PDA

View Full Version : New Monitor



funkster319
02-23-2008, 03:11 AM
Hey

I recently purchased TH2GO digital (including 2 additional 19inch monitors) and personally for several reasons, I now think it is one of the worse and costly decisions I've made in my PC buying history.(Another post perhaps)

As a result I am sending back the TH2GO and selling on my monitors and intend to pruchase a new Widescreen monitor instead. As I play IL2 ALOT!!!! , I was wondering:

what size widescreen would be recomended? -22" or 24"

What resolutions work well with IL2? 1680*1050 / 1920*1200 ?

Any help or guidance would be appreciated- I don't want to waste yet more money on something I can't use for my favorite games!

woofiedog
02-23-2008, 04:26 AM
Here is a thread you might want to go through... recently traded my 18in LCD for a 22in widescreen Dell... and totally enjoying it! http://forums.ubi.com/images/smilies/25.gif

Link: http://forums.ubi.com/eve/forums/a/tpc/f/49310655/m/1121027236

funkster319
02-23-2008, 04:40 AM
Cheers m8 http://forums.ubi.com/groupee_common/emoticons/icon_smile.gif

p1ngu666
02-23-2008, 08:45 AM
get the bigger one if u can afford it tbh...
plus you can watch full hd on the 1920x1200, 1680 is inbetween the hd res's. hd still looks great on my 1680x1050 screen tho http://forums.ubi.com/images/smilies/16x16_smiley-happy.gif

Urufu_Shinjiro
02-23-2008, 10:36 AM
I just received shipment of my brand new Acer AL2416W 24" Widescreen S-PVA monitor and freakin love it!!! I got it on www.ewiz.com (http://www.ewiz.com) for $400 even, a heck of a deal for an S-PVA based monitor, most 24" are TN panels these days.

Bearcat99
02-23-2008, 10:40 AM
For simming with TIR IMO a 24" or better monitor beat TH2G hands down... I got my 24" Acer for $300 a few months back.. I think it is order than yours though Urufu..

Urufu_Shinjiro
02-23-2008, 09:22 PM
Originally posted by Bearcat99:
For simming with TIR IMO a 24" or better monitor beat TH2G hands down... I got my 24" Acer for $300 a few months back.. I think it is order than yours though Urufu..

Whats the exact model number BC? The strait AL2416W is the one with the S-PVA panel, the 2416Wid and one other is the TN panel, not bad but the S-PVA is a little better.

bluedragon1950
02-25-2008, 10:06 AM
I play IL2 1946 on two monitors, SyncMaster 24" and Olevia 32" LCD TV. The game looks good on both monitors but the bigger screen Olevia gave me more immense feeling.

I used "PowerStrip" utility software to get my 32" working at 1366x768 resolution and the game looks gorgeous.

bluedragon1950
02-25-2008, 10:12 AM
Forgot to say that I play IL2 on SyncMaster 24" at the resolution 1920x1200. I was planning to replace my GeForce 6800 Ultra with the 8800GT but have decided against it and am waiting to see how the new GeForce 9600GT fares before I jump on with the video card upgrade.

mbfRoy
02-26-2008, 01:37 AM
You may aswell wait for the 9000 series high end cards aswell! In any case the 8800GT is one heck of a card

funkster319
02-26-2008, 03:24 AM
Well ordered my Samsung 24", be here tommorow. agreed the 8800GT is a wicked card. http://forums.ubi.com/groupee_common/emoticons/icon_smile.gif

TgD Thunderbolt56
02-26-2008, 06:36 AM
You'll love it. 24" is the sweet spot right now and can handle high enough resolutions to make other games really pop too.

1680x1050 is the perfect resolution for a 24" monitor IMO as it offers the best balance between image quality and being able to see the li'l grey dots. If you ran 1280x960 on your other 4:3 format monitor the 1680x1050 res is still an upgrade in IQ.

funkster319
02-26-2008, 06:40 AM
I was actually running 3072*768 in Triple head (Matrox TH2GO) but see my other thread

http://forums.ubi.com/eve/forums/a/tpc/f/23110283/m/2151012636

I wish I had just gone for a WS in the first place.

Bearcat99
02-26-2008, 07:07 AM
Originally posted by Urufu_Shinjiro:
<BLOCKQUOTE class="ip-ubbcode-quote"><div class="ip-ubbcode-quote-title">quote:</div><div class="ip-ubbcode-quote-content">Originally posted by Bearcat99:
For simming with TIR IMO a 24" or better monitor beat TH2G hands down... I got my 24" Acer for $300 a few months back.. I think it is order than yours though Urufu..

Whats the exact model number BC? The strait AL2416W is the one with the S-PVA panel, the 2416Wid and one other is the TN panel, not bad but the S-PVA is a little better. </div></BLOCKQUOTE>

It's the X241W... it was onsale @ Microcenter a while back for $299... for that price it was a steal.... I am happy...


Originally posted by bluedragon1950:
Forgot to say that I play IL2 on SyncMaster 24" at the resolution 1920x1200. I was planning to replace my GeForce 6800 Ultra with the 8800GT but have decided against it and am waiting to see how the new GeForce 9600GT fares before I jump on with the video card upgrade.

That's what I am running as well.. I prefer that for simming as I find that on my WS the smaller res didnt fill the screen...

funkster use this in your config file of 46 :

[window]
width=1920
height=1200
ColourBits=32
DepthBits=24
StencilBits=8
ChangeScreenRes=1
FullScreen=1
DrawIfNotFocused=0
EnableResize=0
EnableClose=1
SaveAspect=0
Use3Renders=0

Or if you want to use T-bolt's 1680x1050 just substitute the numbers...

This sim is schweet on my 24" I prefer the 1920x1200... the difference between the two is similar to the difference between 1024x768 & 1280x960 on a 4:3. When I had a CRT I used to run the 1024 until I tried the 1280 and found I didnt loose much in the way of frames but got a lot more in terms of picture quality...

Zoom2136
02-26-2008, 08:09 AM
STAY AWAY FROM ACER MONITORS

Just make a quick surch about the "no signal" issue.

I have a acer AL2423W (1920x1200) monitor and liked it alot. Well when I turn it on last.... for some reason it did not display the ASUS page and Windows loading page.... it only came on after a while in desktop....

Well that was strange... but what was stranger was still to come. The monitor started displaying in a grey box a "no signal" message. The monitor would eventually reset itself and the message would disapear... Not that will the "no signal" message was displayed... I could see my desktop/game/etc. in the background...

Well its on its way back to ACER for repair.... AT MY EXPENSE for shipping. This is a none issue with these monitors... Only problem it can take days, weeks on even months for a faulty monitor to reveal its faults.... Mine took about 6 months....

So I did what any of us would do in such a situation... I went to Best Buy and bought a 27" Samsung... http://forums.ubi.com/images/smilies/16x16_smiley-very-happy.gif Way better image quality.

One thing I noticed with the Samsung I don't get flicquering roads.... this was a pain with my ACER... I though this was a driver issue (GPU related) guess it was the monitor...

Urufu_Shinjiro
02-26-2008, 11:10 AM
I've read about the "no signal" issue on several brands of monitor, I don't think it's acer exclusive. I have heard they have bad support but I'm willing to take that chance for this good a monitor for this price.

funkster319
02-28-2008, 04:04 AM
Got my Samsung 24" and what can I say !!!!

AWESOME !!!!! It is fantastic and no FPS hit!! So glad I jacked in the Triplescreens for a widescreen - the best decision I've made! And I managed to sell all my Triple sceen kit for a good price as weell :O)

woofiedog
02-28-2008, 05:50 AM
Glad to hear everything worked out well for you... Mint LCD also!

jempe
03-14-2008, 01:51 PM
I own a th2go since 6 month. I agree about the compatibility game issues.

I used it to play to live for speed: no problems.


The problems began when I changed my video card for a new one: the th2go makes my screen go to out of range in 3840 resolution. I matrox is unable to help me. They says: we cannot do anyhting for you, this is not our fault...

Suckers! bring me back my money!!!!

RAF_OldBuzzard
03-14-2008, 02:13 PM
Call me a dinosaur, but I upgraded to a 24" widescreen CRT.

SGI/Sony FW-900 http://forums.ubi.com/images/smilies/heart.gif http://forums.ubi.com/images/smilies/heart.gif

There's not an LCD on the planet that can match it for quality.

Can do 2304 x 1440 @ 80Hz with ACCURATE colors, and never have to worry abot 'Native resolution' bullcrap http://forums.ubi.com/groupee_common/emoticons/icon_biggrin.gif

Chris0382
03-14-2008, 03:13 PM
oLD Buzz

The CRT's are still considered the best gaming monitors period (especally a good fine dotted shadow mask monitor). Only issue is weight and maybe size/energy consumption. If you have the space, CRT is the way to go.

Stiletto-
03-14-2008, 06:54 PM
+2

Have the HP version of the Sony FW-900, best lookin thing I have ever bought, and they aren't that expensive because CRT's are old technology.. Playing games at 1900x1200 cranked with 8xFSAA is like eating candy.. or something! Only downside is that this Monitor weighs 96 pounds! But hey, it doesn't bark at me to take it for walks or anything.

Aviar
03-14-2008, 10:29 PM
Originally posted by RAF_OldBuzzard:
Call me a dinosaur, but I upgraded to a 24" widescreen CRT.

SGI/Sony FW-900 http://forums.ubi.com/images/smilies/heart.gif http://forums.ubi.com/images/smilies/heart.gif

There's not an LCD on the planet that can match it for quality.

Can do 2304 x 1440 @ 80Hz with ACCURATE colors, and never have to worry abot 'Native resolution' bullcrap http://forums.ubi.com/groupee_common/emoticons/icon_biggrin.gif

Do you have a link to where you purchased it?

Aviar

willyvic
03-14-2008, 11:18 PM
Originally posted by Aviar:
<BLOCKQUOTE class="ip-ubbcode-quote"><div class="ip-ubbcode-quote-title">quote:</div><div class="ip-ubbcode-quote-content">Originally posted by RAF_OldBuzzard:
Call me a dinosaur, but I upgraded to a 24" widescreen CRT.

SGI/Sony FW-900 http://forums.ubi.com/images/smilies/heart.gif http://forums.ubi.com/images/smilies/heart.gif

There's not an LCD on the planet that can match it for quality.

Can do 2304 x 1440 @ 80Hz with ACCURATE colors, and never have to worry abot 'Native resolution' bullcrap http://forums.ubi.com/groupee_common/emoticons/icon_biggrin.gif

Do you have a link to where you purchased it?

Aviar </div></BLOCKQUOTE>

I believe it may have been from here. http://www.accurateit.com/details.asp?iid=203
WV

RAF_OldBuzzard
03-15-2008, 12:17 AM
Yup that's a good place willy...they have been in business for quite awhile and are well regarded.

Actually, I got mine from a PVT sale. Guy bought it, and then decided that it was just too damned big, and he put it on Craigslist for $100.00. I damned near broke my fingers getting an email reply out to him http://forums.ubi.com/groupee_common/emoticons/icon_biggrin.gif

I'm the 3rd owner. 1st was a kid at Univ. Cincinnati that bought it as NEW OLD STOCK, then needed $$$, so he sold it to the guy I got it from. All in all, it's only been in actual for about a year now.

Patriot_Act
03-15-2008, 02:12 AM
I am using a Samsung 245BW 24" widescreen.
It's blazing fast on refresh and has phenominal contrast.
Excellent color also.

Getting cheaper by the day also.

About $440 US.

P.A.

willyvic
03-15-2008, 02:20 AM
Originally posted by RAF_OldBuzzard:
Yup that's a good place willy...they have been in business for quite awhile and are well regarded.

Actually, I got mine from a PVT sale. Guy bought it, and then decided that it was just too damned big, and he put it on Craigslist for $100.00. I damned near broke my fingers getting an email reply out to him http://forums.ubi.com/groupee_common/emoticons/icon_biggrin.gif

I'm the 3rd owner. 1st was a kid at Univ. Cincinnati that bought it as NEW OLD STOCK, then needed $$$, so he sold it to the guy I got it from. All in all, it's only been in actual for about a year now.

Almost spewed my coffee on the screen. You got yourself on heck of a deal there OB. Good on ya.

WV

Wurkeri
03-15-2008, 02:22 AM
I'm considering 26-27" monitors to replace my old 22"; prices had come down last months and the response times are acceptable for gaming and smooth video playback.

Il2pelaaja
03-15-2008, 02:38 AM
How about using this for a monitor?

Mirai DTL-642E500 42" Full-HD LCD

It is a TV, but should be quite good for a PC monitor, any experiences on that?

Zuki
03-16-2008, 12:40 AM
30 in. Samsung ...2560x1600. I cap the fps @ 60...it's beautiful, the only drawback are the pixels. I had always run my old 21 in Viewsonic @ 1024x768 (so as to see the dots/planes far off..I dont see too good).
At 2560 I don't see them till they are on top of me, so I die allot... but man!I look good dying.

Il2pelaaja
03-16-2008, 01:43 AM
I now have 21 CRT and I would like to use 1600 x 1200, it runs well, looks good, but with that res you cannot see enemies, before they are too close and you are dead...

Thats why I have to use 1024 x 768. It looks no good, but at least I can fight and survive much better...

Stiletto-
03-16-2008, 12:47 PM
Though a Sony GDM-FW900 is worth 700 dollars, I wouldn't pay that much for one as they can be had much cheaper. I got mine off of ebay for a think.. $300 not including shipping.

Stiletto-
03-16-2008, 01:01 PM
I should mention if you are searching for the Sony FW900 also search for the version that was licensed to HP as it's the same monitor, less people might be searching for it because it's not as well known its an HP A7217A. Gaming at 1900x1200 at 85hz is pure bliss.

Urufu_Shinjiro
03-17-2008, 11:31 AM
Originally posted by Il2pelaaja:
I now have 21 CRT and I would like to use 1600 x 1200, it runs well, looks good, but with that res you cannot see enemies, before they are too close and you are dead...

Thats why I have to use 1024 x 768. It looks no good, but at least I can fight and survive much better...

This is one of the reasons I love my 24" Acer, in 1920x1200 I can see the dots better than I ever could on my sony 19" CRT at ANY resolution! It took me a few trips up before I said, "hey, whats that little thing moving across the ground, looks like a 300k/ph cockroach...?". then it occured to me it was an airplane dot! Now I can see the dots like gnats in the distance http://forums.ubi.com/groupee_common/emoticons/icon_smile.gif.