PDA

View Full Version : Old wives tales and IL2.....

Jumoschwanz
04-22-2010, 08:14 AM
The other night while flying IL2 4.09m online, I shot this one pilot down four times on a small server and he started yelling at me in the chat bar to "stop trim turning".

I told him I had been flying the sim for over eight years and I never used trim to turn, and I added that I did not think it helped anyone anyway.

He said that on "IL2 compare" that my aircraft should not be able to out-turn his.

So that means that automatically because IL2 compare shows his aircraft could turn better that he should shoot me down instead?

Obviously I was dealing with a noob, and a not too bright one either.

I asked him if he ever entertained the thought that he might someday run across someone who was a better pilot than he, or one that had more experience.

He said to stop BSing him, that he KNEW I was using trim to turn.

Anyway, to dispell two IL2 myths:

First, you can use trim to control your aircraft, but it is not going to help you out-fly an ace or shoot him down. There is no cheat that makes up for lack of experience or just being an average pilot when you are up against someone that is very good and experienced.

Secondly, IL2 Compare is not going to help you much either if you are up against a very good pilot who is very experienced in his aircraft. Even the same pilot in two different aircraft is not going to be able to get performance results that match IL2 Compare's because he will always be able to fly one aircraft better than the other.

I wasted my time telling the noob about how I am a terrible Yak pilot and when in one I am easily shot down by good bf109 pilots, but if I switch to the bf109, which I am experienced in, then I do much better, but I was talking to the wall...