PDA

View Full Version : Computer Critique



Wolfvram2
08-23-2008, 05:37 AM
Hey Guys,

I need a very fast critique of this system spec please.

Asus P5N-E SLI NF650i SLi, S 775, PCI-E (x16), DDR2 533/667/800, SATA II, SATA RAID, ATX

Antec Twelve Hundred Case w/o PSU

1GB Leadtek GTX 280, PCI-E 2.0 (x16), Mem 2214MHz GDDR3, GPU 602MHz, 240 Cores, 2x DL DVI-I/ HDTV

850W NorthQ Black Magic Flex Modular PSU 80%+ Eff' 135mm Silent Fan

Microsoft Windows Vista Home Premium 64Bit 1Pk OEM (DVD) + Ahead Nero 8 Suite - CD/DVD/Bluray Media

Ahead Nero V8 Essentials Suite 1 - CD/DVD Burning Media Software - OEM

Intel Core 2 Quad Q6600 G0 SLACR, Kentsfield Core, Socket 775, 2.40 GHz 1066MHz 8MB Cache, Retail

1TB (1000 GB) Seagate ST-310005N1D1AS-RK Bcuda 7200.11, SATA 300, 7200 rpm, 32MB Cache, 8.5 ms, NCQ

LiteON DH-20A1S-18C Black 20x DVD±R, 8x DVD±DL, DVD+RW x8 / -RW x 6, DVD-RAM x12, SATA Black

I already have 4Gb of Corsair RAM DDR2 5300.

I'm trying to persaude myself not to buy this however scan have some really good today only prices.

Cheers Wolfvram
(v2 cause I can't get the password, darn expired Uni email that I forgot to change)

Realjambo
08-23-2008, 06:52 AM
Well it sounds good to me!

Shouldn't the Nero 8 come bundled with the DVD writer?

*Desperately resisting the urge not to go to Scan*

Wolfvram2
08-23-2008, 06:56 AM
Probably, but scan do some wierd offers at times.

By the way that lot is costing about £780 seem reasonable?

Realjambo
08-23-2008, 07:13 AM
Without checking other sites, I'd say that's a good deal http://forums.ubi.com/images/smilies/25.gif

Wolfvram2
08-23-2008, 09:48 AM
The one bit I'm not sure about is the motherboard, anyone got any comments?
It seems a low spec board in comparrison to the other componetns but also seems to do everything needed.

Realjambo
08-23-2008, 10:33 AM
If you aren't planning on overclocking I think you should be fine (just my opinion of course!)

Has it enough fan headers for you?

I've always used ASUS boards and never had a problem.

Oh and don't forget the golden rule when building a new rig - The Moderators have to test it first! http://forums.ubi.com/images/smilies/16x16_smiley-very-happy.gif

Realjambo
08-23-2008, 10:45 AM
If you haven't hit 'Proceed to checkout' yet http://forums.ubi.com/groupee_common/emoticons/icon_biggrin.gif , might be worth a look at CustomPC Magazine Hardware Reviews Section (http://www.custompc.co.uk/reviews) - It's a rig building magazine I've subscribed to for years now and I trust their opinions.

Wolfvram2
08-23-2008, 10:52 AM
Looks quite comprehensive will have a look at what they reckon to some of these bits. I tend to look at hexus.net for tech news, always seem reasonably unbiased in testing different bits of kit.

Think I'll sleep on the decision, the prices will stay good till the end of monday, will probably end up ordering it though and just hope I don't have any financial hiccips in the next few months.

WhiteKnight77
08-23-2008, 11:57 AM
I would go with a 32 bit OS instead. There are still a few driver problems with 64 bit OSes and a few games too.

Wolfvram2
08-23-2008, 01:56 PM
Whiteknight77, that is probably the biggest bone of contention in this new build, everyone seems to have a different opinion, I haven't yet been able to find a definitive listing of what works with 64bit c.f. 32bit.
I suppose with 4 GB of RAM I could go for 32bit without too many problems and upgrade later on, or even dual boot in the future.

Comments please?

andy3536
08-23-2008, 03:16 PM
Originally posted by WhiteKnight77:
I would go with a 32 bit OS instead. There are still a few driver problems with 64 bit OSes and a few games too.


Thats a bit of a red herring tbh.

There are a few issues with older games not working, but i've found very few. All newer games work.

What people get confused with is that many games in the past have had an issue with 4 gig of ram, which the OS only recognises past 64 bit. This is more common and may find it with any older programs you run, but again is still reletivly few in number.

The drivers for any older periferals you have can be found on the internet easily and should confirm all have them. (very unlikely they won't)

My advise would be to stick with 64 bit.

tambor198
08-23-2008, 04:06 PM
I have to agree with andy3536 about vista 64-bit and have found the only problems that have developed were with older harder hardware and software, not new.


A comment on the memory, I'd go with the 800 speed memory myself instead of the lower two.

VikingGrandad
08-23-2008, 04:29 PM
Wolfvram2, sounds like a good spec and price to me - similar to the spec I've just had delivered for my new PC build!

(my bank holiday project) http://forums.ubi.com/images/smilies/compsmash.gif

I'm keeping my old Antec case (it's big and has good airflow) and my X-Fi sound card, but pulling out the existing Asus motherboard, Seasonic 500W PSU, 1.5Gb RAM, AMD64 3700+ CPU, Freezer Pro CPU heatsink, Nvidia 7600GT GPU and IDE optical drive - all of which I'm using to build a separate PC (in a new Antec midi-size case) for my father. How's that for recycling!? http://forums.ubi.com/groupee_common/emoticons/icon_wink.gif. I'm installing a brand new SATA hard drive in his machine, and I'm going to re-use the existing IDE hard drive by putting it into a USB external drive case, so he has a portable backup/storage device.

Then, my empty Antec case will be filled with:

<LI> 3 x Noctua NF-R8 80mm Silent Case Fans (to replace the stock Antec fans)

<LI> Be Quiet! Dark Power Pro 750W ATX2.2 Modular SLi Compliant PSU

<LI> Asus P5K Premium/WiFi-AP Intel P35 (Socket 775) PCI-Express DDR2 Motherboard

<LI> Intel Core 2 Quad Pro Q6600 2.40GHz, guaranteed to run at 3.30GHZ (1466FSB)

<LI> Tuniq Tower 120-LFB CPU Cooler

<LI> OCZ 2GB (2x1GB) PC2-8500C5 1066MHz Reaper HPC Edition Dual Channel DDR2

<LI> Powercolor ATI Radeon HD 4870 PCS Extreme 512MB GDDR5 TV-Out/Dual DVI/HDMI

<LI> Akasa AK-VC03-BLUV Vortexx NEO VGA Cooler

<LI> 2 x Samsung SpinPoint 750GB SATA-II 32MB Cache hard drives (to be set up as RAID 0)

<LI> Sony NEC Optiarc AD-7200S 20x DVD±RW SATA Dual Layer ReWriter


My first upgrade for a few years! http://forums.ubi.com/groupee_common/emoticons/icon_smile.gif My first Intel CPU PC build too.

Total cost is &pound;892.79. I know I probably could have got a lower price by shopping around for each component from different suppliers, but it was a spur of the moment decision to do the upgrade on Friday - and I needed it all to be delivered today (Saturday) so I could build the PC over the weekend. Overclockers UK were doing half-price delivery, so I bought everything from there. 3 huge boxes arrived this morning! http://forums.ubi.com/groupee_common/emoticons/icon_biggrin.gif http://forums.ubi.com/groupee_common/emoticons/icon_biggrin.gif http://forums.ubi.com/groupee_common/emoticons/icon_biggrin.gif

I'm putting 2 case fans in the back, and 1 in the front to pull air in. Thinking about it now, I wonder if I should have ordered another 80mm fan to install in the side of the case to help cool the graphics card, along with the Akasa graphics card cooler?

I must admit, I'm a little hazy on which OS to use. I played safe and got an OEM version of Windows XP 32 SP3... But now I'm not so sure I shouldn't have gone for the 64 version, or even Vista 64? What's the latest on running SH3 and SH4 with XP 64 or Vista 64? (also IL-2 1946 & Company of Heroes - the only other games I play).

One last thing: I read a while back about some 3rd party attempt (hack?) to get DirectX 10 running in XP - is this possible/advisable?

tambor198
08-23-2008, 07:39 PM
I must admit, I'm a little hazy on which OS to use. I played safe and got an OEM version of Windows XP 32 SP3... But now I'm not so sure I shouldn't have gone for the 64 version, or even Vista 64? What's the latest on running SH3 and SH4 with XP 64 or Vista 64? (also IL-2 1946 & Company of Heroes - the only other games I play).


There is an option if you choose to use it that allows you to use both XP and Vista and it is not a dual-boot system. There is something called a Mobile Rack which allows you to swap out hard drives from your computer. Put XP on one hdd and Vista on the other. Then just switch them out as necarry or the need arises.


Mobile Rack (http://www.kingwin.com/mobileracks.asp)


Try giving Vista 64-bit a try, VG. I don't think you'll regret it.

Wolfvram2
08-24-2008, 11:07 AM
Ok I have decided I am going to order it, just need a final opinion on the mobo, I have a choice of three I reckon,

The current model:
Here (http://www.scan.co.uk/Product.aspx?WebProductId=529752)
OR
Its bigger brother (http://www.scan.co.uk/Product.aspx?WebProductId=531222)

Or finally

A newer version (http://www.scan.co.uk/Product.aspx?WebProductId=505256)

They are all in budget, although the more expensive one do eliminate some of the savings I've been able to make. What do you guys reckon?

VikingGrandad
08-24-2008, 11:11 AM
Originally posted by tambor198:
There is an option if you choose to use it that allows you to use both XP and Vista and it is not a dual-boot system. There is something called a Mobile Rack which allows you to swap out hard drives from your computer. Put XP on one hdd and Vista on the other. Then just switch them out as necarry or the need arises.


Mobile Rack (http://www.kingwin.com/mobileracks.asp)


Try giving Vista 64-bit a try, VG. I don't think you'll regret it.

Thanks for the advice Tambor http://forums.ubi.com/images/smilies/25.gif

The mobile rack looks very handy. I'll probably get the rig set up with XP 32 for now (as I already got the disc), then try Vista 64 when my PC piggy bank has some more money in it http://forums.ubi.com/groupee_common/emoticons/icon_smile.gif

VikingGrandad
08-24-2008, 11:18 AM
Originally posted by Wolfvram2:
Ok I have decided I am going to order it, just need a final opinion on the mobo, I have a choice of three I reckon,

The current model:
Here (http://www.scan.co.uk/Product.aspx?WebProductId=529752)
OR
Its bigger brother (http://www.scan.co.uk/Product.aspx?WebProductId=531222)

Or finally

A newer version (http://www.scan.co.uk/Product.aspx?WebProductId=505256)

They are all in budget, although the more expensive one do eliminate some of the savings I've been able to make. What do you guys reckon?

I'm no expert on motherboards (I picked mine after reading magazine reviews), but I would say that generally that higher spec models should be better for overclocking. If you're not interested in overclocking, maybe go for a cheaper board.

Wolfvram2
08-24-2008, 01:20 PM
OK final question (I think!)

Stick with the Q6600 or go for a Q6700 for a price jump of £35. 4x 2.4GHz or 4x 2.66GHz?

Wolfvram2
08-27-2008, 04:33 PM
Well the bits have arrived and are assembled, now to switch it on and see if it boots. Installation will be done in the morning, along with benchmarking when possible.