PDA

View Full Version : Motivations and Story

DreamerM
11-26-2007, 10:14 AM
this topic stemmed from a debate I had with a friend who said he was "very disapointed" with AC, that he was "underwhelmed from the start" by the game (which he hasn't played, which he's just watch his roommate and myself play) and which he thinks could have been done a lot better.

His complaints were all about the story. He's pre-med and gets huffy at the fake-genetic talk, insisting "genes don't work like that," as well as ranting against Dr. Beardface's "source of cancer" speech, complaining "whoever wrote this has NEVER picked up a medical book in their lives!"

He did have one point though: the concept that a guy, even a very skilled guy, can flippantly disregard all three central beliefs of his order, plus leave two of his comrades to die, and NOT get executed requires a big suspention of disbelief. I'm no history expert, but that clashes strongly with the ruthless impressions that I always associated with the Assassin clan. Even if, if he'd died after the first mission went wrong, we wouldn't have much of a game.

The only answer I could think was that they must have some concrete reason for letting Altair, specifically, live even after he betrayed everything they live for. Something more then just normal assination missions: they have plenty of other operatives who are almost as skilled and cause them much less trouble. The ideal they serve is bigger then any one man, even one as l33t as Altair.

I hope I'm not thinking too much into it, I know that there are more important factors then story when making a game, but at the same time, if you're going to include a story at all you should put at least as much thought into it as those who play your game might. Not many of them will look that deep, but the ones who do should find that you put at least as much thought into it as they did.

DeAdLy2323
11-26-2007, 10:19 AM
i dont understand, are you bashing the game or saying it was good?