PDA

View Full Version : Take off point



M2morris
03-23-2007, 07:07 PM
OMG, I can't believe I finally found a way to make a mission that envolves me taking off from about anywhere I want. Ever since I started playing this sim and building missions I have been restricted to taking off from only airfields or carriers. Lately I have been using a dirt road as an airstrip where I would start the mission in the air, but I JUST-NOW found a way to start the mission at my make-shift airfield and on the ground. http://forums.ubi.com/images/smilies/35.gif
this is cool, this sim never ceases to suprize me.
http://i20.photobucket.com/albums/b206/planegeek/grab0000.jpg

hurricane1948
03-23-2007, 07:15 PM
Please provide the details.

M2morris
03-23-2007, 07:25 PM
Originally posted by hurricane1948:
Please provide the details. I'm into mission builder.
I went to objects, chose target and placed it, then my plane, waypoint, take-off, set, put it on the target. My plane was safe on the ground and ready for take off nowhere near an airstrip, but I had to re-position it into the hangar, or the hangar around the plane, I am still messing with it.

Hanglands
03-24-2007, 04:23 AM
Hi,

I'm yet to try it, but if it works thats gonna be briliant! http://forums.ubi.com/images/smilies/25.gif http://forums.ubi.com/images/smilies/25.gif http://forums.ubi.com/images/smilies/25.gif

Regards.

dbillo
03-24-2007, 09:18 AM
Brilliant!!! http://forums.ubi.com/images/smilies/11.gif It works!

Just did a quick test on the Online4Summer map. Used a Defense Ground target, place an A-20 on a road. Setting the first waypoint to takeoff made it snap to nearest air base, but just dragged it back to the road, and when I flew the mission, I was on the road ready to take off!

My AI wingman, however, was not behind me, but off to right side and behind, on the grass. So groups of planes don't line up like on a runway, but more like inflight formations.

Further testing needed, but looks extremely promising! M2Morris, you need to post this in the Mission Builder forum right away!

PBNA-Boosher
03-24-2007, 09:40 AM
M2Morris, I believe you just made a WHOLE bunch of mission builders VERY happy!

StG2_Schlachter
03-24-2007, 06:29 PM
http://forums.ubi.com/images/smilies/11.gif http://forums.ubi.com/images/smilies/11.gif http://forums.ubi.com/images/smilies/11.gif

That's awesome. Thanks m2morris!
Finally more realistic take offs.
Oh, the possibilities. Sweet!

Waldo.Pepper
03-24-2007, 07:02 PM
I'm not sure that this is new. I flew a 262 campaign that had this years ago. I made a brief campaign with takeoff spawns in the woods - roads etc.

M2morris
03-24-2007, 07:09 PM
Thanks guys but actually I don't think it was too big of a discovery, I'm sure somebody has already done it, besides I just discovered that if I drag my take-off waypoint to anywhere on the map it puts my plane right there on TO with no need for the "target-set" use. I guess I was messing around with getting AI bombers to bomb anywhere I want and I stumbled upon that thing with MY plane's TO point, but as it looks now all you have to do is drag your TO waypoint to anywhere you want, and it will place you there. http://forums.ubi.com/images/smilies/35.gif
But it does open alot of doors for me from now on anyway. I can leave from a hangar, taxi out and go, then return to my hangar afterward, and now I can also start missions like a bush pilot with guns and bombs. http://forums.ubi.com/images/smilies/winky.gif

M2morris
03-24-2007, 08:23 PM
Originally posted by Waldo.Pepper:
I'm not sure that this is new. I flew a 262 campaign that had this years ago. I made a brief campaign with takeoff spawns in the woods - roads etc.
Yep, right on Waldo, I knew it, but I'm still glad I found a way to start a mission where I have to taxi out to the strip and go.

Waldo.Pepper
03-24-2007, 08:39 PM
where I have to taxi out to the strip

Almost all of Dubbo's Bushpigs start out in a hangar. give them a try.

P.S. Try this on for size as well.

http://www.zshare.net/download/fledermaus-zip.html

M2morris
03-24-2007, 09:26 PM
Originally posted by Waldo.Pepper:
[QUOTE]where I have to taxi out to the strip

Almost all of Dubbo's Bushpigs start out in a hangar. give them a try.

P.S. Try this on for size as well.

Thnx Waldo, http://forums.ubi.com/images/smilies/25.gif
Allow me to trash my own thread topic:
I have had this P-61 photo in 'my pictures' for so long now that I don't even remember the story behind it. After seeing your sig I figured you would want it. I built a plastic model of a P-61 when I was a kid so I geuss it had a specialness or something, but not anymore.
It would be cool to have it in the game though.
http://i20.photobucket.com/albums/b206/planegeek/BK94P61-01.jpg

Kapt_A
03-24-2007, 10:07 PM
Yes it's a great trick and excellent you found it,but your suspicions were right, it's not a new trick.

http://i42.photobucket.com/albums/e307/RAF23-Kapt/AVG3.jpg

M2morris
03-24-2007, 10:37 PM
[QUOTE]Originally posted by Kapt_A:
Yes it's a great trick and excellent you found it,but your suspicions were right, it's not a new trick.

That is nice work, I count over twenty planes, I'm wondering what they are using as a strip; the paved road or the dusty one.

That looks like maybe a 1939ish China scenario.

Kapt_A
03-24-2007, 11:29 PM
The Paved road was being used.

You might notice the three lined up with the one facing them?All four are AI but the one facing them has 1% fuel.The P-40 will sit and idle for 14 min then the pilot will bail-out,and disappear...Allowing the 3 other to finally take-off.

A new trick for you to play with http://forums.ubi.com/groupee_common/emoticons/icon_wink.gif

Note: All the planes have different times that they run out with 1%,some won't disappear.

Gitano1979
03-25-2007, 03:27 AM
Nice tricks!!!

In my tests i got problems in AI take-offs, they are not lined up and they begin the to run in random order.

How can i fix this?

cheers

RxMan
03-25-2007, 06:25 PM
My plane was safe on the ground and ready for take off nowhere near an airstrip

That's the trick (nowhere near an airstrip), if you are close, I can't remember the distance right now, it will automatically jump to the airstrip/

Waldo.Pepper
03-25-2007, 09:02 PM
trash my own thread topic

Well since you started it.

That is a P-61A, on display in Beijing.

Further pics here.

http://www.afwing.com/gallery/beijing.htm

She is serial number 42-39417

Depending upon whom you believe she was either abandoned as a lame duck or stolen by the Chinese.

Still more info here.

http://www.johnweeks.com/p61/p61beijing.html

Poker_4H
03-25-2007, 09:27 PM
You really should look in the Mission Builders forum ... there are hundreds of ideas.

For alternate airfields .. use runway #3 and #4 to create airstrips where you can spawn in anywhere.

If you want the airfield scramble .. a la BoB, or such .. set 5 or 6 runway #4's side by side .. have your AI planes , 1 each per flight and set the take off waypoint .. then "set" each one to a different runway as if it was a carrier.
Planes will spawn in and take off on their own specific runways...... if the area is flat enough, I've even had them taking off at slightly different angles ... just for visual effect..... nothing like a near miss on a squadron scramble !! LOL