PDA

View Full Version : Separate Throttle Control for Multi-Engine Bombers



HalisMojab1
10-18-2004, 04:47 PM
Okay, so does PACIFIC FIGHTERS allow you to set separate throttle sliders for each engine in a multi-engine aircraft, or is everything the same as in FORGOTTEN BATTLES.
Currently FB has 10 axes available:

Power
Flaps
Aileron
Elevator
Rudder
Brakes
Prop Pitch
Aileron Trim
Elevator Trim
Rudder Trim

Hs this list expanded at all in PACIFIC FIGHTERS?

Cfyr
10-19-2004, 12:17 PM
That is the million dollar questions. I've seen it asked before. But I have yet to see it answered. Would be nice to know, especially now that CH is finally shipping their multi-engine throttle quadrant.

F16_Fatboy
10-19-2004, 12:32 PM
Sorry guys not this time! http://forums.ubi.com/images/smilies/16x16_smiley-sad.gif

Pics of CH shipping! (http://www.ch-hangar.com/forum/index.php?showtopic=1108)
I have it for order!

Fatboy

HalisMojab1
10-19-2004, 01:19 PM
In that case:

Sorry Oleg, won't be buying this one.

Thanks for the info guys.

WereSnowleopard
10-19-2004, 01:34 PM
<BLOCKQUOTE class="ip-ubbcode-quote"><font size="-1">quote:</font><HR>Originally posted by HalisMojab1:
In that case:

Sorry Oleg, won't be buying this one.

Thanks for the info guys. <HR></BLOCKQUOTE>

http://forums.ubi.com/images/smilies/88.gif

HalisMojab1
10-21-2004, 05:29 PM
http://forums.ubi.com/images/smilies/mockface.gif

Philipscdrw
10-21-2004, 06:10 PM
<BLOCKQUOTE class="ip-ubbcode-quote"><font size="-1">quote:</font><HR>Originally posted by HalisMojab1:
In that case:

Sorry Oleg, won't be buying this one.

Thanks for the info guys. <HR></BLOCKQUOTE>

YOU ARE SILLY! SILLY SILLY SILLY HailsNoseJab!

I have the CHProducts yoke with 3 throttle levers. It works well because I can constantly adjust the pitch.

Maximus_G
10-21-2004, 06:44 PM
<BLOCKQUOTE class="ip-ubbcode-quote"><font size="-1">quote:</font><HR>Originally posted by HalisMojab1:
In that case:

Sorry Oleg, won't be buying this one.

Thanks for the info guys. <HR></BLOCKQUOTE>
There could be a slightly more constructive way, by using software that generates keypresses at the momen when the axis is moved. The key combination should be identical to that (configured in the game) switching the throttle control to the wanted engine.

By that way you'll get what you want. The question is about the appropriate software.

VW-IceFire
10-21-2004, 09:29 PM
Thats hardcore...no separate throttle control...wont buy...ok http://forums.ubi.com/groupee_common/emoticons/icon_biggrin.gif

ElAurens
10-21-2004, 09:47 PM
Well, I guess it's back to Asteroids for you then....

http://forums.ubi.com/images/smilies/53.gif

Snootles
10-21-2004, 09:50 PM
Does PF have flyable carriers?
Didn't think so.

Not buying it.

http://forums.ubi.com/images/smilies/784.gif http://forums.ubi.com/images/smilies/784.gif http://forums.ubi.com/images/smilies/784.gif http://forums.ubi.com/images/smilies/784.gif http://forums.ubi.com/images/smilies/784.gif http://forums.ubi.com/images/smilies/784.gif http://forums.ubi.com/images/smilies/784.gif http://forums.ubi.com/images/smilies/784.gif

HalisMojab1
10-23-2004, 09:37 AM
Actually guys, it's back to CFS2 which has individual controls for 4 individual engines already built-in.
Anyone buying the CH Quad throttle will have a Sim that completely supports its features.
http://forums.ubi.com/images/smilies/16x16_smiley-very-happy.gif
So the money I save on Pacific Fighters will go towards the CH Quad Throttle.
http://forums.ubi.com/images/smilies/mockface.gif

MEGILE
10-23-2004, 09:44 AM
Touché. Here is a smiley face. http://forums.ubi.com/groupee_common/emoticons/icon_smile.gif

Snootles
10-23-2004, 09:50 AM
CFS2 does do some stuff better than the Il-2 system, like fuel management, flaps, and starting. However, I believe the Il-2 offers a better package in totality.

sapre
10-23-2004, 10:38 AM
I cannot understand at all what the **** is so important about seperate throttle control.

Snootles
10-23-2004, 10:41 AM
Neither can I. It's not like my Il-2 experience has been destroyed because of it.

RevvinUK
10-23-2004, 12:08 PM
There is a work-around for Throttle Quadrant users mentioned in this (http://www.ch-hangar.com/content.php?article.5) review of the TQ.

HalisMojab1
10-23-2004, 04:14 PM
Well Sapre and Snootles, since you ask: the big deal about separate engine control is that it enables you to control your multi-engine aircraft better, and more realistically. If you have a damaged engine, you just pull back the throttle for that engine with the throttle lever. Currently, you have to deselect all engines, select the damaged engine, pull back your throttle to zero, deselect that engine, select all the other engines, and then reset the throttle position for them.
Or you can do what we do in CFS2, which does have multi-throttle support: you pull back the throttle on the damaged engine.
If you're flying a P-38, it's very useful to pull back the throttle on one engine to enable a tight turn, which is what real P-38 pilots used to do. In IL2, you have to go through the deselect-select process for each engine to make it happen, by which time you could be dead.
Also, you might note that big bombers like a TB3 can only be properly taxied by individual engine throttle control. This also applies to the new Mitchell.
It's significant that PACIFIC FIGHTERS has apparently introduced a key to control chocks and one for opening canopy, plus a wing-fold key too, I bet. You don't really need those, but it does make the exerience more realistic. Separate engine control is really important for control of multi-engine aircraft, and it also makes the experience more realistic.
If you can't understand that, then you should be the ones playing ASTEROIDS.

Incidentally Revvin, thanks for your advice. I do visit the CH page and have already noted your fix-around.
But my point here is that Oleg had a chance to introduce multi-engine control in Pacific Fighters, and blew it. That would have patched through the IL-2FB aircraft and enabled us all to fly the TB-3 properly. If Pacific Fighters doesn't do this, then I don't need it. I don't think it's compulsory to buy every new Flight Sim just yet.

D_River
10-23-2004, 06:06 PM
"CH Products Throttle Quadrant USB" http://forums.ubi.com/groupee_common/emoticons/icon_eek.gif
sadly I canâ´t afford it http://forums.ubi.com/groupee_common/emoticons/icon_frown.gif

Snootles
10-23-2004, 07:20 PM
You make it out to be such a painful process. Select engine, throttle, select other engine(s), throttle. I use it all the time in the Me 262. Almost impossible to taxi without differential engine settings.

HalisMojab1
10-24-2004, 02:53 AM
It is a painful process, and you are describing it incorrectly to make it seem easier.
So let's hypothesise the simplest scenario:

You are taxying in the TB3, and wish to turn left, and then continue on that new heading. You achieve this by decreasing the throttles on the port side of the aircraft, but maintaining the power on the starboard side.
This is the process:

1. Deselect Engine 4
2. Deselect Engine 3
3. Decrease Throttle to desired setting

Once on new heading:

4. Increase throttle to original setting
5. Select Engine 3
6. Select Engine 4

Throttle now controls engines equally again. (providing you got 'em all lined up correctly).

Let's see what would happen in the same situation, if Oleg had used some common sense and programmed Pacific Fighters to use the Quad throttle:

1. Decrease throttles for engines 1 and 2 simultaneously, or differentially as desired.

Once on new heading:

2. Increase throttles for engines 1 and 2 to original setting.

Oh I see how easy your method is now. Six steps instead of two. Perhaps you should contact the USAF and suggest that they adopt this method for their multi-engine aircraft - it will save them on the cost of throttle handles.
How silly of me, as the Screwedupdick above, who calls me "HailsNoseJab", pointed out. I'm just too stupid to own Pacific Fighters. So, if you'll excuse me, I'll sign off now and go fly CFS2. It has realistic throttle control for multi-engine aircraft, you know. http://forums.ubi.com/images/smilies/mockface.gif

RevvinUK
10-24-2004, 05:15 AM
Maybe a patch could add 'Select Port Engines' and 'Select Starboard Engines' commands which might be easier to add than separate engine axis control. Then you could use the workaround I posted about but of course proper multi axis support would be great.

TX-WarHawk
10-24-2004, 06:02 AM
You could ask that function in the BOB Forum, when it shows up.

HalisMojab1
10-24-2004, 04:42 PM
Lots of people were asking for that function in Oleg's ready room, months ago, me included - along with requests for individual toe brakes.
The CH people who built the Quad Throttle also spoke to Oleg about it some time ago, but nothing came of that either.
It's obviously one of those things that the majority of people, Oleg included, don't think is important.
It's a bit like the old Letterbox vs Pan & Scan debate in movies. For over 50 years, you could only get Widescreen movies on TV and tape in Pan & Scan, but now on DVD you can get anamorphic Widescreen. The audience has grown up, and the film distributors have had to grow up with them.
Heck, if Oleg does introduce Separate Throttles, what have I left to complain about?
http://forums.ubi.com/groupee_common/emoticons/icon_cool.gif

HalisMojab1
10-24-2004, 04:49 PM
Revvin - IL-2 FB does allow you to select up to 4 separate engines, or port and starboard engines. (I've no idea if Pacific Fighters has retained this - I assume it has). But you still have to go through the double loop of selecting the engines you want and de-selecting those you don't.
Effectively they enable you to assign any engine or pair of engines to your one throttle slider. It's close, but no cigar.
http://forums.ubi.com/groupee_common/emoticons/icon_cool.gif

Snootles
10-24-2004, 06:27 PM
<BLOCKQUOTE class="ip-ubbcode-quote"><font size="-1">quote:</font><HR> I'll sign off now and go fly CFS2. It has realistic throttle control for multi-engine aircraft, you know. <HR></BLOCKQUOTE>

<BLOCKQUOTE class="ip-ubbcode-quote"><font size="-1">quote:</font><HR> Heck, if Oleg does introduce Separate Throttles, what have I left to complain about? <HR></BLOCKQUOTE>

So the absolute only reason you play CFS2 is because of the throttle control? Nothing else is important to you?

Korolov
10-24-2004, 06:53 PM
HalisMojab1, you're making it WAY too much harder than it has to be.

Bind keys to select engines 1 - 4 (or farther - I use ALT + number line) for big 4 engined bombers and higher.

Bind keys to select all engines, select left engines, and select right engines for smaller twin engined planes. These also work for larger, quad + engined planes.

Start engines 1 - 4, throttle up left or right side engines, then select all engines, and away you go. You made it WAY too hard.

BlakJakOfSpades
10-24-2004, 11:28 PM
so what you're saying is you realize there is a simple solution, which would serve your purposes of making a tighter turn during flight or taxiing, yet you refuse to use it because you insist on having it implemented directly into the game? uhhh...ok, your loss i guess.

Von_Queca
10-26-2004, 04:36 AM
IMHO, I don't really think that this subject is worth the effort of any discussion given the rather poor characteristics of IL, and now PF's Flight Model regarding multi-prop aircraft.

You can easily test how poor this simulators are in terms of assymetric thrust, or engine-out performance. Killing even the left (on clockwise rotating engines) has no significative inpact on any aircraft.

If you reffer to, say, the B25 POH you'll find how hard it can be for a pilot to cope with engine-out situations...

So, I use PF just as I used IL2 - flying the multi-engine aircraft like if theyr were singles...