PDA

View Full Version : CH Products Fighterstick/Combatstick



ruekesj
11-10-2005, 01:34 PM
Does anyone here have either of these sticks?

I'm completely happy with my pro pedals but i have a question i would like to have answered before i spend the money on a stick and throttle..

the reviews i've read say there are rotaries for pitch and yaw trim. however, they look like the trim wheels from an old stick i had with an AppleIIGS, where the wheels trimmed the joystick center. they were not for in game function. Is this how the trim wheels work on th CH sticks, or can i map them for elevator and rudder trim in PF?

x6BL_Brando
11-10-2005, 01:46 PM
No, they're not mappable through the sim, they are manual adjusters of the pitch & roll axes like you said.
That said, they are usable in the game. They give a coarse adjustment rather than a fine one, but they centre accurately which is the important thing. I often use the aileron 'wheel' in the event of large but flyable damage to a wing.

Stackhouse25th
11-10-2005, 01:51 PM
All I have is a fighterstick USB, nobody can touch me in the plane. its a lot about experience too.

DRB_Hookech0
11-10-2005, 03:43 PM
I use the CH Fighterstick, Pro Throttle, Pro Rudders, and the Throttle quadrant in both PF and the FB merged setup and they are all fully programable. You can either assign the buttons in game or by using the FREE CHmanager stick profiler. I cant remember exactly but I think the IL2 series will only see 3 axes X,Y,Z. But the CH profiler can combine any manner of units totaling up to 32 axes and trick the game into thinking it fits into the XYZ thing. I'm at work so I'll review it when I get home.

Peacemaker_PL
11-10-2005, 05:35 PM
Fighterstick, Pro throttle, pro pedals !
great if you create good profile.
check this out http://www.ch-hangar.com

greetings,

Peacemaker.

p.s.
if you want profile for PF just give me a shout http://forums.ubi.com/groupee_common/emoticons/icon_wink.gif

lairdperkins
11-10-2005, 10:01 PM
The adjustement wheels are not mappable... they physically trim the stick itself, and are not particularly fine.

The CH Flightstick Pro as opposed to the Combatstick does have a third axis on it in the form of the "throttle" wheel. It's fully mappable with the CH control software either to a series of key presses or as a joystick axis or slider. I use it for elevator trim in PF and it performs admirably.

I personally perfer the ergonomics on the Flightstick Pro to that of any other Joystick ever made. It's extremely comfortable even after literally hours of play. It has fewer buttons / hat switches than the CombatStick though so ymmv.

---- possibly interesting digression ----

The adjustment wheels actually turn the potentiometer inside the base of the stick so that the movements of the stick pass different values... ie if the pot is normally returning a value of 50 when centered, and you move the wheel halfway left, it then returns a value of 25 to the PC... so the sim thinks you're halfway on the stick when you're not actually touching it. Of course that means that even if you push full right stick, its only returning 75 instead of 100 (actual values are 0-256) (I've replaced the pots twice in my old non-USB flightstick pro... it still works perfectly though I've bought all new USB stuff since Microsoft broke the keyboard port programming ability in Windows 2k and XP)

-- edit -- Just incase you're still debating buying a CH stick... that old Flightstick Pro is almost 15 years old. I've literally had it since Jr. High. The only thing that wears out on those sticks is the pots and CH was happy to send me replacements for less than ten bucks including shipping both times I needed them. You do have to solder them in, but it's an extremely easy repair. I spent about $400 replacing the stick, throttle, and pedals last year because I got tired of having to boot into Windows '98 to re-progam them. This was a Microsoft issue however not something CH had any control over. I fully expect to be using the new set until USB goes the way of the gameport. (which is still on most motherboards)

Hrdina
11-12-2005, 06:09 PM
Originally posted by lairdperkins:
I spent about $400 replacing the stick, throttle, and pedals last year because I got tired of having to boot into Windows '98 to re-progam them. This was a Microsoft issue however not something CH had any control over. I fully expect to be using the new set until USB goes the way of the gameport. (which is still on most motherboards)
This is the same reason I upgraded my old Thrustmaster FCS Pro and WCS to my (terrific) new CH gear - I had to boot into DOS to reprogram the TM gear because it did the reprogramming by writing back through the keyboard port, which Windows XP will not allow.

horseback
11-12-2005, 07:11 PM
I have the Combatstick, Pro Throttle, and Pro Pedals, and I am quite happy with them. Excellant quality and reliability. No problems in 3 years of hard regular use with 6 different computers...

The Combatstick has the same throttle wheel axis the Fighterstick has on the left side of the base, along with the 'adjustment wheels' on the back and right sides of the base. The difference between the Combatstick and Fighterstick is in the number of buttons-the Combatstick has 10 buttons + the 8-way POV hatswitch.

The Fighterstick has something like 16 buttons + the 8-way POV hatswitch.

cheers

horseback

Sokol__1
11-13-2005, 09:36 AM
I cant remember exactly but I think the IL2 series will only see 3 axes X,Y,Z.

DRB_Hookech0

IL2Series see 10 axes:

http://img4.imageshack.us/img4/5275/axis0sg.jpg (http://imageshack.us)

For today WWII sim standarts, CH PRO Throtle lack rotaries, but CH Mananger is a powerful tool, is possible maped trims in HAT.

A "moded" one, whit rotaries, found in LOMAC russian forum, aditional button/axis "donated" by Saitek X-45:

http://img4.imageshack.us/img4/3789/chthrotledials6gu.gif (http://imageshack.us)

SP!

Sokol1

Jaws2002
11-13-2005, 10:22 AM
I use the throttle from X45 with my CH Fighterstick and Pro pedals. Is a great combination.
But what Sokol has, now that is cool. http://forums.ubi.com/groupee_common/emoticons/icon_eek.gif

JunkoIfurita
11-14-2005, 01:01 AM
CH Pro Throttle has no working rotaries? Wow, that is a bum deal.

Best setup, IMO, is something similar to Bearcat's, with an X-52 instead of an X-45. Not cheap, but still cheaper than CH Throttle + CH Fighterstick.

Setup is:
CH Pro USB Pedals
Saitek X-52 Flight System
Microsoft Sidewinder Force Feedback 2 Stick

You use the MSFFB2 as your stick, the throttle from the X-52 and the X-52 stick as a button bay. Add the CH pedals for rudder and you're flying.

This setup is especially good for trim: you have three free assignable axis. I use the top throttle rotary for rudder trim, the bottom throttle rotary for aeirolon trim and the 145degree throttle on the MSFFB2 is perfect for elevator trim. This leaves the slider on the throttle free for prop pitch (if you so wish), and of course you have a nice hefty throttle itself (the X-52 stick is so-so, but the throttle is absolutely top notch).

I adore this setup, and it was cheaper than purely CH gear because I got the MSFFB2 stick new for an equivalent of $50US over ebay. When I can afford it, I'll add a TrackIR 4 and then I'll REALLY be flying.

----

ruekesj
11-14-2005, 07:06 AM
curently, i have an X-45, ch pedals, and a logitech ff 3d pro. i use the throttle from the X-45 and don't use the stick at all. ( to me, to use it as a button bay, is just the same as the key board because i still have to take my hands off of the control devices) i have 1 of my x-45 rotaries mapped to prop pitch, and the other empty. i use my hatswitch on the logitech for trim and the throttle for flaps. i've tried using the throttle and rotaries for trim but haven;t yet been able to set the sensitivities right. always to fine and i get huge deflection from minor movements, or no input then sudden full input at the ends of the travel.

any way,... i don't like the logitech stick, but i got it for the ff. as a pilot of real & simulated aircraft, i like to feel things like buffet before i stall, not realise them as i'm spinning.

Sokol__1
11-14-2005, 05:27 PM
ruesky,

Another sample of X-45 mod, found um LOMAC forum:
X-45 (stick) is dismounted and your eletronics is used in this device, to resemble SU-27 console, and it continues progamable:

http://img421.imageshack.us/img421/7834/x45su27mod32qp.jpg (http://imageshack.us)
http://img495.imageshack.us/img495/5250/x45su27mod16bp.jpg (http://imageshack.us)

In this mod, the electronics of X45 (stick) was inserted in the base of X45 throtle:

http://img485.imageshack.us/img485/330/x45x454yc.jpg (http://imageshack.us)

Maybee russians hate X45 (stick)design. http://forums.ubi.com/images/smilies/16x16_smiley-wink.gif

SP!

Sokol1

chaikanut
11-15-2005, 02:44 PM
I have the full set of CH gear(fighterstick/pedals/throttle). They are very tough, functional and provide excellent control plus you can buy each piece over time. The rotaries on the fighterstick are NOT mapable or usable, you cant reach the pitch trim on the stick when u play. That is not much of an issue, I use the hat buttons and they are convenient.

Bearcat99
11-16-2005, 07:46 AM
Sokol that is sweet!!

The reason I prefer the X-45 over the X-52 is that the X-52 throttle is uncomfortable to me and I like the rocker switch on the X-45 also. I use that for my flaps. It is interesting having flaps,throttle and prop pitch all on the same hand. As you probably know I use a MSFFB2/X-45/CH setup.

ruekesj the benifit of using the stick instead of the keyboard is that you begin to think in terms of the button and it's function... instead of a keyboard key... am I making sense? Plus.. I use the X-45 stick's X & Y axii as well.. I basically use it as a lever. I have all my gear on the stick.. when I push it forward it is for auto gear raise/lower... the 6 o'clock position is for tailwheel lock.. the 9 & 3 o'clock positions are for manual raise and lower.

ReligiousZealot
11-16-2005, 11:51 AM
Alright, I'm not trying to hijack this thread but I'm a little curious...I currently just have a Logitech Winman Extreme but I'm really in the market for a better experience. The problem is, I happen to be in a dorm room so space and money are key (I'm just a poor college student, haha), what is the best type of set up for my situation? I could fit a joystick and throttle combo on my desk along with my desktop (thank God for LCDs), but I'd also like some pedals to go with the soon to be ordered Track IR http://forums.ubi.com/groupee_common/emoticons/icon_smile.gif.

gthgrrl4game
11-16-2005, 12:56 PM
Wow!!
Elaborate set ups!
I used an old Saitek x45 till the throttle arm broke irreparably.
Now I use a Saitek Cybborg Evo.
A bit limited but it works well enough for me, esp for the 4.02 flight model with more emphasis on rudder use the twisting stick helps.

Bearcat99
11-16-2005, 04:57 PM
Originally posted by ReligiousZealot:
Alright, I'm not trying to hijack this thread but I'm a little curious...I currently just have a Logitech Winman Extreme but I'm really in the market for a better experience. The problem is, I happen to be in a dorm room so space and money are key (I'm just a poor college student, haha), what is the best type of set up for my situation? I could fit a joystick and throttle combo on my desk along with my desktop (thank God for LCDs), but I'd also like some pedals to go with the soon to be ordered Track IR http://forums.ubi.com/groupee_common/emoticons/icon_smile.gif.
If you are in the U.S. then go here (http://store.yahoo.com/saitekusa/recprod.html) by all means. Then go here (http://www.provantage.com/buy-110CHPU-ch-shopping.htm). You can get an X-45 and a set of pedals for $130.... or an X-52 & a set of pedals for $159.

Billy_DeLyon
11-16-2005, 06:37 PM
I have a Saitek STS290(?) - a cheap stick that works OK but has a lot of slop in the middle. I have been thinking of upgrading to a CH stick. I don't want to deal with pedals at this point, but it looks to me like the CH sticks don't have any twist axis for rudder control - is this true? Do any of you use a CH without pedals, and if so how's it work?

Cheers

Ritter_Cuda
11-18-2005, 02:02 PM
Ok I have a qustion I just took a peek inside an old x 45 stick i have and there are two heavy plates with a wire to each conecting to the 15 pin conection. what it for I would think grounding if it was not in a plactice box
thanks cuda

ReligiousZealot
11-18-2005, 10:47 PM
Thanks for the links Bearcat, have 'em book marked and adding them to my Christmas list :P.