PDA

View Full Version : X45 problem. Did anyone had this?



OldMan____
09-10-2005, 04:42 PM
Hi.
After 1 year with my X45 it started having some weird behavior on throtle lever. When I pull it up.. the input value "shakes" between zero and the correct value. And sometimes at certain ranges I always get 20% as power.


I think it is probably a malfunction potentiometer. So , sis anyone ever opened a X45 for repair it? Any best ideas? Anyone had this kind of problem?

OldMan____
09-10-2005, 04:42 PM
Hi.
After 1 year with my X45 it started having some weird behavior on throtle lever. When I pull it up.. the input value "shakes" between zero and the correct value. And sometimes at certain ranges I always get 20% as power.


I think it is probably a malfunction potentiometer. So , sis anyone ever opened a X45 for repair it? Any best ideas? Anyone had this kind of problem?

Taylortony
09-10-2005, 05:36 PM
I heard undo the friction screw then let it calibrate without it being tight....... then retighten it, Its on the BOTTOM

DONT OPEN IT

I think the warranty is 2 YEARS so check first

you might get a new one out of them

go to the saitek website and contact them through that.... http://www.saitek.com

OldMan____
09-10-2005, 05:57 PM
Problems is I live thousands of km from nearest Saitke office. So sending it to them would cost > 100$.

Taylortony
09-10-2005, 06:53 PM
still try them, my logitech keyboard went down they sent a new mouse k/board set out for free.. I had to cut off and post them the mouse charger plug and the battery doors of the mouse and keyboard along with the keyboard feet, they went in a small envelope.... maybe saitek will do the same. when my x45 played up out of warranty they posted me the actual switches which i soldered in myself, again for free..... so as said try them, they may even pick up the postage..... nothing to loose for trying http://forums.ubi.com/groupee_common/emoticons/icon_biggrin.gif

BelaLvgosi
09-10-2005, 09:53 PM
If all of the above fails, including also deleting windows calibration in registry, I'd try to clean the pot!

On cougar world general instructions can be seen here on advisable products to do so http://forums.frugalsworld.com/vbb/showpost.php?p=388776&postcount=10 (http://forums.frugalsworld.com/vbb/showpost.php?p=388776&postcount=10) , and on http://www.saitek.ru/other/x45inside/ you can find pics of what's inside your stick.
http://www.saitek.ru/other/x45inside/RUD_selected/Itog_Big/010.jpg this is the pot, it's just like the stick's ones with some openings from were you can clean them like the ones in this pic http://www.saitek.ru/other/x45inside/RUS_selected/Itog_Big/007.jpg. When I had a x45 I had to open it after only a couple of months to clean pots, fortunately removing their spiky behaviour.
If the cure only lasts a few weeks or won't solve it, most probably the pot needs to be replaced. On saitek's forums I've seen posts were they sent parts like pots or hat switches free of charge under warranty so that the client would install them if he wished.

Cleaning analogue pots is a normal maintenance procedure to remove the dust that both bad readings and will cause them to wear them out sooner, nevermind the warranty if after it's finished you'll have a dud stick. Btw, if you take care not to break any soldure there's no way for them to know it was opened. On a side note, cougar users are even encouraged open their guts, as things like throttle detents can be adjusted.

Good luck!

DmdSeeker
09-10-2005, 09:58 PM
I had the same problem with my X45. A re-install of IL-2 fixed it.

OldMan____
09-11-2005, 09:03 AM
<BLOCKQUOTE class="ip-ubbcode-quote"><div class="ip-ubbcode-quote-title">quote:</div><div class="ip-ubbcode-quote-content">Originally posted by BelaLvgosi:
If all of the above fails, including also deleting windows calibration in registry, I'd try to clean the pot!

On cougar world general instructions can be seen here on advisable products to do so http://forums.frugalsworld.com/vbb/showpost.php?p=388776&postcount=10 (http://forums.frugalsworld.com/vbb/showpost.php?p=388776&amp;postcount=10) , and on http://www.saitek.ru/other/x45inside/ you can find pics of what's inside your stick.
http://www.saitek.ru/other/x45inside/RUD_selected/Itog_Big/010.jpg this is the pot, it's just like the stick's ones with some openings from were you can clean them like the ones in this pic http://www.saitek.ru/other/x45inside/RUS_selected/Itog_Big/007.jpg. When I had a x45 I had to open it after only a couple of months to clean pots, fortunately removing their spiky behaviour.
If the cure only lasts a few weeks or won't solve it, most probably the pot needs to be replaced. On saitek's forums I've seen posts were they sent parts like pots or hat switches free of charge under warranty so that the client would install them if he wished.

Cleaning analogue pots is a normal maintenance procedure to remove the dust that both bad readings and will cause them to wear them out sooner, nevermind the warranty if after it's finished you'll have a dud stick. Btw, if you take care not to break any soldure there's no way for them to know it was opened. On a side note, cougar users are even encouraged open their guts, as things like throttle detents can be adjusted.

Good luck! </div></BLOCKQUOTE>

Thanks. BTW, what do you clean in a potentiometer? The throttle potentiometer that can be ssen in one of the pictures don´t seem to have any exposed parts to be cleaned.


Also does anyone knows how many Ohms is that Potentiometer? The pages you linkd seems to have some infor but there is a small langauge barrier that makes hard fo me to understand it http://forums.ubi.com/groupee_common/emoticons/icon_smile.gif

Taylortony
09-11-2005, 01:19 PM
if its just dirt in it then you could get some electrical contact cleaner and try to spray a bit of that into it, it will clean the contacts and lube it, but keep it OFF THE PLASTIC