PDA

View Full Version : Aircraft trim



Vinokurov
04-12-2004, 06:01 PM
Hi everyone,

Since I started flying in IL2-FB, I came across a problem I could not solve so far. How do I trim my aircraft. I use the keys provided with the manual for Elevator Trim etc. but nothing works. It still goes up or down. I adjust the engine power and stick to counter act it. This gives my a sore arm!
It seems all other keys are working.
Is it aircraft specific?
I fly IL2 and BF-109 early versions.

When do I adjust it? while flying straight or up or down.

Any help would be greatly appreciated.

Thank you,

Vik

Vinokurov
04-12-2004, 06:01 PM
Hi everyone,

Since I started flying in IL2-FB, I came across a problem I could not solve so far. How do I trim my aircraft. I use the keys provided with the manual for Elevator Trim etc. but nothing works. It still goes up or down. I adjust the engine power and stick to counter act it. This gives my a sore arm!
It seems all other keys are working.
Is it aircraft specific?
I fly IL2 and BF-109 early versions.

When do I adjust it? while flying straight or up or down.

Any help would be greatly appreciated.

Thank you,

Vik

pudsterIV
04-12-2004, 06:12 PM
Before you adust trim, establish the ac in the desired attitude, ie in the climb, straight and level. Once established at desired attitude and speed then trim. Simply trim off the pressure you feel in your stick. If you enter a climb from straight and level you will need to trim again etc.

LEXX_Luthor
04-12-2004, 06:40 PM
Also, try mapping trim to mouse wheel, works great for me.

__________________
http://ubbxforums.ubi.com/images/smiley/10.gif Flyable Swedish "Gladiator" listed as J8A ...in Aces Expansion Pack


"You will still have FB , you will lose nothing" ~WUAF_Badsight
"I had actually pre ordered CFS3 and I couldnt wait..." ~Bearcat99
"Gladiator and Falco, elegant weapons of a more civilized age" ~ElAurens
:
"Damn.....Where you did read about Spitfire made from a wood?
Close this book forever and don't open anymore!" ~Oleg_Maddox http://ubbxforums.ubi.com/images/smiley/16x16_smiley-surprised.gif

Tully__
04-12-2004, 06:53 PM
There are a few aircraft that simply don't have trim. Those that spring instantly to my mind are the Bi-1 rocket and the I-16.

Another thing to check is that the trim control are actually assigned. Go into the control assignment screen (controls button in the game main menu), find the trim control and check that there are keys assigned.

BTW, trim responds slowly. You'll need to hold the key down for a few tenths of a second rather than just tap it.

=================================================


http://members.optusnet.com.au/tully_78th/sig.jpg

IL2 Forums Moderator
Forum Terms of Use (http://www.ubi.com/US/Info/TermsOfUse.htm)

Salut
Tully

Seahawk89
04-13-2004, 04:08 AM
"Also, try mapping trim to mouse wheel, works great for me."
Good idea but I can not get it to map. Any tips?

CaptainGelo
04-13-2004, 04:15 AM
<BLOCKQUOTE class="ip-ubbcode-quote"><font size="-1">quote:</font><HR>Originally posted by Seahawk89:
"Also, try mapping trim to mouse wheel, works great for me."
Good idea but I can not get it to map. Any tips?<HR></BLOCKQUOTE>
1st try map it where u mar axes, not buttons,if it doesnt help then
Download new Driver for your mouse..and try again... hope it helped

http://img23.photobucket.com/albums/v68/wolf4ever/Animation3.gif
"Big Bills suck, small Bills don't"&lt;----WRONG!!!! all Bills suck http://ubbxforums.ubi.com/infopop/emoticons/icon_wink.gif

Phoenix2020
04-13-2004, 04:37 AM
Hi guys,

I have a question about trim as well.

I use the X45 Joystick\Throttle combo - is it possible to map the trim (pitch and yaw) to the two 'wheel buttons' on the throttle from FB's controls screen? - I an't get it to work for me.

(I don't use the Saitek config software because of a bizarre problem - when it's installed the throttle in FB goes from 20% straight to 100% - there is no in-between settings. This doesn't happen when it's unistalled - very odd.)

Anyway, any info would be appreciated.

Cheers

Phoenix

Seahawk89
04-13-2004, 04:38 AM
Got it, scrolled down to the bottom of the controls page and found the setting. Works well and will free up a hat on my throttle. Thanks oleg86.

CaptainGelo
04-13-2004, 04:41 AM
<BLOCKQUOTE class="ip-ubbcode-quote"><font size="-1">quote:</font><HR>Originally posted by Seahawk89:
Got it, scrolled down to the bottom of the controls page and found the setting. Works well and will free up a hat on my throttle. Thanks oleg86.<HR></BLOCKQUOTE>


http://ubbxforums.ubi.com/infopop/emoticons/icon_smile.gifany time http://ubbxforums.ubi.com/infopop/emoticons/icon_razz.gif

http://img23.photobucket.com/albums/v68/wolf4ever/Animation3.gif
"Big Bills suck, small Bills don't"&lt;----WRONG!!!! all Bills suck http://ubbxforums.ubi.com/infopop/emoticons/icon_wink.gif

Tully__
04-14-2004, 05:22 AM
<BLOCKQUOTE class="ip-ubbcode-quote"><font size="-1">quote:</font><HR>Originally posted by Phoenix2020:
Hi guys,

I have a question about trim as well.

I use the X45 Joystick\Throttle combo - is it possible to map the trim (pitch and yaw) to the two 'wheel buttons' on the throttle from FB's controls screen? - I an't get it to work for me.

(I don't use the Saitek config software because of a bizarre problem - when it's installed the throttle in FB goes from 20% straight to 100% - there is no in-between settings. This doesn't happen when it's unistalled - very odd.)

Anyway, any info would be appreciated.

Cheers

Phoenix<HR></BLOCKQUOTE>Phoenix, right at the bottom of the controls assignment screen in the section under the HOTAS heading, not further up.

=================================================


http://members.optusnet.com.au/tully_78th/sig.jpg

IL2 Forums Moderator
Forum Terms of Use (http://www.ubi.com/US/Info/TermsOfUse.htm)

Salut
Tully

Extreme_One
04-14-2004, 05:32 AM
<BLOCKQUOTE class="ip-ubbcode-quote"><font size="-1">quote:</font><HR>Originally posted by LEXX_Luthor:
Also, try mapping trim to mouse wheel, works great for me.

__________________
http://ubbxforums.ubi.com/images/smiley/10.gif Flyable Swedish _"Gladiator"_ listed as _J8A_ _...in Aces Expansion Pack_


_"You will still have FB , you will lose _nothing"__ ~WUAF_Badsight
_"I had actually pre ordered CFS3 and I couldnt wait..."_ ~Bearcat99
_"Gladiator and Falco, elegant weapons of a more civilized age"_ ~ElAurens
:
_"Damn.....Where you did read about Spitfire made from a wood?
Close this book forever and don't open anymore_!_"_ ~Oleg_Maddox http://ubbxforums.ubi.com/images/smiley/16x16_smiley-surprised.gif<HR></BLOCKQUOTE>

Don't do that if you use external views though!!! If you don't know why - try it and see http://ubbxforums.ubi.com/infopop/emoticons/icon_wink.gif

S! Simon
'''''''''''''''''''''''''''''''''''''''''''''''''' '''''''''''''''''''''''''''''''''''''''''''''''''' '''''''''''''''''''''''''''''''''''''''''''''''''' '''''''''''''''''''''''''''''''''''''''''''''''''' '''''''''''''''''''''''''''''''''''''''''''''''''' '''''
Download the USAAF & RAF campaign folders here (http://www.netwings.org/library/Forgotten_Battles/Missions/index-10.html).

Download "North and South" including the Japanese speech-pack here (http://www.netwings.org/library/Forgotten_Battles/Missions/index-12.html). *NEW*

http://server5.uploadit.org/files/simplysimon-spit_sig.jpg