PDA

View Full Version : OK Now I'm Nervous



gwanna
10-18-2004, 03:29 AM
I run a P4 2.8 with 256meg of RAM and a 256meg video card. I have always been tempted to lash out and upgrade RAM but have hesitated because If I was going to upgrade, I would like a GIG.

Most so called pro's I talk to in shops and other places tell me that any thing above 512meg is wasted. Is this true? What are the personal experiences of others running a GIG?

The other weird thing is that the other day my puter woulden't fire up. http://forums.ubi.com/groupee_common/emoticons/icon_confused.gif and just before the release of PF. http://forums.ubi.com/images/smilies/cry.gif So in my desperate messing around, I ended up at one stage (by pressing F2) in the setup screen and somewhere in there it listed video as 64meg. So in pure blinding ignorence (more is better), I adjusted it to 256meg and saved. http://forums.ubi.com/images/smilies/35.gif.

I eventually found my XP CD and re-installed.

Hey, the game seems to run better. So could somebody please tell a fumbling idiot whether I may have improved my FPS by stumbling around where I don't belong, or from reloading XP??

HexAngel
10-18-2004, 03:36 AM
You should really get yourself that 1 Gig of RAM. Its a big difference in FB to have 512MB or 1024MB RAM. Ecspacially on the larger maps like finland and with many different planes up in the air.
Oh, and I also got a slightly improvement by raising the AGP Aparture size to 256MB. But that reinstall of WinXP could also have raised your fps.

gwanna
10-18-2004, 04:31 AM
Thanks Hex.

I may well chat up the missus tonight and try to convince her of how advantageous this would be for all.

I also run MSFFB2 Joystick, CHPro Pedals and as of recently, TrackIR3Pro.

I would also like to get broadband one day so I could cop a hiding on line. It is always a pleasure to be beaten fairly, as the fun is in the game, not the victory.

HexAngel
10-18-2004, 04:39 AM
You won't regret it, believe me http://forums.ubi.com/groupee_common/emoticons/icon_cool.gif
That MS stick is great btw. I'm glad I could get one at EBay.. A shame that MS doesn't produce it anymore..

gwanna
10-18-2004, 04:58 AM
Yeah,

The stick is great. The Pro Pedals also make a fantastic difference and the TrackIR (once you get used to it) adds a whole new dimension to the game. No regrets on any.

I am also wishing hard for a Pro Throttle, but I think I have seen some concerns on config.
The weird thing is that with both the joystick and pedals, I had all sorts of dramas until I just plugged them into my new puter without using their disks. XP appears to look after them alot better with no probs what so ever.

Maybe I shall also get broadband and meet more of you fellas up close........REAL CLOSE! http://forums.ubi.com/images/smilies/59.gif

TgD Thunderbolt56
10-18-2004, 06:38 AM
You definitely want 1 gig ram for FB. While most other programs can operate ok with less, FB:AEP benefits greatly from 1 gig.

If you're using Win98 then you may have some issues with more than 512.

VW-IceFire
10-18-2004, 07:25 AM
The guys at the computer store are nuts. Mind you...if you didn't tell them what you were using the RAM for their advice may be prudent.

I work in a computer store too. Lots of people who do nothing more than websurf, write e-mails, and put together text documents using Word are asking for 1GB of RAM. Some of them even ask for a gig and half. Its crazy....really they aren't gaining anything.

You on the other hand are gaining alot...as a gamer. I would be too as a Photoshop user as well as a gamer. I've got 512mb right now and I am going to upgrade to 1GB. Just waiting for the right moment in prices.

Chuck_Older
10-18-2004, 07:45 AM
This is a very good question!

I too have gotten the "it's wasted" drivel.

I'm running a 512 stick and a 128 stick at the moment and I'm squeaking by! I think I have the cash scraped up for a gig. I think.

SOme folks worry that too much RAM will hurt their system. I remember when I was using WinME I was advised to use up to 512 and no more, because ME wouldn't recognise more

Now, AFAIK, XP can use as much as you can cram into it.

Can anyone shed more light on the OS vs Usable RAM problem?

DuxCorvan
10-18-2004, 08:20 AM
1 Gb, guys.

At first you see nothing. Everything is the same. So you think: CWOS. Complete Waste Of Space. Then you realize that the Leningrad map doesn't take an eternity to load, and you don't have that 'first time crossing freeze' -most of you know what I'm talking about.

And you leave FB really happy. And if you use the PC creatively -i.e. you're a modder, or use it to edit video or audio, like me- you'll find that you can work on those giant files without waiting a century for every process or undo.

Now mi rig isn't faster... but it's definitively stronger. I can feel how comfortable it feels with the heavy stuff. http://forums.ubi.com/images/smilies/16x16_smiley-happy.gif

actionhank1786
10-18-2004, 08:33 AM
I say go for it!
I'm not computer expert, but i know things will load a hell of a lot faster.
Haha sometimes my computer freezes just when i pull the trigger...
arg...
I want a new machine so bad...
But i'm so broke...
I'm thinking of buying the parts for a blow your a$$ off computer, but i need to start shopping. Hmm

GT182
10-18-2004, 09:00 AM
Dux, will one gig of RAM help with the lag caused by AI spawning. I've got 768mb of DDR now and lag can still be bad at times.

But lag I believe can also be caused because of the number of AI needing to spawn.

HexAngel
10-18-2004, 09:07 AM
AI-spawning-lag is still there with 1024MB RAM, ecspecially in Battle over Europe when 10 to 20 B17 spawn in..

Supr
10-18-2004, 12:08 PM
maybe 12 or 18 months ago, a full gig was a waste for most, but now, 1 gig, and even more, is becoming the standard.

gwanna
10-18-2004, 03:18 PM
OK, a GIG it is!!

You all realise though, that I am going to use this thread with statements as evidence to present to the missus (Ican see her eyes rolling now) http://forums.ubi.com/groupee_common/emoticons/icon_rolleyes.gif

Thanks fellas.

Yellonet
10-18-2004, 03:26 PM
Hello there Mrs. gwanna!

Just let him buy the RAM. You know you won't get rid of the whining otherwise...
Later you can always use the argument that he got his "precious RAM" to get through something you want http://forums.ubi.com/images/smilies/59.gif

gwanna
10-18-2004, 06:22 PM
Careful Yellonet,

She is a sweet thing, but she can corner me easy enough without you giving her ammo http://forums.ubi.com/images/smilies/10.gif

Thanks for the support all the same.

Yellonet
10-19-2004, 07:46 AM
<BLOCKQUOTE class="ip-ubbcode-quote"><font size="-1">quote:</font><HR>Originally posted by gwanna:
Careful Yellonet,

She is a sweet thing, but she can corner me easy enough without you giving her ammo http://forums.ubi.com/images/smilies/10.gif

Thanks for the support all the same. <HR></BLOCKQUOTE>
Hehe http://forums.ubi.com/groupee_common/emoticons/icon_wink.gif Cheers!

Slick750
10-19-2004, 09:03 AM
Chuck is right WinXP can handle lots of ram, the older OS could with some tweaking but I think it corrupted drives or something...can't remember. I went from 512 to 1 gig and it stopped the freezes when guns fired and will turning the pilot head, I'm sure if you ad a 512 stick to your 256 you'll be satisfied.