PDA

View Full Version : Total noob help...

Calii
04-25-2006, 08:07 PM
So I recently got a new joystick. One that has rudder control, and thats something I have been missing for a couple of years. With this new joystick, Ive found an interest in getting back into flight sims as well. The closest thing to a flight sim Ive played in the last five or six years almost, have been the Battlefield games, and Heroes of the Pacific. Not Sim at all. So today, I checked out Microsofts Combat Flight Simulator, and IL2. I wasnt at all impressed with Microsfots, everything just felt to clunky. But IL2, I had heard alot about, and looks really good.

Problem is, Im getting really frustrated. I have the demo, and the training isnt available in the trial version. I tried to just learn by doing, and after several tries, I eventually got into the air, but soon found myself in the deep blue. My first and foremost problem lies in starting up. Once I get the engine on and at full power, the plane, no matter what mission Im flying, or what plane Im using, always turns right. The rudder control is completely neutral, and I even tried locking the rear wheel. but hte same thing happens. This adds alot of challenge to trying to get off the ground, as Im fighting more directions than I should. Is this normal? I really dont know if its supposed to happen or not. I guess no, but, yeah, I cant find a decent explanation for it. The rest of my problems lie more in general control more than anything, but I would like to know if its possible to invert rudder control. Im used to twisting left to turn left, and right to turn right. I could cope with it, but switching between different games with different rudder setups would be a pain. And finally, at least to start off, is there a way to simplify things at all? To try and tie multiple controls together in game, so you could have a less realistic experience, but it would be easeir to learn to fly?