PDA

View Full Version : dumb kph speed thing



Snuffly
10-05-2004, 03:46 PM
Is there a way to make the speed indicator thing in the lower left of your screen, in mph instead of kph. Really annoying.

Weather_Man
10-05-2004, 03:48 PM
Not yet. http://forums.ubi.com/groupee_common/emoticons/icon_smile.gif

LStarosta
10-05-2004, 03:53 PM
Yeah, the whole world is ******ed for not using MPH like we do. http://forums.ubi.com/groupee_common/emoticons/icon_rolleyes.gif

Zyzbot
10-05-2004, 04:11 PM
Knots would be more correct than MPH.

LStarosta
10-05-2004, 04:20 PM
<BLOCKQUOTE class="ip-ubbcode-quote"><font size="-1">quote:</font><HR>Originally posted by Zyzbot:
Knots would be more correct than MPH. <HR></BLOCKQUOTE>

As far as U.S. A/C go, MPH was the unit used.

Monty_Thrud
10-05-2004, 04:33 PM
I really want to kill that Llama-thingy-whatever-it-is....no really http://forums.ubi.com/images/smilies/icon_twisted.gif

Where was i...oh yeah, the kmh/kph to mph should hopefully, and if we sacrifice a chicken(or dodgy Llama) to Odin, should hopefully be in PF...unless Odin doesn't want anymore chicken or freaky Llama sacrifices http://forums.ubi.com/images/smilies/blink.gif....please kill the Llama...please

VW-IceFire
10-05-2004, 04:37 PM
Some of us prefer to have KPH. Especially since the vast majority of the world at the very least drives with KPH and generally uses the metric system. Only one country in the world insists apon hanging onto the old imperial system.

Even if I have the choice in PF...I'll still be flying using metric units. So its not dumb by any stretch of the imagination.

I welcome choice in the matter...but I don't like the choice of words.

VFA-195 Snacky
10-05-2004, 04:41 PM
Easy solution. Have a switch in the options menu for Imperial or Metric. Simple

Snuffly
10-05-2004, 05:02 PM
now where is this options menu...?

PBNA-Boosher
10-05-2004, 05:22 PM
Or you could carry a calculator with you, like I used to do before I got used to the metric system.

For altitude: Multiply by 3 to get a general altitude in feet.
For speed: divide by 1.6
For Heading: do nothing, heading is heading, and measurements of degrees don't change!

Mackane1
10-05-2004, 05:34 PM
Try reading the speedometer. http://forums.ubi.com/groupee_common/emoticons/icon_biggrin.gif

LEXX_Luthor
10-05-2004, 05:52 PM
Need radians for heading speedbar

lil_labbit
10-05-2004, 05:53 PM
<BLOCKQUOTE class="ip-ubbcode-quote"><font size="-1">quote:</font><HR>Originally posted by Mackane1:
Try reading the speedometer. http://forums.ubi.com/groupee_common/emoticons/icon_biggrin.gif <HR></BLOCKQUOTE>

Yeah it's realy annoying the american planes have MPH readings in-cockpit... That should be changed to KMH http://forums.ubi.com/groupee_common/emoticons/icon_wink.gif

Willey
10-05-2004, 05:54 PM
Wait for PF http://www.dierk3er.privat.t-online.de/JG5/Bilder/v.gif http://www.dierk3er.privat.t-online.de/JG5/Bilder/v.gif http://www.dierk3er.privat.t-online.de/JG5/Bilder/v.gif

BM357_TinMan
10-05-2004, 06:36 PM
<BLOCKQUOTE class="ip-ubbcode-quote"><font size="-1">quote:</font><HR>Originally posted by LEXX_Luthor:
Need radians for heading speedbar <HR></BLOCKQUOTE>

lmao pi/2 = 360 (90 actually, but lets spin the numbers on the outside 90 degrees counter clock wise) ... hey, it could work

let me see.... "steer vector 3pi/2 (180), or steer vector well, would 090 be 0 or 2pi (I think 2pi is better, don't you)...? *Again, rotating the numbers on the outside of the unit cirle to match the compass where y+ is north 360 instead of 90...and leaving the...well you get it*. Steer vector pi/4" ie hey, be ****ed, this one is right lmao 045.... this is kind of fun

BM357_TinMan
10-05-2004, 06:39 PM
<BLOCKQUOTE class="ip-ubbcode-quote"><font size="-1">quote:</font><HR>Originally posted by Mackane1:
Try reading the speedometer. http://forums.ubi.com/groupee_common/emoticons/icon_biggrin.gif <HR></BLOCKQUOTE>

lol, thought the same thing myself

<BLOCKQUOTE class="ip-ubbcode-quote"><font size="-1">quote:</font><HR>Originally posted by lil_labbit:
Yeah it's realy annoying the american planes have MPH readings in-cockpit... That should be changed to KMH <HR></BLOCKQUOTE>

?huh? let me see...how many wwII planes had a floating red speedbar thingy???

um, yea...didn't think very many did

WTE_Galway
10-05-2004, 06:41 PM
the most sensible unit for aircraft is knots as the nautical mile relates directly to standard latitude and longitude without conversion

kph make some semse but MPH in an aircfat is pretty dumb htough as pointed out a lot of US aircraft use it

basically in real life when you get in an aircraft you do not have the option of ripping out the gauges and putting in ones that suit you .. you fly with what the aircraft comes with .. in Australia mainly knots or kph

in the end for a pilot the actual speed is irrelevant its the "numbers" that matter .. and those numbers are IAS which have minimal relationship to true air speed at altitue anyway .. what the pilot needs to know is Vne, Vs etc etc and whether those numbers are in knots, kph, mph or even mach numbers doesnt matter in the slightest

BM357_TinMan
10-05-2004, 06:55 PM
Just realized, radians wouldn't work http://forums.ubi.com/groupee_common/emoticons/icon_frown.gif

090 and 270 are on the wrong side of the circle.

The compass progresses clockwise, and the unit circle progresses counter clock wise...

I suppose pi/2 could still be made to be 0/360 and 3pi/2 could still be made to be 180, but then 2pi would have to be 090 and pi would have to be 270, yea, I suppose that might work. Just swap em on the unit circle and call it good..... http://forums.ubi.com/images/smilies/16x16_smiley-happy.gif

Sry, got a little carried away there....lol

time to go and do my calculus II home work.

nickdanger3
10-05-2004, 08:05 PM
Grampa Simpson "My car gets fourty rods to the hogshead and that's the way I like it"

javierib
10-05-2004, 08:30 PM
...the MPH in the US cockpit gauges are nautical, right?, that is, 1MPH = 1.852Km/h

SlickStick
10-05-2004, 09:52 PM
<BLOCKQUOTE class="ip-ubbcode-quote"><font size="-1">quote:</font><HR>Originally posted by nickdanger3:
Grampa Simpson "My car gets fourty rods to the hogshead and that's the way I like it" <HR></BLOCKQUOTE>

That was after he went into town with an onion tied to his belt, because that was the style in those days.

LOL, thanks for that little piece of Simpson's logic. It didn't go unnoticed. http://forums.ubi.com/images/smilies/16x16_smiley-very-happy.gif

We now return you to your regularly scheduled imperialistic discussion. http://forums.ubi.com/images/smilies/16x16_smiley-wink.gif

_Neveraine_
10-05-2004, 10:10 PM
Metric > Imperial

BM357_TinMan
10-05-2004, 10:13 PM
<BLOCKQUOTE class="ip-ubbcode-quote"><font size="-1">quote:</font><HR>Originally posted by _Neveraine_:
Metric > Imperial <HR></BLOCKQUOTE>

granted, in almost all cases this is understood, however, it doesn't really address the original post does it?

FI.Snaphoo
10-05-2004, 11:39 PM
<BLOCKQUOTE class="ip-ubbcode-quote"><font size="-1">quote:</font><HR>Is there a way to make the speed indicator thing in the lower left of your screen, in mph instead of kph. Really annoying.
<HR></BLOCKQUOTE>

Real up to date world view there Snuffles. http://forums.ubi.com/groupee_common/emoticons/icon_wink.gif

Snuffly = first official mph-whiner?

http://forums.ubi.com/images/smilies/35.gif

Apparently this will be dealt with in the up comming expansion. I just got used to the KPH thing, I'll probably keep that unless it's a server setting.

Tully__
10-06-2004, 03:02 AM
<BLOCKQUOTE class="ip-ubbcode-quote"><font size="-1">quote:</font><HR>Originally posted by FI.Snaphoo:
Snuffly = first official mph-whiner?
<HR></BLOCKQUOTE>

Not by a very, very loooonnngggg way (s)he's not the first.

tHeBaLrOgRoCkS
10-06-2004, 04:14 AM
You could probably use the data output feature and some fancey jiggerypokery but that's probably too much like hard work http://forums.ubi.com/images/smilies/16x16_smiley-sad.gif

Extreme_One
10-06-2004, 04:44 AM
When I fly Russian or German my speedbar is set to display kph.
When Flying RAF or USAAF my speedbar is set to display mph and when flying for RN or USN my speedbar is set to display knots.

http://forums.ubi.com/images/smilies/10.gif You guys will probably be doing something similar soon...

WTE_Ibis
10-06-2004, 04:50 AM
That sounds veeery interesting,can't wait. http://forums.ubi.com/images/smilies/16x16_smiley-surprised.gif

Jasko76
10-06-2004, 05:20 AM
As a European, km/h is the only thing I'll ever use. Of course, I can use mph and feet as well, but it's not as "natural" - I have to make quick estimations like, 200 mph is 320 km/h, 1000 ft is 300 m, etc. There should be an option to use mph and kts for people that find it natural, though.

BinaryFalcon
10-06-2004, 08:56 AM
It shouldn't really matter what it displays in, even if it's furlongs per fortnight.

Just learn the numbers for each plane and go with those. Personally I'd rather see everything in knots, as mph/kph are fairly silly for aircraft, but it doesn't really make a lot of difference.

I know around around 160kph is a good landing speed for my P-39, and that 140 will be getting touchy. It wouldn't make a bit of difference to how the plane flies if it were displayed in mph. I'd just use 100 and 88 instead. For knots I'd use 87 and 77 respectively.

No matter what system you use you'll need to memorize some numbers to do certain things, so ultimately it doesn't matter what scale is used. Just remember the number and ignore the units.

The plane will fly the same at 160kph/100mph/87kts regardless.

Worst case, seeing it in kph lets you at least pretend you're going fast. http://forums.ubi.com/images/smilies/16x16_smiley-wink.gif

x6BL_Brando
10-06-2004, 09:43 AM
http://forums.ubi.com/images/smilies/16x16_smiley-tongue.gif

When I first came to Devon I asked a rustic in a field how far it was to the address that I was seeking. He leant on his rake and chewed a grass-stalk... "Arr, it be twa' gunshots up that road there boy, who'm you be a'visiting then?"

Squinting furtively at the newly-purchased pedometer strapped to my ankle while pretending to study my knees, I realised with horror that gunshots were not shown on the scale, and that I had no idea of what calibre weapon he was describing. Not only that but the measuring device was calibrated in those infernal kilothings used only by Johnny foreigner!
Gadzooks! I turned to enquire of the yokel again but he had started eating the Holy english lunch...never a good time to interrupt...so I resorted to an old trick I learnt at the feet of Baden-Powell's grand-nephew whilst at a Boy Scout jamboree. Whipping out my trusty clasp knife, with the prong for removing stones from the feet of limping horses, I cut a piece of string long enough to tie my ankles with exactly an Imperial yard of slack between them and strode out...

After I had crawled out of the ditch and wiped the accumulated slime from my face and clothing using a handful of dock-leaves (a ****ed good wheeze if you get into a similar situation) I set out again more carefully; head up, chest out, ignoring the sneers of an interested group of passers-by - determined to discover whether said rustic was mocking my city ways. I should have asked him, but he was hunched over and holding his sides, and he appeared to be crying; nothing a red-blooded Englishman could possibly witness! Having ascertained that he had no stones in his feet I consigned him to memory and limped on into the hills as the sun set slowly over the Empire.

Gosh, I went a bit off-topic there...what I meant to ask was whether we are talking Imperial hours here, or the new 55 minute hour being introduced by the European Union?

TX-EcoDragon
10-06-2004, 01:26 PM
<BLOCKQUOTE class="ip-ubbcode-quote"><font size="-1">quote:</font><HR>Originally posted by javierib:
...the MPH in the US cockpit gauges are nautical, right?, that is, 1MPH = 1.852Km/h <HR></BLOCKQUOTE>

No, MPH=Statute Miles Per Hour, Nautical Miles is indicated simply as Knots. So 1 MPH=1.61 kmh


And to the Original poster, I think when you have more time in the sim you will appreciate the common units if you do not fly only one type of aircraft, as from the pilot's perspective most similar type aircraft have similar caution ranges, similar climb speeds, and similar dive speeds, for some out there who are jumping form one plane to the next this would be kinda of a pain to relearn a few systems for what is ultimately an arbitrary number anyway. That said, if your complaint is that this method is un-realistic then I can't argue with that at all, and as such you should turn off the rather un-realistic floating red numbers and look at the panel. In your control assignments you can select a key to toggle speed bar, this is pretty handy. I use Ctrl-S.

Willey
10-06-2004, 02:46 PM
<BLOCKQUOTE class="ip-ubbcode-quote"><font size="-1">quote:</font><HR>Originally posted by javierib:
...the MPH in the US cockpit gauges are nautical, right?, that is, 1MPH = 1.852Km/h <HR></BLOCKQUOTE>

http://forums.ubi.com/images/smilies/10.gif "nmPH" = kts http://forums.ubi.com/groupee_common/emoticons/icon_biggrin.gif

Chuck_Older
10-06-2004, 04:02 PM
<BLOCKQUOTE class="ip-ubbcode-quote"><font size="-1">quote:</font><HR>Originally posted by Extreme_One:
When I fly Russian or German my speedbar is set to display kph.
When Flying RAF or USAAF my speedbar is set to display mph and when flying for RN or USN my speedbar is set to display knots.

http://forums.ubi.com/images/smilies/10.gif You guys will probably be doing something similar soon... <HR></BLOCKQUOTE>

Stop rubbing it in!

Chuck_Older
10-06-2004, 04:08 PM
<BLOCKQUOTE class="ip-ubbcode-quote"><font size="-1">quote:</font><HR>Originally posted by _Neveraine_:
Metric > Imperial <HR></BLOCKQUOTE>

I wonder if most people know that when we are born, nobody taks a poll and says to each of us, "Right, now which country would you like to be born in? We have this nasty dispute about which method of measurement is superior and you must make your choice now or forever hold your peace"

Maybe metric is "greater than" (nice allusion) Imperial for somebody who knows both systems, but if you only know one or the other, you're at a bit of a disadvantage, hey wot?

Metric is a natural for Il*2. It simply make sense. If I want to see how fast I'm going in a P-51, I look at the appropriate gauge, but I can also see the desire for Imperial measurement in the speedbar.

Once we have PF, E_O can stop gleefully pointing out we don't have it but he's playing with it right now http://forums.ubi.com/images/smilies/16x16_smiley-sad.gif , and we can change the measurement, seemingly.

wayno7777
10-06-2004, 10:27 PM
Huh? The speedo in a Huey reads in knots. The DME reads however you want it to. Oops, no DME's in WW2. Sorry.

lil_labbit
10-06-2004, 10:59 PM
hmmm http://forums.ubi.com/images/smilies/blink.gif

K M H
not
kph!
Kilo-Meter per Hour

http://forums.ubi.com/images/smilies/53.gif

FI.Snaphoo
10-06-2004, 11:09 PM
<BLOCKQUOTE class="ip-ubbcode-quote"><font size="-1">quote:</font><HR>Originally posted by lil_labbit:
hmmm http://forums.ubi.com/images/smilies/blink.gif

K M H
not
kph!
Kilo-Meter per Hour

http://forums.ubi.com/images/smilies/53.gif <HR></BLOCKQUOTE>

I always thought it was Kilometers Per Hour, or KPH. That's the way it's always displayed around here, and here (http://www.convert-me.com/en/convert/speed) too! http://forums.ubi.com/images/smilies/35.gif http://forums.ubi.com/groupee_common/emoticons/icon_wink.gif

However, the Kilometers per second is listed as km/s. So maybe the more correct version is KM/H.

lil_labbit
10-06-2004, 11:12 PM
KPH would be Kilo-Pascal per Hour http://forums.ubi.com/images/smilies/mockface.gif

WTE_Galway
10-06-2004, 11:34 PM
if we really want to get nit-picky

common usage is

kph

but technically

km/h

or km.h^-1

lil_labbit
10-06-2004, 11:36 PM
<BLOCKQUOTE class="ip-ubbcode-quote"><font size="-1">quote:</font><HR>Originally posted by WTE_Galway:
if we really want to get nit-picky

common usage is

kph

but technically

km/h

or km.h^-1 <HR></BLOCKQUOTE>

True - but all European Speedometers show kmh http://forums.ubi.com/groupee_common/emoticons/icon_wink.gif some have an extra mph even - but isn't that the whole point of this thread - nitty gritty? Whatever - planes should show knots http://forums.ubi.com/groupee_common/emoticons/icon_biggrin.gif next debate lol what's a knot...

BM357_TinMan
10-07-2004, 05:52 AM
<BLOCKQUOTE class="ip-ubbcode-quote"><font size="-1">quote:</font><HR>Originally posted by lil_labbit:
True - but all European Speedometers show kmh http://forums.ubi.com/groupee_common/emoticons/icon_wink.gif some have an extra mph even - but isn't that the whole point of this thread - nitty gritty? Whatever - planes should show knots http://forums.ubi.com/groupee_common/emoticons/icon_biggrin.gif next debate lol what's a knot... <HR></BLOCKQUOTE>

No, actually the point to this tread was, that it would be nice if the speedbar could be set to show imperial units (ft for alt, mph or knot per hour) if that is what the user so desired.

Teufel_Eldritch
10-07-2004, 05:55 AM
It should be whatever it was irl. If different air forces used different methods then FB should reflect that.

609IAP_Recon
10-07-2004, 06:07 AM
"Some of us prefer to have KPH. Especially since the vast majority of the world at the very least drives with KPH and generally uses the metric system. Only one country in the world insists apon hanging onto the old imperial system."

he is asking for setting that were used in these aircraft - if some of your would actually read the post and get off your anti-US armchairs for a change, it would be nice.

If flying a US aircraft, he wants the option to have a readout to be in the unit of measure used in world war 2 to display. Whether or not he can convert in his head, etc.. isn't the issue.

Would you like the same logic used if the readout was in mph and your European aircraft used kmh?

If you came here and asked to make it kmh would you find it offensive to be told your country's unit of measure system was wrong or that you should just convert it because 'it doesn't matter'? Especially when we are talking about the unit of measure in the 1940's, not today?

ploughman
10-07-2004, 06:17 AM
Britain made the decision to change to the metric system in 1862 (or there abouts). 144 years later...things change slowly around here.

x6BL_Brando
10-07-2004, 06:45 AM
<BLOCKQUOTE class="ip-ubbcode-quote"><font size="-1">quote:</font><HR>Only one country in the world insists apon hanging onto the old imperial system." <HR></BLOCKQUOTE>
http://www.unc.edu/~rowlett/units/index.html


Actually, unless we really are an extra state of the U.S. as some claim - that's two countries! http://forums.ubi.com/groupee_common/emoticons/icon_smile.gif

I think it's the title of the thread that's causing some of the responses - "dumb" may just seem a bit insulting to some people, even if the poster is referring to the speed-bar utility and not actually the metric system itself.

Historically the sim started off being about the conflict between Soviet Russia and Nazi Germany - and all the planes would have been read in Km/H. It would be interesting to know whether speedo's were replaced in the Lease-lend aircraft, or new numbers superimposed, or whether the pilots were expected to make the mental adjustment?

It'll be interesting to see how the speedbar works in PF. Japan uses the metric system, so maybe the option mechanism will have been installed for that release and will be 'retro-gradeable' We can but live in hope!

a_v_c
10-07-2004, 07:24 AM
<BLOCKQUOTE class="ip-ubbcode-quote"><font size="-1">quote:</font><HR>Originally posted by Snuffly:
Is there a way to make the speed indicator thing in the lower left of your screen, in mph instead of kph. Really annoying. <HR></BLOCKQUOTE>
For off-line flights you can use UdpGraph to display in mph, knots or even inch per second.
Just download UdpGraph from http://avcsite.ru/il2dl/graph_en.htm
and edit UdpGraph.ini adding following line to the [graphs] section:
IAS=255 0 0 0.0 600 ispeed/1.6093
it will convert kmh to mph for you

BinaryFalcon
10-07-2004, 08:22 AM
<BLOCKQUOTE class="ip-ubbcode-quote"><font size="-1">quote:</font><HR>Oops, no DME's in WW2.
<HR></BLOCKQUOTE>

No VORs either. http://forums.ubi.com/groupee_common/emoticons/icon_smile.gif

<BLOCKQUOTE class="ip-ubbcode-quote"><font size="-1">quote:</font><HR>Would you like the same logic used if the readout was in mph and your European aircraft used kmh? <HR></BLOCKQUOTE>

I'd feel the same.

I'm in the US, and I prefer the imperial system as I both grew up using it and believe that it is more practical in everyday life. My foot is almost exactly a foot long, shoulder to fingertips is about 3 feet, my thumb is almost exactly an inch wide.

For engineering and science, SI is where it's at. It's easy, convenient, and most of the world uses it.

When I'm in a plane, I want knots. It's silly to use anything else (at least on this planet).

Ultimately they're all fairly arbitrary numbers that we set to convenient benchmarks. How we account for anything doesn't change how it works within the universe. When I get into a plane or use a tool I don't care what system it's using. Just tell me what happens when a certain number reaches a certain value and that's all I need to know.

If I'm given an airspeed indicator that is unitless, and I'm told that the plane stalls at 140, and Vne is 700, it doesn't really matter what those units are. As long as I can see the relationship between where I am now and where important things occur that's all that's required.

If we do get to choose in PF, I'll probably just set it for kts across the board and be done with it. It's what I'm used to, and it makes the most sense. If we can't change it, that's no big deal either.

BSS_Goat
10-07-2004, 08:37 AM
Dumb kph thread thing.

madsarmy
10-07-2004, 09:00 AM
"PSST!! Keep this to yourselves & dont tell anybody. OK!. This will be our little secret.
Do a Google search for Conversion Tables.
Remember it's our little secret.SSHHH!"http://forums.ubi.com/images/smilies/16x16_smiley-wink.gif

Heavy_Weather
10-07-2004, 12:47 PM
still going? http://forums.ubi.com/images/smilies/34.gif

WTE_Galway
10-07-2004, 05:11 PM
<BLOCKQUOTE class="ip-ubbcode-quote"><font size="-1">quote:</font><HR>Originally posted by BM357_TinMan:
<BLOCKQUOTE class="ip-ubbcode-quote"><font size="-1">quote:</font><HR>Originally posted by lil_labbit:
True - but all European Speedometers show kmh http://forums.ubi.com/groupee_common/emoticons/icon_wink.gif some have an extra mph even - but isn't that the whole point of this thread - nitty gritty? Whatever - planes should show knots http://forums.ubi.com/groupee_common/emoticons/icon_biggrin.gif next debate lol what's a knot... <HR></BLOCKQUOTE>

No, actually the point to this tread was, that it would be nice if the speedbar could be set to show imperial units (ft for alt, mph or knot per hour) if that is what the user so desired. <HR></BLOCKQUOTE>



to be fair to the original poster

Its not clear ... but I thought he was just complaining the speedbar gave different units to the cockpit gauges.

if so .. its a fair call