellsource.com

XyZspineZyX
07-25-2003, 07:57 PM
EVERY 1/2 YEAR YOU SAY?!?!?!?!?!?!?!
Do you have the same income as Bill Gates.
You see, I'm a 13 year old boy, so by the time I get the money for the FX5900 the ATI 9900 is in the stores...
I'm going to check the sony website if my monitor supports the 1600x1200 mode... if not, I'll take the card you have...
Hey, wait a sec. , you're going to upgrade your card, right? Sell your old card to me... /i/smilies/16x16_smiley-happy.gif

My system:

-AMD Athlon XP 1800+ @ 1.53 GHz with 256MB RAM
-NVidia GeForce3 Ti 200
-Avance AC'97 Audio for VIA(r) Audio Controller
-Windows XP Professional Service Pack 1
-Microsoft Directx 9.0a
-Lite-on DVD-ROM LTD163D
-48x12x48 Lite-on LTR-48125S CD-RW
-Sony SDM-N50R Flatscreen
-Realtek RTL8139 Family PCI Fast Ethernet NIC
-2x Maxtor 6L040J2 harddrives: each 40 GB
-VIA EP-8KHA+ Epox Socket A mainboard, 4-in-1 4.48

XyZspineZyX
07-25-2003, 08:03 PM
It'll be awhile before the 9900Pro comes out (October or so), so if I were you, I'd just pick up a 9800Pro and be happy, as it'll last you for longer than that GF3 has.

My system:

AMD XP 2400+ @ 2.13 Ghz
1 gig of Corsair DDR PC2700 RAM @333Mhz
Radeon 9800 Pro video w/TV out core @434, mem @720
Windows XP SP 1
Microsoft Directx 9.0a
Antec TruePower TrueBlue True480 PSU
16x Antec DVD drive
24x10x40 Plexwriter CD-RW
1 Westerndigital 40 gig harddrive, master
1 Westerndigital 100 gig hdd, slave
XFX KT400 ALH Via mainboard, 4-in-1 4.48

Additional PC version help:

http://scmod.splintercellsource.com

XyZspineZyX
07-25-2003, 09:42 PM
Okay, now I discovered that my monitor only supports 1024x768 ... /i/smilies/16x16_smiley-sad.gif bummer/i/smilies/16x16_smiley-sad.gif ... so, does the 9800pro makes a difference? I mean, is it still beter than my GF3 if I can't change the resolution?

My system:

-AMD Athlon XP 1800+ @ 1.53 GHz with 256MB RAM
-NVidia GeForce3 Ti 200
-Avance AC'97 Audio for VIA(r) Audio Controller
-Windows XP Professional Service Pack 1
-Microsoft Directx 9.0a
-Lite-on DVD-ROM LTD163D
-48x12x48 Lite-on LTR-48125S CD-RW
-Sony SDM-N50R Flatscreen
-Realtek RTL8139 Family PCI Fast Ethernet NIC
-2x Maxtor 6L040J2 harddrives: each 40 GB
-VIA EP-8KHA+ Epox Socket A mainboard, 4-in-1 4.48

XyZspineZyX
07-26-2003, 08:11 AM
MAJOR DIFFERENCE. At that resolution you can run Splinter Cell at well over 100FPS. Then you can turn on 6x AA and 16x AF for every other game and be getting well over 100fps. Oh, I was misinformed about the Radeon 9900. It turns out to have been the 9800, it was a little bad info, but ATI is going to release another card later this year or early next, but it won't be anytime soon.

My system:

AMD XP 2400+ @ 2.13 Ghz
1 gig of Corsair DDR PC2700 RAM @333Mhz
Radeon 9800 Pro video w/TV out core @434, mem @720
Windows XP SP 1
Microsoft Directx 9.0a
Antec TruePower TrueBlue True480 PSU
16x Antec DVD drive
24x10x40 Plexwriter CD-RW
1 Westerndigital 40 gig harddrive, master
1 Westerndigital 100 gig hdd, slave
XFX KT400 ALH Via mainboard, 4-in-1 4.48

Additional PC version help:

http://scmod.splintercellsource.com

XyZspineZyX
07-26-2003, 11:23 AM
So, in other words ('cause I'm not so good at the computerlanguage) the quality is as good as the 1200 with the 9800 when I only set it to 1240 ?
If I get it right ...

My system:

-AMD Athlon XP 1800+ @ 1.53 GHz with 256MB RAM
-NVidia GeForce3 Ti 200
-Avance AC'97 Audio for VIA(r) Audio Controller
-Windows XP Professional Service Pack 1
-Microsoft Directx 9.0a
-Lite-on DVD-ROM LTD163D
-48x12x48 Lite-on LTR-48125S CD-RW
-Sony SDM-N50R Flatscreen
-Realtek RTL8139 Family PCI Fast Ethernet NIC
-2x Maxtor 6L040J2 harddrives: each 40 GB
-VIA EP-8KHA+ Epox Socket A mainboard, 4-in-1 4.48

XyZspineZyX
07-26-2003, 11:50 PM
There isn't that much difference between the 2 resolutions anyway. 3dmark2003 runs at 1024 resolution. That resolution is actually the most commonly used resolution. Just get the card. Oh, I'll be glad to sell you a XP 2400+ for $65 with fan. I'm getting a 3000+ next week, I made up my mind.

My system:

AMD XP 2400+ @ 2.13 Ghz
1 gig of Corsair DDR PC2700 RAM @333Mhz
Radeon 9800 Pro video w/TV out core @434, mem @720
Windows XP SP 1
Microsoft Directx 9.0a
Antec TruePower TrueBlue True480 PSU
16x Antec DVD drive
24x10x40 Plexwriter CD-RW
1 Westerndigital 40 gig harddrive, master
1 Westerndigital 100 gig hdd, slave
XFX KT400 ALH Via mainboard, 4-in-1 4.48

Additional PC version help:

http://scmod.splintercellsource.com

XyZspineZyX
07-27-2003, 10:40 AM
Okay, what is the normal price in the stores, then I can think about it ...

My system:

-AMD Athlon XP 1800+ @ 1.53 GHz with 256MB RAM
-NVidia GeForce3 Ti 200
-Avance AC'97 Audio for VIA(r) Audio Controller
-Windows XP Professional Service Pack 1
-Microsoft Directx 9.0a
-Lite-on DVD-ROM LTD163D
-48x12x48 Lite-on LTR-48125S CD-RW
-Sony SDM-N50R Flatscreen
-Realtek RTL8139 Family PCI Fast Ethernet NIC
-2x Maxtor 6L040J2 harddrives: each 40 GB
-VIA EP-8KHA+ Epox Socket A mainboard, 4-in-1 4.48

XyZspineZyX
07-27-2003, 10:47 AM
And how many MB RAM does the processor have?

My system:

-AMD Athlon XP 1800+ @ 1.53 GHz with 256MB RAM
-NVidia GeForce3 Ti 200
-Avance AC'97 Audio for VIA(r) Audio Controller
-Windows XP Professional Service Pack 1
-Microsoft Directx 9.0a
-Lite-on DVD-ROM LTD163D
-48x12x48 Lite-on LTR-48125S CD-RW
-Sony SDM-N50R Flatscreen
-Realtek RTL8139 Family PCI Fast Ethernet NIC
-2x Maxtor 6L040J2 harddrives: each 40 GB
-VIA EP-8KHA+ Epox Socket A mainboard, 4-in-1 4.48

XyZspineZyX
07-27-2003, 06:22 PM
Yes you will notice a difference @ 1024x768. However, you're going to be CPU limited with that processor. You might be better off getting a 9700 Pro or maybe even a 9500 Pro (if you can still find one). They'll be substantially cheaper and you can use the money you saved towards a faster processor.

Grampa_Metal wrote:
so, does the 9800pro makes a
- difference? I mean, is it still beter than my GF3 if
- I can't change the resolution?
-
- My system:
-
--AMD Athlon XP 1800+ @ 1.53 GHz with 256MB RAM

XyZspineZyX
07-27-2003, 06:50 PM
I know, but I can buy a XP 2400+

My system:

-AMD Athlon XP 1800+ @ 1.53 GHz (XP 2400+ soon!)
-NVidia GeForce3 Ti 200 (GF FX5900/Radeon 9800Pro soon!)
-Avance AC'97 Audio for VIA(r) Audio Controller /i/smilies/16x16_smiley-sad.gif
-Windows XP Professional Service Pack 1
-Microsoft Directx 9.0b
-Lite-on DVD-ROM LTD163D
-48x12x48 Lite-on LTR-48125S CD-RW
-Sony SDM-N50R Flatscreen
-2x Maxtor 6L040J2 harddrives: each 40 GB
-VIA EP-8KHA+ Epox Socket A mainboard, 4-in-1 4.48

XyZspineZyX
07-27-2003, 08:33 PM
The processor has a 256kb cache onboard and a 64kb L2 cache.

My system:

AMD XP 2400+ @ 2.13 Ghz
1 gig of Corsair DDR PC2700 RAM @333Mhz
Radeon 9800 Pro video w/TV out core @434, mem @720
Windows XP SP 1
Microsoft Directx 9.0a
Antec TruePower TrueBlue True480 PSU
16x Antec DVD drive
24x10x40 Plexwriter CD-RW
1 Westerndigital 40 gig harddrive, master
1 Westerndigital 100 gig hdd, slave
XFX KT400 ALH Via mainboard, 4-in-1 4.48

Additional PC version help:

http://scmod.splintercellsource.com