PDA

View Full Version : Original IL-2 Missions? Why not?



Jim57
02-06-2009, 02:45 PM
Just wanted to play IL-2 again after a year or more hiatus. I have installed right now IL-2 with aces and pacific add-ons. Just the other day I also bought IL-2 1946 but have yet to install it. Anyway, I was wondering how many guys remember on the "Original" IL-2 game you could take control of the aircraft "after" you watch the training mission? Also, (the reason for the post) I thought it "ironic" that the "IL-2 Sturmovik" game DOES NOT have a single mission pack anymore for the IL-2... So, I got out my original IL-2 game and copied those Single Missions into my IL-2Merged game. Very interesting to say the least. I don't have to fly a campaign to get into an IL-2. BUT... I think I know why I kind of stopped playing; too choppy and stutters too much for our computer. Shame... I really wanted to play but now I remember why I stopped. We DO plan on getting a newer computer later this year. I DID manage to play IL-2 (original) right from the disc WITHOUT installing it. and I "think" it actually ran smoother than my installed one? WHY would that be?

Just some thoughts...

Jim

Jim57
02-06-2009, 02:45 PM
Just wanted to play IL-2 again after a year or more hiatus. I have installed right now IL-2 with aces and pacific add-ons. Just the other day I also bought IL-2 1946 but have yet to install it. Anyway, I was wondering how many guys remember on the "Original" IL-2 game you could take control of the aircraft "after" you watch the training mission? Also, (the reason for the post) I thought it "ironic" that the "IL-2 Sturmovik" game DOES NOT have a single mission pack anymore for the IL-2... So, I got out my original IL-2 game and copied those Single Missions into my IL-2Merged game. Very interesting to say the least. I don't have to fly a campaign to get into an IL-2. BUT... I think I know why I kind of stopped playing; too choppy and stutters too much for our computer. Shame... I really wanted to play but now I remember why I stopped. We DO plan on getting a newer computer later this year. I DID manage to play IL-2 (original) right from the disc WITHOUT installing it. and I "think" it actually ran smoother than my installed one? WHY would that be?

Just some thoughts...

Jim

Urufu_Shinjiro
02-06-2009, 03:00 PM
Try posting a thread in the community help section with your pc spec (a dxdiag maybe) and your conf.ini. We may be able to help you tweak it so it runs better.

crucislancer
02-06-2009, 04:02 PM
<BLOCKQUOTE class="ip-ubbcode-quote"><div class="ip-ubbcode-quote-title">quote:</div><div class="ip-ubbcode-quote-content">Originally posted by Jim57:
Just wanted to play IL-2 again after a year or more hiatus. I have installed right now IL-2 with aces and pacific add-ons. Just the other day I also bought IL-2 1946 but have yet to install it. Anyway, I was wondering how many guys remember on the "Original" IL-2 game you could take control of the aircraft "after" you watch the training mission? Also, (the reason for the post) I thought it "ironic" that the "IL-2 Sturmovik" game DOES NOT have a single mission pack anymore for the IL-2... So, I got out my original IL-2 game and copied those Single Missions into my IL-2Merged game. Very interesting to say the least. I don't have to fly a campaign to get into an IL-2. BUT... I think I know why I kind of stopped playing; too choppy and stutters too much for our computer. Shame... I really wanted to play but now I remember why I stopped. We DO plan on getting a newer computer later this year. I DID manage to play IL-2 (original) right from the disc WITHOUT installing it. and I "think" it actually ran smoother than my installed one? WHY would that be?

Just some thoughts...

Jim </div></BLOCKQUOTE>

I'm not sure about Forgotten Battles or AEP, but if you have IL-2 1946 (which has FB+AEP+PF patched to v4.07m), it includes all the original IL-2 content: the 3 campaigns and all the single missions.

You ran the original straight from the CD? How did you do that?

What kind of computer do you have?

Tully__
02-06-2009, 04:36 PM
<BLOCKQUOTE class="ip-ubbcode-quote"><div class="ip-ubbcode-quote-title">quote:</div><div class="ip-ubbcode-quote-content">Anyway, I was wondering how many guys remember on the "Original" IL-2 game you could take control of the aircraft "after" you watch the training mission? </div></BLOCKQUOTE>
That changed in a later version somewhere because the training missions were trk file mission recordings and only worked properly in the original game v1.0. When flight models changed with patches, the training missions came out different when the recorded control inputs were played back.

As a result of this, in later versions the .trk file training missions were re-recorded as "online recordings" (.ntrk files) which wont allow you to take control part way through. The plus side to this change is that they now play back properly in any version of the game.

Jim57
02-06-2009, 04:44 PM
<BLOCKQUOTE class="ip-ubbcode-quote"><div class="ip-ubbcode-quote-title">quote:</div><div class="ip-ubbcode-quote-content">Originally posted by crucislancer:


You ran the original straight from the CD? How did you do that?

What kind of computer do you have? </div></BLOCKQUOTE>

I will post my DXdiag in the other forum, but probably most folks will note that the computer is old. Generic list here for you crucislancer:

We have a Gateway with XP HOME
768 RAM
Pentium 4 CPU 1700MHz
Direct X 9.0c

AS for running off the disc:

Actually, I did it by accident at first, then I tried it again, and it does play off the disc. Here is what to do:

Place original disc in tray
double click on "My Computer"
Right click on the IL2 disc and select "EXPLORE"
double click on the IL2 folder that you see. This will open another page that has 14 folders inside.
THEN lastly, double click on the il2.exe with the IL2 insignia and then you hear the disc spool up and the game starts. Yes, on the launch screen you see the neat leather flying helmet, and goggles sitting on the book. And that "old" IL2 video with that familiar Russian music. VERY NEAT to see that again. I just played a couple of the original training missions again; which was neat that you could try out what the "instructor" just showed you how to do.

Jim

Jim57
02-06-2009, 04:48 PM
<BLOCKQUOTE class="ip-ubbcode-quote"><div class="ip-ubbcode-quote-title">quote:</div><div class="ip-ubbcode-quote-content">Originally posted by Tully__:

That changed in a later version somewhere because the training missions were trk file mission recordings and only worked properly in the original game v1.0. When flight models changed with patches, the training missions came out different when the recorded control inputs were played back.

As a result of this, in later versions the .trk file training missions were re-recorded as "online recordings" (.ntrk files) which wont allow you to take control part way through. The plus side to this change is that they now play back properly in any version of the game. </div></BLOCKQUOTE>

Thanks for letting me know about that. NOW I understand why it was done. Although, it was cool... BUT, now that I "know" I can run the original disc I can still play around whenever I want. http://forums.ubi.com/images/smilies/16x16_smiley-wink.gif

FoolTrottel
02-06-2009, 05:44 PM
<BLOCKQUOTE class="ip-ubbcode-quote"><div class="ip-ubbcode-quote-title">quote:</div><div class="ip-ubbcode-quote-content">You ran the original straight from the CD? </div></BLOCKQUOTE>
http://forums.ubi.com/images/smilies/10.gif The Original IL2 CD has all the files on it, as they would be after installing it. (Installation procedure basically just being a copy-job, from CD to Harddisk.)

The issues with running it from CD is that you can't change any settings and keep them (won't be saved to conf.ini as it's read-only) and can't run any campaigns... mission results cannot be saved.

But yeah, browse the CD to the folder with the IL2.exe in it, double click it and go Fly! http://forums.ubi.com/groupee_common/emoticons/icon_cool.gif

Muddy17
02-06-2009, 07:15 PM
As for studders and such with the original IL-2, I have on my tower both the original and 1946 and the 1946 run,s a whole lot better. Different code or something but with the same computer the new and improved is just that.

Jim57
02-06-2009, 07:39 PM
But doesn't it make you wonder 'why' a game called "IL-2 Sturmovik" has NO SINGLE player missions other than a campaign? It seems to be one of those things that make you go hmmmm... http://forums.ubi.com/images/smilies/16x16_smiley-surprised.gif

I am going to post my dxdiag on the other forum when I get another free moment, but now that you mention that funny thing about your setup... maybe I will go ahead and install 1946 anyway just for kicks. I am going to assume it would create a new folder called IL2 1946? and still leave the Forgotten Battles alone? Any problems with having "BOTH" IL2 games installed for a short time? Other than using up my precious HD space.

Jim

joeap
02-07-2009, 04:23 AM
<BLOCKQUOTE class="ip-ubbcode-quote"><div class="ip-ubbcode-quote-title">quote:</div><div class="ip-ubbcode-quote-content">Originally posted by Jim57:
But doesn't it make you wonder 'why' a game called "IL-2 Sturmovik" has NO SINGLE player missions other than a campaign? It seems to be one of those things that make you go hmmmm... http://forums.ubi.com/images/smilies/16x16_smiley-surprised.gif

I am going to post my dxdiag on the other forum when I get another free moment, but now that you mention that funny thing about your setup... maybe I will go ahead and install 1946 anyway just for kicks. I am going to assume it would create a new folder called IL2 1946? and still leave the Forgotten Battles alone? Any problems with having "BOTH" IL2 games installed for a short time? Other than using up my precious HD space.

Jim </div></BLOCKQUOTE>

The original Il-2 does have a lot of single player missions. These are also in the Il-2 46 disk. that in addition to the original static campaigns.

Jim57
02-07-2009, 06:26 AM
<BLOCKQUOTE class="ip-ubbcode-quote"><div class="ip-ubbcode-quote-title">quote:</div><div class="ip-ubbcode-quote-content">Originally posted by joeap:
The original Il-2 does have a lot of single player missions. These are also in the Il-2 46 disk. that in addition to the original static campaigns. </div></BLOCKQUOTE>

Thanks, that is good to know! http://forums.ubi.com/groupee_common/emoticons/icon_smile.gif

captgeo
02-08-2009, 06:19 AM
I just got the urge to play the original again....Hell I still love it http://forums.ubi.com/images/smilies/25.gif , I have PF and the FB and AEP also, but I have a problem installing the PF with the FB and AEP. I can only run PF as a stand alone. But still , Its great to play the old game again and it has single mission's.

And on a side not about Pacific fighter's, I can not get the landing gear to work on the wildcat http://forums.ubi.com/images/smilies/compsmash.gif , but all other aircraft the gear works http://forums.ubi.com/images/smilies/25.gif , friged if I know how to fix it, or just ignore it. I have reloaded it twice now, but still no joy.

I have looked around for 1946 but I can not find it in any of the local store's. I guess I will have to order it.

b2spirita
02-08-2009, 06:49 AM
Wildcat has manual gear.

captgeo
02-08-2009, 07:11 AM
<BLOCKQUOTE class="ip-ubbcode-quote"><div class="ip-ubbcode-quote-title">quote:</div><div class="ip-ubbcode-quote-content">Originally posted by b2spirita:
Wildcat has manual gear. </div></BLOCKQUOTE>

thanks for the quick responce. I tried to lower the gear manually, but I will try it again. thanks http://forums.ubi.com/images/smilies/25.gif

b2spirita
02-08-2009, 07:13 AM
I think you need to assign a key(s) first. Then press repeatedly.

captgeo
02-08-2009, 07:24 AM
<BLOCKQUOTE class="ip-ubbcode-quote"><div class="ip-ubbcode-quote-title">quote:</div><div class="ip-ubbcode-quote-content">Originally posted by b2spirita:
I think you need to assign a key(s) first. Then press repeatedly. </div></BLOCKQUOTE>

http://forums.ubi.com/images/smilies/11.gif http://forums.ubi.com/images/smilies/11.gif http://forums.ubi.com/images/smilies/25.gif http://forums.ubi.com/images/smilies/16x16_smiley-surprised.gif THANK YOU SIR works like a charm, and yes you have to keep pressing the assigned key to lower the gear!!!! http://forums.ubi.com/images/smilies/16x16_smiley-surprised.gif http://forums.ubi.com/images/smilies/11.gif http://forums.ubi.com/images/smilies/11.gif

b2spirita
02-08-2009, 07:31 AM
No problem. Now go practice some carrier landings!

Jim57
02-08-2009, 10:13 AM
I just picked up the 1946 version at Circuit City (which is going out of business) for $15. I have also seen the 1946 game at Gamestop for $19.99. Check there first; provided you have a local CC and GS store.

As for the manual landing gear on the Wildcat, I think that is what makes flying that plane so much fun!! I use Shift G to raise the gear, and Ctrl. G to lower the gear. That way, I STILL get to use the G key for the Wildcat gear. http://forums.ubi.com/images/smilies/16x16_smiley-wink.gif

Jim

captgeo
02-08-2009, 05:25 PM
<BLOCKQUOTE class="ip-ubbcode-quote"><div class="ip-ubbcode-quote-title">quote:</div><div class="ip-ubbcode-quote-content">Originally posted by Jim57:
I just picked up the 1946 version at Circuit City (which is going out of business) for $15. I have also seen the 1946 game at Gamestop for $19.99. Check there first; provided you have a local CC and GS store.

As for the manual landing gear on the Wildcat, I think that is what makes flying that plane so much fun!! I use Shift G to raise the gear, and Ctrl. G to lower the gear. That way, I STILL get to use the G key for the Wildcat gear. http://forums.ubi.com/images/smilies/16x16_smiley-wink.gif

Jim </div></BLOCKQUOTE>

Thanks , I will try that....most of the local store's here carry only newer games now, that and PS3 etc.