PDA

View Full Version : Install Fix when autorun fails



reflex11
03-04-2004, 05:33 PM
++Don't be too hard on these guys that have had problems installing.++I had the same problem and it is related to not using the autorun.++Do a clean install of IL2FB and fire off the install by double clicking the autorun Icon on the CD.++Take all the defaults, don't change anything.
++Now double click on the Autorun Icon on the FBAEP CD.++Every thing should work fine.http://ubbxforums.ubi.com/infopop/emoticons/icon_smile.gif

reflex11
03-04-2004, 05:33 PM
++Don't be too hard on these guys that have had problems installing.++I had the same problem and it is related to not using the autorun.++Do a clean install of IL2FB and fire off the install by double clicking the autorun Icon on the CD.++Take all the defaults, don't change anything.
++Now double click on the Autorun Icon on the FBAEP CD.++Every thing should work fine.http://ubbxforums.ubi.com/infopop/emoticons/icon_smile.gif

03-04-2004, 06:03 PM
That should do the trick.

Sure beats extracting files from the .cab and moving them by hand.

Anyone know if there's an official changelog of files and timestamps for AEP 2.00? It would be very handy for checking to make sure it installed correctly.

JG26Red
03-04-2004, 06:21 PM
il2 FB cd will autorun for me

il2 AEP cd will not... go figure

georgeo76
03-04-2004, 07:13 PM
FYI:

If your confused about how to run a CD when auto run won't work, right click on the CD's icon and click open or explore.

Most Cd's will have a text file named auto run.ini in the root directory. This is the file that instructs windows what to run when you pop in the CD. Fortunately, this file is in English and it points to the setup utility that should pop up via auto run.

For example, AEP's autorun.ini reads:

[autorun]
open=autorun.exe
icon=autorun.exe

Fiend's Wings (http://webpages.charter.net/Stick_Fiend)