PDA

View Full Version : Did British tugboats win the war for us?

PoweredBySoy
08-18-2006, 04:02 PM
So I just started playing SH3 again. Oh how I've missed this game.

I installed the GW supermod, along with SH3 Commander, and started up my first campaign. About two days into my first patrol, my boys were getting bored. So I decided to surface and do some target practice on a lone British tug. After over 20 HE shells from the deck gun and a torpedo in it's stern, the little boat kept on chuggin' away at 4 knots.

Is there some setting in the mod that nerfed the deck gun? I surely don't remember it being so ineffective before. Most of the shells hit the waterline too. And I'm no navel expert, but it also seems really unrealistic.

Any thoughts or strategies? Or is this normal?

tuddley3
08-18-2006, 04:44 PM
wELCOME bACK, sh3 IS LIKE A DRUG AINT IT. i'M HOOKED, AND WITH EVERY NEW MOD INSTALLED, IS LIKE JUST ONE MORE bONG hIT. http://forums.ubi.com/images/smilies/53.gif

iT'S THE WAY gw'S WAS MADE. TRY OVER FIFTY SHOTS FOR SOME MERCHANTS & CARGO.

[Elite]cobrae
08-18-2006, 05:00 PM
Just run it over ... usually works for me lol ... Tugs and trawlers dont stand a chance

PoweredBySoy
08-18-2006, 05:02 PM
Disturbing.

Foehammer-1
08-18-2006, 07:35 PM
Im so confused i feel like a hungry baby in a topless club.

Disturbing indeed. As for the original post, I haven't bothered with the deck gun when I used GW. It's useless.

[Elite]cobrae
08-18-2006, 08:47 PM
just my sig ... i havent used this account in ages ... I didnt evn notice that was stil there

PoweredBySoy
08-19-2006, 07:19 AM
Originally posted by Foehammer-1:

As for the original post, I haven't bothered with the deck gun when I used GW. It's useless.

Which brings me to a couple questions:

1) Was this historically accurate? Were deck guns really just pea shooters?

2) Does anyone know if it's possible to just go into the .ini files and raise the deck guns power? What parameters would need to be changed?

Thanks.