PDA

View Full Version : IL2 1946 No Multiplayer



stitchjones1971
01-16-2007, 05:28 PM
Hello Everyone,

I just bought IL2 1946. I have been able to connect and play on several servers via Hyperlobby.

Unfortunately, I am unable to connect to the server when I select the "Multiplayer" prompt in the IL2 1946 game itself. It just says connecting to server but nothing happens.

I am currently running version 4.071m. Any suggestions?

Copperhead310th
01-16-2007, 05:31 PM
Originally posted by stitchjones1971:
Hello Everyone,

I just bought IL2 1946. I have been able to connect and play on several servers via Hyperlobby.

Unfortunately, I am unable to connect to the server when I select the "Multiplayer" prompt in the IL2 1946 game itself. It just says connecting to server but nothing happens.

I am currently running version 4.071m. Any suggestions?

Using a router or firewall?<div class="ev_tpc_signature">

http://home.cogeco.ca/~jkinley/ubisig.jpg
Former CO of 310thVFS, (Retired) now part time
190 jock & full time target drone for JG27
http://premium1.uploadit.org/bsamania//2006-02-23_012924_pilot11.gif Flying on line as JG27_Copperhead

|^^^^^^^^^^^^|
| JG27_Copperhead | '|""";.., ___.
|_..._...______===|= _|__|..., ] |
"(@ )'(@ )""""*|(@ )(@ )*****(@
"Keep on Truck'n!"

VFS-22_SPaRX
01-16-2007, 05:34 PM
Are you putting the Port number in after the IP address. IE...

111.222.333.444:21000<div class="ev_tpc_signature">

SPaRX

www.war-clouds.com (http://www.war-clouds.com)

"Why do they call it common sense when it is so uncommon!?!?"

George "Lefty" Whitman: "it is not the plane, it is not the pilot. It is the opportunity. The best pilot in the world is useless if he got surprised or caught in a bad position. "

Copperhead310th
01-16-2007, 05:41 PM
Sparx i think he's saying he's trying to connect through hypperlobby & not direct ip.<div class="ev_tpc_signature">

http://home.cogeco.ca/~jkinley/ubisig.jpg
Former CO of 310thVFS, (Retired) now part time
190 jock & full time target drone for JG27
http://premium1.uploadit.org/bsamania//2006-02-23_012924_pilot11.gif Flying on line as JG27_Copperhead

|^^^^^^^^^^^^|
| JG27_Copperhead | '|""";.., ___.
|_..._...______===|= _|__|..., ] |
"(@ )'(@ )""""*|(@ )(@ )*****(@
"Keep on Truck'n!"

stitchjones1971
01-16-2007, 05:46 PM
Thanks for the quick response. Everything works fine through Hyperlobby. The problem I am having is when I load up IL2 1946 and then select "Multiplayer" from the menu. When I go to join the server, it shows as the server:

:21000

I click on connect and it says "connecting to server" but nothing happens.

Xiolablu3
01-16-2007, 05:47 PM
Like CH said, it sounds like your firewall is not letting the traffic through.

Are you using Windows default firewall? DO you use ZOnealarm or any other Anti virus prog which contains a firewall?

I suspect if you alt-tab out, you may have a message saying 'Do you want to let Il2.exe access the internet?' Click Yes.<div class="ev_tpc_signature">

--------------------------------------------------------------------
"I despise what you say; I will defend to the death your right to say it."
-Voltaire

stitchjones1971
01-16-2007, 05:51 PM
I just turned the firewall off (Microsoft Service Pack 2) and it still doesn't work. Under my firewall exception list, it has the follwoing:

il2fb

I tried to add IL2 1946 to the exceptions and it says it is already on the list.

I have a Vonage router, but other than that I have a regular cable modem.

VFS-22_SPaRX
01-16-2007, 06:20 PM
Thanks for the quick response. Everything works fine through Hyperlobby. The problem I am having is when I load up IL2 1946 and then select "Multiplayer" from the menu. When I go to join the server, it shows as the server:

:21000

I click on connect and it says "connecting to server" but nothing happens.

That is because you need to enter the IP address of the server you are wanting to join. IL2 does not have a lobby built into it. You have to use an External Lobby to find games.<div class="ev_tpc_signature">

SPaRX

www.war-clouds.com (http://www.war-clouds.com)

"Why do they call it common sense when it is so uncommon!?!?"

George "Lefty" Whitman: "it is not the plane, it is not the pilot. It is the opportunity. The best pilot in the world is useless if he got surprised or caught in a bad position. "

Xiolablu3
01-16-2007, 06:24 PM
Hyperlobby is the way to do it mate, forget about UBI.com<div class="ev_tpc_signature">

--------------------------------------------------------------------
"I despise what you say; I will defend to the death your right to say it."
-Voltaire

Copperhead310th
01-16-2007, 06:24 PM
Ok well Sparx is eight then. your not putting in the entire IP address to which ever server your trying to commect to.

If i'm getting this right.

Going in through Hypper is no problem. just going in by direct ip.

So when you click connect the server address is :21000.

you must add the entire address.
So in front of :21000 add this:

111.222.333.444

Wich will be the Ip address to the server.
:21000 is the listening port and 111.222.333.444 is the direct ip address of the server your connesting to.
so inthe box where :21000 is should look like this before you click CONNECT TO SEVER.
<span class="ev_code_RED">111.222.333.444:21000</span>

That Ip Address will connect you right to Warclouds. and it works the same way to direct connect to any servers. provideed you have the right ip. The port number will almost always be :21000.<div class="ev_tpc_signature">

http://home.cogeco.ca/~jkinley/ubisig.jpg
Former CO of 310thVFS, (Retired) now part time
190 jock & full time target drone for JG27
http://premium1.uploadit.org/bsamania//2006-02-23_012924_pilot11.gif Flying on line as JG27_Copperhead

|^^^^^^^^^^^^|
| JG27_Copperhead | '|""";.., ___.
|_..._...______===|= _|__|..., ] |
"(@ )'(@ )""""*|(@ )(@ )*****(@
"Keep on Truck'n!"

stitchjones1971
01-16-2007, 06:24 PM
Thanks again. I was doing some troubleshooting and I came to the same conclusion. I'm sorry I put you throught the same trouble. It seems that 21000 is the port and that you are on your own as far as finding an IP address to input.

It seems that Hyperlobbly is a convenient place to connect to the various IP addresses out there, therefore obviating the need to type in the individual IP address plus the port number while in the IL2 1946 game. Hperlobby simply boots up the game for you and connects you to the individual server.

Quite an education for someone who has been playing CFS3 for the last two years!! Thanks for looking into it.

Taylortony
01-16-2007, 06:28 PM
look at your other post for the answer

Copperhead310th
01-16-2007, 06:40 PM
Originally posted by stitchjones1971:
Thanks again. I was doing some troubleshooting and I came to the same conclusion. I'm sorry I put you throught the same trouble. It seems that 21000 is the port and that you are on your own as far as finding an IP address to input.

It seems that Hyperlobbly is a convenient place to connect to the various IP addresses out there, therefore obviating the need to type in the individual IP address plus the port number while in the IL2 1946 game. Hperlobby simply boots up the game for you and connects you to the individual server.

Quite an education for someone who has been playing CFS3 for the last two years!! Thanks for looking into it.

CFS3! Oh dear God help you! thank the Lord it's not too late. we can still save you!

You'll aslo need this little preogram here:
Teamspeak- Free Voice Communications. (http://www.goteamspeak.com/)

And this one so you can tell who's Talking in the server:
TSO - TeamSpeak Overlay (http://www.teamspeakoverlay.com/)

Seriosly. you'll find that IL-2 and that POS excuse for a combat flight simulator are worlds apart.<div class="ev_tpc_signature">

http://home.cogeco.ca/~jkinley/ubisig.jpg
Former CO of 310thVFS, (Retired) now part time
190 jock & full time target drone for JG27
http://premium1.uploadit.org/bsamania//2006-02-23_012924_pilot11.gif Flying on line as JG27_Copperhead

|^^^^^^^^^^^^|
| JG27_Copperhead | '|""";.., ___.
|_..._...______===|= _|__|..., ] |
"(@ )'(@ )""""*|(@ )(@ )*****(@
"Keep on Truck'n!"

stitchjones1971
01-16-2007, 07:17 PM
Thanks for the tips. Yeah, IL2 is much more difficult that CFS3, but then again I've only had it for one full day. I have gotten so used to CFS3 that it is going to take a while to ramp up to IL2. I have shot down over 5000 opponents on CFS3 in the last two years and I think I've only gotten one guy on IL2 (he was on my team)!!

Copperhead310th
01-16-2007, 07:24 PM
Originally posted by stitchjones1971:
Thanks for the tips. Yeah, IL2 is much more difficult that CFS3, but then again I've only had it for one full day. I have gotten so used to CFS3 that it is going to take a while to ramp up to IL2. I have shot down over 5000 opponents on CFS3 in the last two years and I think I've only gotten one guy on IL2 (he was on my team)!!

See! only your 1st day and your doing better than me and i've got 5 years in this sim under my belt damnit! http://forums.ubi.com/images/smilies/16x16_smiley-mad.gif
yeah i stink. that's why all my squadmates use me for target practice. http://forums.ubi.com/images/smilies/51.gif<div class="ev_tpc_signature">

http://home.cogeco.ca/~jkinley/ubisig.jpg
Former CO of 310thVFS, (Retired) now part time
190 jock & full time target drone for JG27
http://premium1.uploadit.org/bsamania//2006-02-23_012924_pilot11.gif Flying on line as JG27_Copperhead

|^^^^^^^^^^^^|
| JG27_Copperhead | '|""";.., ___.
|_..._...______===|= _|__|..., ] |
"(@ )'(@ )""""*|(@ )(@ )*****(@
"Keep on Truck'n!"

Xiolablu3
01-16-2007, 07:36 PM
Mate, try the servers with easier settings to start out.


On Hyperlobby, when you click the server, you get a screen with a list of options with ticks in boxes. Pick a server with icons, cockpit off (ctrl f1) and externals (f2-f7) to start out.

No need to jump right into the deep end. When you have mastered that, switch to cockpit always on servers.<div class="ev_tpc_signature">

--------------------------------------------------------------------
"I despise what you say; I will defend to the death your right to say it."
-Voltaire