PDA

View Full Version : Das Boot Lemons

bonorye
08-30-2005, 05:03 PM
Just curious, I'm kinda new to the submarine/das boot scene. I just watched Das Boot for the first time and I'm curious; why is everybody constantly eating lemons on the sub?

MidnightFlier
08-30-2005, 05:17 PM
To prevent scurvy, I'm guessing.

WilhelmSchulz.-
08-30-2005, 05:28 PM
The only friut avaible??? Just dont try the U-Boat specal cotail. YEEUUUKKK!!!!!! http://forums.ubi.com/images/smilies/35.gif

pmckelvy
08-30-2005, 05:36 PM
Because lemons last longer than most other perishables.

Mac Out

Admiral_Donuts
08-30-2005, 06:28 PM
MidnightFlier is right; prevent scurvy. Sailors had been eating lemons and limes for hundreds of years before more practical methods were used. That's how English sailors got tagged as "Limeys." Hooda thunk it?

bonorye
08-30-2005, 06:59 PM
interesting, I'm assuming 'scurvy' means going crazy at sea or something like that. Man, that would give me major acid reflux/indigestion eating those after awhile.

Kaleun1961
08-30-2005, 07:07 PM
Scurvy is a deficiency of vitamin C, I believe. It leads to such lovely symptoms as gum disease, plus a few others which escape me now.

WilhelmSchulz.-
08-30-2005, 07:52 PM
Scurvy symtimts include, bleeding of the gums, oppening of old wounds and a few others I cant reneber.

FI-Aflak
08-30-2005, 08:48 PM
Originally posted by Kaleun1961:
Scurvy is a deficiency of vitamin C, I believe. It leads to such lovely symptoms as gum disease, plus a few others which escape me now.

sunken eyes, yellowed skin, teeth falling out . . . the works.

Caseck73
08-30-2005, 09:20 PM
Don't forget fingernails falling out, old wounds opening back up... All kindsa' fun stuff in extreme cases!

gabriel_cd
08-30-2005, 10:52 PM
A Simple Experiment on Scurvy