PDA

View Full Version : Today's the Day! April 27th, 2010



FirstRevolage
04-27-2010, 06:21 AM
Post your Conviction purchase stories, installation issues, first impressions, screenshots, problems, DRM issues (or non-issues), and overall experiences here!

jlaheye
04-27-2010, 06:35 AM
just got a text saying my LCE version is in, gonna go pick it up now.
more news as the story develops http://forums.ubi.com/groupee_common/emoticons/icon_smile.gif

splinter_agent
04-27-2010, 06:43 AM
Come on!!!What the realese day in Greece???I can't wait...

Kentelyoo
04-27-2010, 08:03 AM
Any comments about the controls would be appreciated. Does it feel like a bad console port or a real PC game?

Dellers
04-27-2010, 08:23 AM
You're lucky getting this today. The official release date here in Norway is thursday (2 days from now), but I won't receive it that quick due to the fact that no stores here or in Sweden have it yet (and it takes 2-3 days by mail to receive stuff, I have pre-ordered). A little annoying that play.com has it in stock already, when the UK release date is the 30th, and here it's the 29th but it seems the stores won't get it until thursday or even friday...

El_Wrob3l
04-27-2010, 08:37 AM
I bought the game an hour ago and I'm already having great fun with double clicking on the icon,hoping it would finally let launch the game or even register serial. Thanks Ubi:!

Victoroos
04-27-2010, 08:42 AM
Yeah, I can get it now. But exactely this day, my parents decide to let me do even more homework ( and I'm already speding 3 hours a day, weak day)
So, give me aot cop-op video's, adn I will watch them all, so I can enjoy myself.
Thanks
victor

SneakySoft
04-27-2010, 09:17 AM
I live in Europe and we have to wait till the 30th

FML :P

tse_tsz_tun
04-27-2010, 09:36 AM
Originally posted by SneakySoft:
I live in Europe and we have to wait till the 30th

FML :P

So do I http://forums.ubi.com/groupee_common/emoticons/icon_frown.gif

jlaheye
04-27-2010, 09:40 AM
well i live in Europe too http://forums.ubi.com/groupee_common/emoticons/icon_smile.gif
i was expecting to get it the 30th also, but to my surprise it was here today http://forums.ubi.com/groupee_common/emoticons/icon_smile.gif

on another note:
install went fine,
select Play,
"Ubisoft Game Launcher can not connect to the ubisoft servers, a permanent internet connection is required"
..
have stable internet connection
..
me: http://forums.ubi.com/images/smilies/compsmash.gif

Lancastersilk
04-27-2010, 10:13 AM
I've been playing for about an hour and haven't had a single problem yet.

DRM is painless, simple install and play, the Ubisoft game Launcher pops up, you put in your login credentials and run the game and your in. The launcher is still up in the background and is unnoticeable.

For a port it runs very well, I have a relatively poor CPU so especially around 360 ports I get nervous since GTA and other 360 games have caused me to lag pretty badly.

The keyboard mapping makes sense and works well and as you've probably seen the onscreen buttons swap depending on whether your using M+K or 360 controller. its a little wonky for me at times because I still use arrow keys but I've been able to map everything I need and have it work.

There is a tad bit of mouse acceleration, or rather sluggishness, but I haven't bothered turning it off in my Windows settings, so might just be me. Its honestly not too huge of deal as it hasn't really slowed me down, but I might just be too excited about actually playing the game to care.

Haven't checked online yet for amount of people playing, been playing Hunter mode. Time to dive into the campaign.

Steam/Xfire is LancasterSilk for anyone who wants to play some coop

Hard for me to say, but so far...Good Job Ubi!

Jason-Alaska
04-27-2010, 10:23 AM
Originally posted by tse_tsz_tun:
<BLOCKQUOTE class="ip-ubbcode-quote"><div class="ip-ubbcode-quote-title">quote:</div><div class="ip-ubbcode-quote-content">Originally posted by SneakySoft:
I live in Europe and we have to wait till the 30th

FML :P

So do I http://forums.ubi.com/groupee_common/emoticons/icon_frown.gif </div></BLOCKQUOTE>

I live in the USA but to get the SC:C LE I had to order from Europe! That means I have to wait 4-5 MOE days for shipping! GASP! http://forums.ubi.com/groupee_common/emoticons/icon_wink.gif Can't wait.

jlaheye
04-27-2010, 10:27 AM
Originally posted by Lancastersilk:
I've been playing for about an hour and haven't had a single problem yet.

DRM is painless, simple install and play, the Ubisoft game Launcher pops up, you put in your login credentials and run the game and your in. The launcher is still up in the background and is unnoticeable.

For a port it runs very well, I have a relatively poor CPU so especially around 360 ports I get nervous since GTA and other 360 games have caused me to lag pretty badly.

The keyboard mapping makes sense and works well and as you've probably seen the onscreen buttons swap depending on whether your using M+K or 360 controller. its a little wonky for me at times because I still use arrow keys but I've been able to map everything I need and have it work.

There is a tad bit of mouse acceleration, or rather sluggishness, but I haven't bothered turning it off in my Windows settings, so might just be me. Its honestly not too huge of deal as it hasn't really slowed me down, but I might just be too excited about actually playing the game to care.

Haven't checked online yet for amount of people playing, been playing Hunter mode. Time to dive into the campaign.

Steam/Xfire is LancasterSilk for anyone who wants to play some coop

Hard for me to say, but so far...Good Job Ubi!


so no trouble at all?
could u check which version of the ubi launcher u have (in c: program files/ubi/launcher/version.txt)

now after a reboot i get this error when trying to launch scc:

http://img169.imagevenue.com/loc14/th_85615_errorlauncher_122_14lo.jpg (http://img169.imagevenue.com/img.php?image=85615_errorlauncher_122_14lo.jpg)

tse_tsz_tun
04-27-2010, 11:11 AM
Originally posted by jlaheye:
<BLOCKQUOTE class="ip-ubbcode-quote"><div class="ip-ubbcode-quote-title">quote:</div><div class="ip-ubbcode-quote-content">Originally posted by Lancastersilk:
I've been playing for about an hour and haven't had a single problem yet.

DRM is painless, simple install and play, the Ubisoft game Launcher pops up, you put in your login credentials and run the game and your in. The launcher is still up in the background and is unnoticeable.

For a port it runs very well, I have a relatively poor CPU so especially around 360 ports I get nervous since GTA and other 360 games have caused me to lag pretty badly.

The keyboard mapping makes sense and works well and as you've probably seen the onscreen buttons swap depending on whether your using M+K or 360 controller. its a little wonky for me at times because I still use arrow keys but I've been able to map everything I need and have it work.

There is a tad bit of mouse acceleration, or rather sluggishness, but I haven't bothered turning it off in my Windows settings, so might just be me. Its honestly not too huge of deal as it hasn't really slowed me down, but I might just be too excited about actually playing the game to care.

Haven't checked online yet for amount of people playing, been playing Hunter mode. Time to dive into the campaign.

Steam/Xfire is LancasterSilk for anyone who wants to play some coop

Hard for me to say, but so far...Good Job Ubi!


so no trouble at all?
could u check which version of the ubi launcher u have (in c: program files/ubi/launcher/version.txt)

now after a reboot i get this error when trying to launch scc:

http://img169.imagevenue.com/loc14/th_85615_errorlauncher_122_14lo.jpg (http://img169.imagevenue.com/img.php?image=85615_errorlauncher_122_14lo.jpg) </div></BLOCKQUOTE>

If you are a Window Vista user, have you tried to run the program by the identity of administrator?

P.S.:

http://www.awesometoast.com/wp-content/uploads/2010/03/tactical_facepalm.jpg

jlaheye
04-27-2010, 11:16 AM
..i have

i rebooted several times

i reinstalled 3 times

no results....

tse_tsz_tun
04-27-2010, 11:57 AM
Originally posted by jlaheye:
..i have

i rebooted several times

i reinstalled 3 times

no results....

I feel sorry... http://forums.ubi.com/groupee_common/emoticons/icon_frown.gif

Why Ubisoft did 2 weeks for extra polishing can result in this disaster http://forums.ubi.com/groupee_common/emoticons/icon_mad.gif

Lancastersilk
04-27-2010, 12:26 PM
The only problem I have so far is I can't find anyone for coop Hunter haha

My Ubisoft Launcher version is 0119

I'm also using XP, if that makes any difference.

The only *annoying* thing so far, is that when you click uplay, it closes the game and launches up the uplay portion, than after closing uplay you have to relog back in to re-start the game, as opposed to just bringing it back up. Not a huge deal, but ya know

jlaheye
04-27-2010, 12:27 PM
*sigh*
instead of a night spent playing

i now have a day(s) of raging ahead

http://forums.ubi.com/groupee_common/emoticons/icon_mad.gif http://forums.ubi.com/images/smilies/compsmash.gif

jlaheye
04-27-2010, 12:28 PM
Originally posted by Lancastersilk:

My Ubisoft Launcher version is 0119



and is this the first game u have with this launcher, i mean, was the launcher installed along with the game?

Jason-Alaska
04-27-2010, 01:03 PM
Tech support issues WILL NOT get seen by tech support in this thread. Post them individualy in the Splinter Cell Tech Support (http://forums.ubi.com/eve/forums/a/frm/f/954105331) forum. With the release of the game there will be more and more people posting issues there and Ubi support will likely be dropping by soon.

In the mean time the PC community help will be all over this stuff. http://forums.ubi.com/groupee_common/emoticons/icon_wink.gif

Try opening ports on your firewall... Try going DMZ (for testing) and see if that works.

It helps EVERYONE when you post tech related issues in the tech support forum. http://forums.ubi.com/groupee_common/emoticons/icon_wink.gif

Lancastersilk
04-27-2010, 01:12 PM
Originally posted by jlaheye:
<BLOCKQUOTE class="ip-ubbcode-quote"><div class="ip-ubbcode-quote-title">quote:</div><div class="ip-ubbcode-quote-content">Originally posted by Lancastersilk:

My Ubisoft Launcher version is 0119



and is this the first game u have with this launcher, i mean, was the launcher installed along with the game? </div></BLOCKQUOTE>

Yes this is the first game I've played with the Ubi Launcher, was a clean install through the Conviction DVD, did a 5 second Launcher update than I was good to go.

Also my internets been notorious for being a little wonky, but as of yet I still haven't had any issues with the drm kicking in

sam2000_290
04-27-2010, 01:13 PM
Picking my up tonight. http://forums.ubi.com/groupee_common/emoticons/icon_biggrin.gif

jlaheye
04-27-2010, 01:41 PM
you know, after months and months of people talking crap about it, and delays and whatnot, i still couldn't wait to play it.. now this **** happens and i find myself joining the 'f*** you ubisoft side' cause when i buy a game i would just like it to start...

CallMeRalph
04-27-2010, 02:24 PM
Quick question to all of you. Is there a LAN option?

kloss_hans
04-27-2010, 02:30 PM
Courier confirmed to deliver my copy tomorrow Morning. This will be a long night of waiting http://forums.ubi.com/groupee_common/emoticons/icon_cool.gif
But it seems strange that the EU release is the same (in practice) as US.

FirstRevolage
04-27-2010, 02:59 PM
If anyone is having a POSITIVE experience playing/installing/configuring Conviction on the PC, let us know as well.

So far, it seems that it's been a mostly negative and frustrating experience. I just wonder if the majority of folks are too busy playing to post, or if the problems we're reading are representative of the overall PC experience.

Lancastersilk
04-27-2010, 04:34 PM
Originally posted by CallMeRalph:
Quick question to all of you. Is there a LAN option?

Affirmative on that, there is a LAN option.

And I'm having a very positive experience, wound up running some Hunter modes and Campaign with someone for near 3 hours without a single hitch, its very good. And its really ****ty to hear that somethings stopping the other posters from being able to play it, I'm hoping it gets ironed out fast like

crevlthe
04-27-2010, 04:38 PM
Originally posted by FirstRevolage:
If anyone is having a POSITIVE experience playing/installing/configuring Conviction on the PC, let us know as well.

So far, it seems that it's been a mostly negative and frustrating experience. I just wonder if the majority of folks are too busy playing to post, or if the problems we're reading are representative of the overall PC experience.

yeah, overall the game has actually been polished quite well - nice graphics as well as gameplay system. I do have to complain about the mouse sensitivity setting; its turned all the way up and its stills slow.

I haven't tried the multiplayer/co-op; hope its good!

FirstRevolage
04-27-2010, 09:07 PM
Well, as the day ends, it seems like this is a poorly-designed game.

I mean, I'm happy for those who were able to load it without any issues. But, I don't recall seeing this many issues with a game on release day.

Which begs the question: why no demo? I'm not saying that just to complain (although, I'd be justified doing so). Rather, it seems that if any platform is going to get a demo, it would be the PC because of all the PC-specific issues. I would guess that the majority of the problems that we're seeing posted on this forum could have been resolved by release day if a demo had been distributed with the goal of polishing up the final product.

Anyway, here's hoping for a comprehensive and well-tested patch...soon.

adjkeer
04-27-2010, 09:36 PM
Can't even play it now. It crashes to desktop every half hour or so, and then it suddenly is telling me I need a permanent internet connection. Huh... so I guess that's not what I'm using to post this on the forum, huh?
This happened earlier, too. DRM servers are buggy. Also, during gameplay, the game pauses every couple minutes to say it needs to reconnect to the server. If you haven't bought this game, don't bother.

jlaheye
04-28-2010, 03:54 AM
i got it going, but it crashed on me twice allready and i'm just entering kobin's mansion...

Ashrien
04-28-2010, 04:29 AM
Originally posted by FirstRevolage:
If anyone is having a POSITIVE experience playing/installing/configuring Conviction on the PC, let us know as well.

So far, it seems that it's been a mostly negative and frustrating experience. I just wonder if the majority of folks are too busy playing to post, or if the problems we're reading are representative of the overall PC experience.

I played the crap out of it for like 12-14 hours straight. It was about as painless as installers get, that's including the launcher and DRM. WinAMP is more of a hassle to install than this thing.

Performance is unjustifiably lower than it should be on my system though, kind of irritating.

Specs:
MSI 790FX-GD70
Phenom II x4 965 @ 4.2 (custom liquid)
8gb Corsair Dominator GT - DDR3 1600
2x eVGA GTX260 in SLI (kernel-hacked Win7-x64 to enable SLI on this CrossFire-only mobo.)

All on my S-IPS 24" Dell 1920x1200 LCD.
----

And what's up with Ubi flat-*** forgetting to implement some way for us to communicate with eachother? Even splintercell.com/match is borked.

andrew1211007
04-28-2010, 04:32 AM
Some people like me, had problems with graphic glitches and performance issues. I was frustrated at first but then I saw the new ATI hotfix, if this is happening to you, try this:
http://support.amd.com/us/kbar...t-10-4-a-Hotfix.aspx (http://support.amd.com/us/kbarticles/Pages/ATI-Catalyst-10-4-a-Hotfix.aspx)

MyxaMop88
04-28-2010, 10:53 AM
i wanna play http://forums.ubi.com/groupee_common/emoticons/icon_smile.gif and i dont look at this... http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=7ypb13F-8kI
help somebody...