PDA

View Full Version : AI question: deflection shooting

F19_Orheim
10-01-2007, 07:04 AM
I am not an offliner, I spend pretty much all of my flying time online in DF servers.

Sometimes though I fly Online War missions where AI do come across my path, and I have always found their behaviour to be quite predictable, especially when I end up on their six - though I wouldn't say I am an expert on AI moves/capabilities.

However I recently saw this in another thread:

"AI can't shoot deflection even when your turn is slight..."

Is this true?

F19_Orheim
10-01-2007, 07:04 AM
I am not an offliner, I spend pretty much all of my flying time online in DF servers.

Sometimes though I fly Online War missions where AI do come across my path, and I have always found their behaviour to be quite predictable, especially when I end up on their six - though I wouldn't say I am an expert on AI moves/capabilities.

However I recently saw this in another thread:

"AI can't shoot deflection even when your turn is slight..."

Is this true?

LEBillfish
10-01-2007, 07:28 AM
Seems so, in fact, I've seen folks deliberately take advantage of it for both AI & AAA.

It was very clear in another sim, less so here...AAA would fire, their shot placement a combination of your "immediate path/speed/altitude+lead, considering shell flight time"....Now that sounds right, a hit every time....Yet what it couldn't calculate for was your path being an arc, so if you'd fly in a circle, flak would go off around you as thoughat the second it fired you were flying straight....So, imagine your true path a circular axis, the points of AAA aiming much like spokes running tangent from where you would of gone if straight to the point on the circle where you were......So in a counter clockwise turn the shots would always hit to roughly your 3.