PDA

View Full Version : OT: Dual Booting Qs

IZT
12-15-2004, 02:43 AM
I know how to dual boot when i have win xp installed with win 98 using partition magic. but i want top know is it safe? will it corrupt files on windows XP??

IZT
12-15-2004, 02:43 AM
I know how to dual boot when i have win xp installed with win 98 using partition magic. but i want top know is it safe? will it corrupt files on windows XP??

SkyPiggies
12-15-2004, 03:30 AM
I tried this, and strange things happened

The Windows 98 installer completely corrupted one disk and damaged two more

(These were connected to a third-party RAID card, so it was certainly some strange hardware incompatibility)

So my advice is: unplug ALL other disks when installing Windows 98

Only plug them back in when the Windows 98 install is complete

|CoB|_Spectre
12-15-2004, 03:53 AM
I've been running a dual boot system for about two years now. Mine are on separate drives and I find that I rarely go into Win98 anymore. You're probably already aware of this, but Win98 must be installed prior to installing XP. These are the only two I have experience with, but it may extend to a 98/Win2k or WinNT install as well. Partitioning a single drive could hide some caveats of which I am unaware.

p1ngu666
12-15-2004, 12:11 PM
pointless, as ull never use 98 again. unless u got some programs that refuse to work on xp

SkyPiggies
12-16-2004, 01:02 AM
pointless, as ull never use 98 again. unless u got some programs that refuse to work on xp

I have lots of programs that refuse to run on XP

I also need to run DOS occasionally (old games and bios flashes)

So a bootable Win98 partition would be very useful...

WOLFMondo
12-16-2004, 01:17 AM
<BLOCKQUOTE class="ip-ubbcode-quote"><font size="-1">quote:</font><HR>Originally posted by p1ngu666:
pointless, as ull never use 98 again. unless u got some programs that refuse to work on xp <HR></BLOCKQUOTE>

Even then there is compatibility mode which usually eliminates those problems.

Brain32