PDA

View Full Version : Will they cope?



stevenwhiting
03-12-2005, 06:16 AM
This might of been talking about before but due to the C R A P search button I can't find anything.

Anyway, so reading this review

http://www.9teuflottille.de/site/reviews/sh3/sh3_en.html

I see they mention having to go online to activate the game. If this is true doesn't this cancel out anyone that doesn't have net connections being able to play? Also shouldn't Internet Connection be on the min specs and I don't believe it is. Even worse, I'm sure we've all heard the c r a p that is Steam on HL2 (not that I even like that game), but when they came out, Valves servers couldn't cope with the demand of everyone trying to activate at the same time.

So do you think UBI's servers will be able to cope with this activation if it is required to play?

Athlonics
03-12-2005, 06:25 AM
Well you can activate offline by phone anyway.


Also, Capt.LoneRanger mention on an other thread that's possible that they have a preview copy and the retail version might not have this activation thingie.

Maybe UBiRazz or someone could clarify this ?

TASKFORCE1x1
03-12-2005, 06:49 AM
That will be a pain in the butt every time I wish to clean out the computer and format fresh with winXPpro if somethings screws up within a year or 2 if I surf with that drive. Its a little overboard with protection. Should of used a different way to protect this sim.

Pr0metheus 1962
03-12-2005, 06:49 AM
It's not completely clear that internet activation is required. It could be that the reviewer was setting up the game for multiplayer, or just registering.

If internet activation is required, it will be annoying for many players who don't use the internet. Personally I think all of this security is unnecessary - I think that it's driven more by fear than by a real danger of piracy. I think this particular decision to force players to activate online (if it's true) will prevent more honest players from playing than it will prevent pirates from stealing.

As for registering by phone, that would be fine, if everyone had a phone. If I wasn't married to a woman that views a phone as a necessity, I wouldn't own one. They are just an expensive annoyance.

stevenwhiting
03-12-2005, 09:11 AM
Its not to much of a problem 'cause I'm sure someone will rip out the activation like they did with Win XP. After all, what happens if, after several years UBI stop supporting the game and you want to play it. The activation servers might be long gone and the phonelines shut up shop along time ago.

I'm thinking it was just the optional online registration. Either that or they had a 'Media Copy'. My friend use to work for a games mag in the UK, and she said when they'd get review copies, they'd been given a special code thats tied down to the person who was given a review copy. To stop them giving copies out. So its possible thats all this activation was.

Dominicrigg
03-12-2005, 09:46 AM
How do you guys find something to panic about on a daily basis? http://forums.ubi.com/groupee_common/emoticons/icon_confused.gif

What will sunday bring... and monday!!

Its exciting just waiting for the next "panic" lol

I dont want you bringing up old ones either like starforce ect, it has to be a new one!

Run for the hills!!!

naturalhigh1985
03-12-2005, 10:00 AM
nah I can understand... Im having such a pain with Office 2003 because i have to keep phoning them, and saying through numbers to the complete imbiciles they employ... because It no longer lets me Internet Activate (guess what, you only get 60 internet Activations! wooopie!)
So, these activation things... grrr I hate them.
Plus, I format so much........

EFileTahi-A
03-12-2005, 10:29 AM
Wooo... This is not a good thing, I mean, I do have a telephone and an Internet connection but I truly hate this system. If I knew in first place about Half Lifes 2 Internet Req. I would not brought the game for sure. It was a surprise to me when I noticed that HL2 required an internet connection to play single-player games...

If this happens with SH3 am gonna think twice, infact, I will not buy the original game until I know if this is true or not. Am just not willing to support this kind of system no matter how good the game is, sorry, I have made my mind...

I want a game so that I can play it whenever I want and where I want, this is the reason why I pay for games...

BobV_07
03-12-2005, 11:14 AM
Exacty the main reason why I refuse to downgrade to WinXP from Win2000Pro. OK, win xp might be a better OS but being forced to call microsoft every time I reload it after a format is ridiculous to say the least! I also have snortin Norton System Works 2004 and you have to activate it with an internet connection. RUBBISH! Its sitting downstaires in the box collecting dust! http://forums.ubi.com/images/smilies/51.gif But if I must bair with this awful anoiance(if it exists) then I will, but only for SH3!


http://adjunct.diodon349.com/photopoint/0037/0046.jpg

Antrodemus
03-12-2005, 11:26 AM
<BLOCKQUOTE class="ip-ubbcode-quote"><font size="-1">quote:</font><HR>...but being forced to call microsoft every time I reload it after a format is ridiculous to say the least! <HR></BLOCKQUOTE>

Err... you don't. Is this yet another "started by paranoid bedroom crackers" rumour? If you make any major changes to your system, i.e. motherboard replacement, you may have to, but a simple re-format should only require an internet-based re-activation, taking about, ooooh... 10 seconds?

A.

KiwiVenge
03-12-2005, 11:32 AM
<BLOCKQUOTE class="ip-ubbcode-quote"><font size="-1">quote:</font><HR>
I dont want you bringing up old ones either like starforce ect, it has to be a new one!

Run for the hills!!! <HR></BLOCKQUOTE>

Starforce? Starforce!!
Does it have starforce? Say it ain't so.
Oh man, if it has starforce thats it. I betcha it was Dominicrigg's suggestion they use starforce in the first place.

Dominicrigg
03-12-2005, 02:39 PM
<BLOCKQUOTE class="ip-ubbcode-quote"><font size="-1">quote:</font><HR>Originally posted by KiwiVenge:
<BLOCKQUOTE class="ip-ubbcode-quote"><font size="-1">quote:</font><HR>
I dont want you bringing up old ones either like starforce ect, it has to be a new one!

Run for the hills!!! <HR></BLOCKQUOTE>

Starforce? Starforce!!
Does it have starforce? Say it ain't so.
Oh man, if it has starforce thats it. I betcha it was Dominicrigg's suggestion they use starforce in the first place. <HR></BLOCKQUOTE>

http://forums.ubi.com/groupee_common/emoticons/icon_eek.gif lol how did you know?

PS i dont have ring microsoft to get my xp working and i reformat loads... Do i have a wierd version or something?

BobV_07
03-12-2005, 03:54 PM
Oooops my bad, last time I heard anything on it you had to call microsoft to activate winXP. I suppose that I could have been misinformed.

But, you still need to activate the thing using the internet. Hmmmm....no thanks!


http://adjunct.diodon349.com/photopoint/0037/0046.jpg

BobV_07
03-12-2005, 03:56 PM
<BLOCKQUOTE class="ip-ubbcode-quote"><font size="-1">quote:</font><HR>Originally posted by Dominicrigg:
<BLOCKQUOTE class="ip-ubbcode-quote"><font size="-1">quote:</font><HR>Originally posted by KiwiVenge:
<BLOCKQUOTE class="ip-ubbcode-quote"><font size="-1">quote:</font><HR>
I dont want you bringing up old ones either like starforce ect, it has to be a new one!

Run for the hills!!! <HR></BLOCKQUOTE>

Starforce? Starforce!!
Does it have starforce? Say it ain't so.
Oh man, if it has starforce thats it. I betcha it was Dominicrigg's suggestion they use starforce in the first place. <HR></BLOCKQUOTE>

http://forums.ubi.com/groupee_common/emoticons/icon_eek.gif lol how did you know?

PS i dont have ring microsoft to get my xp working and i reformat loads... Do i have a wierd version or something? <HR></BLOCKQUOTE>


Yeah, they made it special just for you! LOL http://forums.ubi.com/images/smilies/mockface.gif.....starforce included.


http://adjunct.diodon349.com/photopoint/0037/0046.jpg

BenvZijl
03-12-2005, 04:20 PM
well people lets hope that we dont have to activate it by internet

JG27_Arklight
03-12-2005, 04:23 PM
<BLOCKQUOTE class="ip-ubbcode-quote"><font size="-1">quote:</font><HR>Originally posted by BobV_07:
Exacty the main reason why I refuse to downgrade to WinXP from Win2000Pro. OK, win xp might be a better OS but being forced to call microsoft every time I reload it after a format is ridiculous to say the least! I also have snortin Norton System Works 2004 and you have to activate it with an internet connection. RUBBISH! Its sitting downstaires in the box collecting dust! http://forums.ubi.com/images/smilies/51.gif But if I must bair with this awful anoiance(if it exists) then I will, but only for SH3!


http://adjunct.diodon349.com/photopoint/0037/0046.jpg <HR></BLOCKQUOTE>

I have reformatted XP quite a few times and I have NEVER had to call Microsoft.

stevenwhiting
03-12-2005, 04:51 PM
You only ever have to call MS is the net activation has run out, IE you've done it to many times. But not a worry anyway, there are plenty of activation cracks out there anyway.

No one should panic about the activation, I'm not, after all it might not be there. I only said 'what if..' then do you think they'd be able to cope. At least it won't be like the s h i t e that is Steam.

Anyway, I think it was either due to a media review copy or was just the online (optional) registration.