PDA

View Full Version : Tips on flying the P-51

JtD
06-02-2006, 10:59 AM
I have been surprised to find that many posts suggesting how much the P-51, as modelled in game, sucks. So I figure it's about time for everyone who flies that bird with a little, or better much, success, to post what makes him/her successfull. Maybe a few hints can make one or the other pilot pick that plane in his/her next sortie. I am just an occasional P-51 pilot, but I tend to stay alive flying one. My hints are focusing on the D-5 model:

1st) Joystick settings. The P-51 has a very effective rudder, even little stick input will lead to rather big nose movements. Around neutral position, you should not have stick-steps larger than 6-7. Give it a little testing, it makes a HUGE difference when you want to keep a firing solution on evading planes.

2nd) Gun convergence. It is a matter of personal taste, but as you usually will not fire much further than 500 meters, you should not set it any larger than 250. Mine is usually set to 150.

3rd) Fuel: The P-51 has a long range. Most likely you will never need more than 50% fuel. With this fuel you can fly around at high speeds for ages.

4th) General flight: Fly high, stay fast. This is true for about every plane, but even more for the P-51. You have a high speed high altitude plane, so you can not expect to avoid trouble if you climb at low speeds or don't climb at all. Really good altitudes to fly at are 3500 and 7500 - no other prop plane will come close to your top speeds at these alts. In fact, most struggle to keep up with you even if you only fly at 100% power. A cruise speed of 500-600 kph is totally possible and advisable.