PDA

View Full Version : few questions

trekvana
04-05-2007, 01:53 AM
hi guys im new to this sim so any help you could give me would be greatly appreciated.

1. what is the purpose of prop pitch and prop feathering???
2. mixture does what?
3. magnetos are for?
4. what are gun pods?
5. does the sbd-3 always handle so slugishly (mine always banks to the left) or is my joystick just broke

thanks!!!

trekvana
04-05-2007, 01:53 AM
hi guys im new to this sim so any help you could give me would be greatly appreciated.

1. what is the purpose of prop pitch and prop feathering???
2. mixture does what?
3. magnetos are for?
4. what are gun pods?
5. does the sbd-3 always handle so slugishly (mine always banks to the left) or is my joystick just broke

thanks!!!

FritzGryphon
04-05-2007, 02:39 AM
1. Pitch and feathering is to humiliate the prop when it's been bad.

2. Some planes are equipped with engine driven smoke generators. These work only at high altitude with high mix settings.

3. Everyone needs an arch-nemesis.

4. Allows the guns to escape when you are shot down.

5. If all the aircraft pull to one side, then your joystick must be broke.

----- Ok and for real.

1. Changes blade angle to optimize thrust. Most airplanes have an automated system, and this can be left on 100%. Reducing 'pitch' really just reduces engine RPM.

Feather is to turn the blades parallel with the relative airflow, for low drag. If your engine fails and you have to glide a long distance, feather the prop to increase your glide distance.

Many planes can't feather the prop. In these cases, reduce pitch to 0% for best glide (almost feathered).

2. The engine needs a proper mix of fuel and air to run properly. If you see brown smoke coming out of the exhaust, there's too much fuel. Reduce the mixture until this smoke goes away.