PDA

View Full Version : Finally got rid of my black bands in 16:9 using my Apple Cinema at 1920x1200



CombatAce_MK2
02-28-2006, 10:18 PM
I read more than one thread about the lack of 16:9 support for Il2 (specifically getting rid of the black bands,I know part of the screen is cut off regardless). I have since come to find out you can alter the conf file and set SaveAspect=0 this is in case your native resolution does not automatically get rid of the black bands.

I actually found another way via Stab 6.0. In the resolutions file you need to designate a "0" instead of a "1" in the middle of the resolution as outlined below:

[Resolutions]
FileVersion=6.0.0.3

[CRT]
Count=8
Resolution0=640 480 1 640x480
Resolution1=800 600 1 800x600
Resolution2=1024 768 1 1024x768
Resolution3=1152 864 1 1152x864
Resolution4=1280 960 1 1280x960
Resolution5=1600 1200 1 1600x1200
Resolution6=1792 1344 1 1792x1344
Resolution7=1920 1200 1 1920x1200

[TFT]
; IL-2 Sturmovik Forgotten Battles + AEP and Pacific Fighters only
Count=11
Resolution0=640 480 1 640x480
Resolution1=800 600 1 800x600
Resolution2=1024 768 1 1024x768
Resolution3=1152 864 1 1152x864
Resolution4=1280 960 1 1280x960
Resolution5=1280 1024 0 1280x1024
Resolution6=1400 1050 1 1400x1050
Resolution7=1600 1200 1 1600x1200
Resolution8=1600 1200 0 1600x1200
Resolution9=1792 1344 1 1792x1344
Resolution10=1920 1200 0 1920x1200 <---here

Here are 16:9 shots at 1900X1200 NO BLACK BANDS, you will still get them in the main screens but not in the game

http://img.photobucket.com/albums/v359/mk2/zero3.jpg

http://img.photobucket.com/albums/v359/mk2/zero1.jpg


http://img.photobucket.com/albums/v359/mk2/zero2.jpg

igsoft
02-28-2006, 11:04 PM
I get widescreen by specifying these lines on the conf file

[windows]
width=1680
height=1050

It works fine for me. Is there any difference?

CombatAce_MK2
02-28-2006, 11:10 PM
Yeah it depends on your monitor and the resolution, in my apple 23" cinema if I typed the native resolution of 1920x1200 I would get the bands no matter what.

Other resolutions work such as 1290 X768 etc. but only if your monitor supports it. I guess this is all known info but I kow some people are not aware of it yet.

Spinnetti
03-01-2006, 07:03 PM
I've been wondering about using an apple widescreen display (I have a 20" iMac too)..

how good a card do you need to drive it, and what is your subjective opinion compared to a CRT?

THanks,

IZG52Volker
03-02-2006, 12:26 PM
PLS-PLS a screenshot from cocpit view, make it a Bf which im used to !! PLS-PLS!

Spinnetti
03-05-2006, 01:31 PM
Originally posted by IZG52Volker:
PLS-PLS a screenshot from cocpit view, make it a Bf which im used to !! PLS-PLS!

<BUMP> Yeah, I'm interested in the FOV from the inside too..