PDA

View Full Version : TI-4600, too old for perfect setting??



mortoma
09-10-2004, 09:50 AM
I have been flying IL2/FB for a long time, and have a dated computer, so I never even tried to run high graphics level. I mean I can barely get acceptable frames playing at low setttings like I do. But the other day I got a wild hair up a bodily orifice and decided to give it a shot just for the heck of it, just to see what it looks like, not intending to actually try flying in perfect mode. But in OGL and set to perfect, I get weird, psychodelic colors and everything looks too strange and distorted to see much. I tried several times and even rebooted and tried it, still happens. Is a TI-4600 Ultra just too old to get to perfect mode?? Just wondering!! Not really important since I could not play it in perfect anyway, even if it could look normal, it would be a slide show. Anybody out there able to use the perfect mode with a TI-4600??

mortoma
09-10-2004, 09:50 AM
I have been flying IL2/FB for a long time, and have a dated computer, so I never even tried to run high graphics level. I mean I can barely get acceptable frames playing at low setttings like I do. But the other day I got a wild hair up a bodily orifice and decided to give it a shot just for the heck of it, just to see what it looks like, not intending to actually try flying in perfect mode. But in OGL and set to perfect, I get weird, psychodelic colors and everything looks too strange and distorted to see much. I tried several times and even rebooted and tried it, still happens. Is a TI-4600 Ultra just too old to get to perfect mode?? Just wondering!! Not really important since I could not play it in perfect anyway, even if it could look normal, it would be a slide show. Anybody out there able to use the perfect mode with a TI-4600??

NorrisMcWhirter
09-10-2004, 09:55 AM
Hi,

I rarely use high settings but I get about 75FPS average (130 max, 35min) now with this setup:

AMD2400+
ECS K7S5A+ MB
512MB
XFX GeForce 4 Ti4200 (64MB, 4x)
Win XP

OGL
1024x768x32
All settings are low except:
View distance (high)
Object detail (normal)
Lighting (normal)

Setting AA to 2x in the Nvidea front end really boosted things..I used to get ~55 tops before.


Ta,
norris

================================================== ==========

: Chris Morris - Blue Jam :
http://cabinessence.cream.org/

: More irreverence :
http://www.tvgohome.com/

: You've seen them... :
www.chavscum.co.uk (http://www.chavscum.co.uk)

'Bugs? What bugs?'
'AAA steals online kills, crash landing if good landing but out of fuel, muzzle flashes, kill given for planes that have landed OK, AI steals offline kills, gauges not working, Spitfire never overheats, FW190 view, P63 damage model, weird collision modelling...'
'Yeah, but look on the bright side - at least the 0.50s are fixed!'
Moral: $$$ + whining = anything is possible

El Turo
09-10-2004, 10:04 AM
Updated drivers?

I have a ti4200 and can run perfect settings.. just with krap frames.

Callsign "Turo" in IL2:FB & WWIIOL
______________________
This place
was once
a place
of worship
I thought,
reloading my rifle.

~V.

Mjr_Samuel
09-10-2004, 11:07 AM
Hey guys, I have a Ti 4200 and I'm running perfect mode to. Like a charm it goes!!

El Turo
09-10-2004, 11:10 AM
With tweaked config or straight-up perfect? What resolution and other settings? It's hard to imagine the 4200 going full-balls-out perfect with playable frame rates.

I have mine set to excellent across the board and one resolution notch below 1600x1200x32 (forget the exact figure offhand).

Callsign "Turo" in IL2:FB & WWIIOL
______________________
This place
was once
a place
of worship
I thought,
reloading my rifle.

~V.

TgD Thunderbolt56
09-10-2004, 11:21 AM
Sadly, without some serious CPU horsepower and some tweaking I don't think "perfect" can even run much above 4-10 fps.

TB


Our FB server info: http://www.greatergreen.com/il2

Maj_Death
09-10-2004, 12:51 PM
I know the problem you are talking about, you must go into IL2 setup and turn on multitexturing. And a TI-4600 should run perfect settings with no problems at all. When FB was first released that was one of the best cards availible.

----------------------------------------------------------------------------
Spelling mistakes left in intentionally to annoy tttiger.

Maj_Death here, I/JG1_Death at HL

I build COOPs and DF maps. If you would like some of them you can get them atmy COOP page (http://www14.brinkster.com/triggerhappy770/default.htm)

I/JG1 Oesau is recruiting axis pilots who prefer to fly maximum realism. We accept both veterans and rookies. We fly in VEF2, VWF and may join other online wars in the future. I am currently the acting CO, if you are interested in joining please PM me here or page me in HL.
http://www.bestanimations.com/Humans/Skulls/Skull-06.gif

Kwiatos
09-10-2004, 01:42 PM
I have 4600 but i doubt these card could work with good fps in perfect mode. In 1024x768, exelent mode and AAx2 fps is not too good - average 20-35 fps depend of map, mirror etc.
XP 2800+, Msi Kt333 Ultra, 1Gb Ram, Gf 4600 MSi 128 Mb, Win XP.

Maple_Tiger
09-10-2004, 02:37 PM
<BLOCKQUOTE class="ip-ubbcode-quote"><font size="-1">quote:</font><HR>Originally posted by mortoma:
I have been flying IL2/FB for a long time, and have a dated computer, so I never even tried to run high graphics level. I mean I can barely get acceptable frames playing at low setttings like I do. But the other day I got a wild hair up a bodily orifice and decided to give it a shot just for the heck of it, just to see what it looks like, not intending to actually try flying in perfect mode. But in OGL and set to perfect, I get weird, psychodelic colors and everything looks too strange and distorted to see much. I tried several times and even rebooted and tried it, still happens. Is a TI-4600 Ultra just too old to get to perfect mode?? Just wondering!! Not really important since I could not play it in perfect anyway, even if it could look normal, it would be a slide show. Anybody out there able to use the perfect mode with a TI-4600??<HR></BLOCKQUOTE>


4600 ti is a decent card, but getting out of date. I think it is more likely you'r CPU or RAM that is the bottle neck.

I normaly fly around on Prefect(average35FPS).

With Stencil buffer off and Just Excelant setting, I can get about 50/55 in C/P or an avevrage of 65fps.


System,

3000XP Barton.

4600 ti 128mb.

PC 2700 1 gig.

SB live.

Resolution 1024 by 768.

85 refresh rate.

2x AA and 2x AF.

Higher Performace.

Midmap set to Best Performace.

Display driver 45.23...

Capt. 361stMapleTiger.
http://img52.photobucket.com/albums/v158/Maple_Tiger/FBAA2.gif
Proud member of the FBAA and Nutty Philosohpy Club.
-----------------------------
The more less you'r travelling, the further back in time you go.


I am hear,
but not quite there.
I am near,
Come if you dare.

EURO_Snoopy
09-10-2004, 04:04 PM
Have a look at this old FPS test page (http://www.airwarfare.com/Sims/FB/fb_fpsdata.htm) to see what FB users were getting from their setups.

http://airwarfare.com/AWX/Webpage%20Graphics/AWsig.jpg

Xiolablu3
09-10-2004, 04:19 PM
The TI4600 is a great card. Still nicely powerfull even tho its quite old.

Your problem sounds like a driver problem. Update your drivers and see how you go.

I odnt think you will get perfect settings running well (above 30fps) tho. But then again who needs perfect settings.

Tully__
09-11-2004, 02:45 AM
I just ran the Black Death track on perfect at 1024x768 on my P4 2.0GHz, 768MB, Ti4200 128MB with 52.16 drivers and got

avg 18 max 34 min 6

Though not great that's playable in my book, partlarly as Black Death is far more demanding than most missions.

The Ti4600 should do much better.

=================================================


http://members.optusnet.com.au/tully_78th/sig.jpg

Tully's X-45 profile (SST drivers) (http://members.optusnet.com.au/tully_78th/fb.zip)

Salut
Tully

doc80
09-11-2004, 05:53 AM
i got ti4600 128mb can get 40-50fps in execlent
just changed to 6562win2k_xp_[Guru3D.com]
my 3d mark went up from 1712 to 1739
cant fault em no probs with em at all so far

amd xp2400
128 ti4600
1gb 2100ddr
abit kr7a-133r mb
audigy 1 5.1 s/c

Aaron_GT
09-11-2004, 06:05 AM
"I just ran the Black Death track on perfect at 1024x768 on my P4 2.0GHz, 768MB, Ti4200 128MB with 52.16 drivers and got

avg 18 max 34 min 6"

I used to get about 29 fps on 'average/high' type settings on my Geforce 3 on a very similar spec machine other than that. I actually get the same with my ATI 9800 Pro! But with 4x AA I the FPS doesn't drop. I suspect that the Black Death track is more CPU limited than anything else as on lighter weight tracks (p40 v zero) I get more like 60fps.

mortoma
09-11-2004, 12:02 PM
Well I solved the problem. The TI-4600 can indeed run in perfect mode after all. I had to turn on multitexture and stencil buffer, and was able to see beautiful reflections of trees on the river banks and the sun glinting off the water. I had to go up to 4X AA to get it to look better, normally I run in 2X or Quincunx AA. I also turned on texture compression ( 16 bit ), which I normally turn off. To test I went into QMB, selected a 109G6AS, and then flew down to the river in front of me and would then fly just above the river for a long ways. During this period I got 19 and 20 FPS consistently, but if I attempted to select 4 planes against 4 enemy, I got choppy results, was kind of stuttery during combat. Strangely, with this perfect mode set up like I had it, every time I would exit FB back to desktop, I would get a kernel32.dll invalid page fault, probably something to do with Win98SE which it can't handle well. But since I can't run good frames in this mode I will put everything back to low settings like I'm used to. It was just an experiment, I just wanted to see what perfect mode looked like on my machine. Very nice looking but unplayable with many planes in the air. My machine is a AMD XP-2100 ( with Win98SE ) and the old TI-4600 Ultra and a 1st gen. Audigy sound card. I also use two sticks of 512Mb PC-2700, which has to run at PC-2100 speeds in an old Asus A7M-266 motherboard. I built this machine way back in the old days, in 2001. It was tip top of the line in early 2001!!! When I built it I had a Athlon 1.2GHz Thunderbird in it and upgraded my processor to the XP-2100 in 2003.

bird_brain
09-11-2004, 12:36 PM
I have almost the same rig with an Athalon 2100+, 1Gb of RAM & a Ti4600 128MB. I run at 1280x960 on a 22" monitor with everything maxed out except "perfect" is notched back 1.

I have AF & AA on 2x and I occassionally get stutters with 24+ aircraft in the same airspace & AA going off, but it is almost always smooth.

I am about to build a new 3200+ machine with faster RAM, liquid cooling & my Radeon 9800 Pro that I already have to fly PF. http://ubbxforums.ubi.com/infopop/emoticons/icon_biggrin.gif

http://jyarbrough.homestead.com/Paper.jpg
"The Blue" Desert Campaign, The Hell Hawks Ardennes Campaign &
The World's Greatest Aces Collection are all *here* (http://jyarbrough.homestead.com/Files.html)

Udidtoo
09-11-2004, 12:47 PM
As you have found out its the difference between doable and enjoyable.
With my old system of BFG 4600 ti and SB live I would switch over to perfect with ever new driver or patch. Think hmmmmm pretty. Put up with about 5 minutes of choppy, freezing missed shots and collisions, then switch back to excellent and go enjoy some flying.
Just think. 5 years from now and we will be useing something called Longhorn 3 and our rigs will auto max FB/aep PF settings and we will tell newbies about how we had to turn down eye candy for good frames and they will listen like we do when the oldtimers tell us about how they had to walk thru 2 feet of snow to school in the summer and it was uphill....both ways. http://ubbxforums.ubi.com/infopop/emoticons/icon_wink.gif

..............................
I always have just enough fuel to arrive at the scene of my crash.

Dihnekis
09-11-2004, 02:12 PM
I just ordered IL 2, and I hope it runs good on my

XP 3000+
512 PC2700
Geforce4 Ti 4600
Audigy 2 ZS

mortoma
09-11-2004, 02:27 PM
<BLOCKQUOTE class="ip-ubbcode-quote"><font size="-1">quote:</font><HR>Originally posted by Dihnekis:
I just ordered IL 2, and I hope it runs good on my

XP 3000+
512 PC2700
Geforce4 Ti 4600
Audigy 2 ZS<HR></BLOCKQUOTE>Heck, you will be able to run pretty good but by the time I was at 3000Mhz, I'd upgrade the TI-4600 to at least a Nvidia 5700 or 5900 if I were you and double the RAM if you can.

JaBo_HH-BlackSheep
09-11-2004, 05:11 PM
have you ordered IL-2 Sturmovik, or IL-2 Forgotten Battles ?

http://home.arcor.de/sebastianleitiger/other%20Stuff/we%20rule%20your%20world3.jpg (http://www.hell-hounds.de)

SkyChimp
09-11-2004, 05:29 PM
I've got a Ti-4600 and I run perfect setting with no problems whatsoever. The Ti-4600 is still a great card.

Regards,
SkyChimp
http://members.cox.net/us.fighters/SkyChimp_flying.jpg

[]_---_[] KITT
09-12-2004, 04:51 AM
Yes Ti 4600 is a great card. Wanted to buy it once but couldn't find it anywhere in a PC centre.

http://img.photobucket.com/albums/v319/roh_kudus/Sig_Tiger.gif
"And if we are able thus to attack an inferior force with a superior one, our opponents will be in dire straits" Sun Tzu

mortoma
09-12-2004, 10:29 AM
You guys are right TI-4600 ain't too bad but I stuck in my brothers Nvidia 5700 Ultra in my computer for a short test and it looked better and gave me better frames than my TI-4600 does. But not by a long shot. Frames were only an average of 2 or 3 FPS higher and it only looked a tad bit better. Like some of the other guys have been saying, it's more likely my processor speed that's
holding me back.

SkyChimp
09-12-2004, 10:46 AM
I'll upgrade on PF comes out, them mainly for the water. I'm not upgrading for BOB.

Regards,
SkyChimp
http://members.cox.net/us.fighters/SkyChimp_flying.jpg