PDA

View Full Version : for those with woobly FM problem. this helps.



fordfan25
10-19-2005, 07:14 PM
this is in no way an ideal fix BUT iv found that increasing the filter for my flight stick for pitch roll and yaw to full has helped. it not only seems to have lesend the tendency of the planes to over react to stick input but also the planes over egerness to recorect its flight path by snaping its nose around. just thought id share. if any one knows a better way then please let me and others know.

danjama
10-19-2005, 07:23 PM
what do u mean by increasing the filter? which filter? screeny or something... please

fordfan25
10-19-2005, 07:46 PM
go into the hardwear set up thats in the main screen when you fire up the game. input menu were you adjust your stick settings. you will see two sliders one says dead zone the other says filter.

BaldieJr
10-19-2005, 07:46 PM
Last number in each line is filter. 100 is more, 1 is less:

[rts_joystick]
1X=0 70 70 70 70 70 70 70 70 70 70 80
1Y=0 70 70 70 70 70 70 70 70 70 70 80
1Z=0 100 100 100 100 100 100 100 100 100 100 100
1RX=0 100 80 40 20 10 10 20 40 80 100 50
1RY=0 100 80 40 20 10 10 20 40 80 100 50
1RZ=8 0 6 12 17 25 32 39 50 64 100 60
1U=0 100 100 100 100 100 100 100 100 100 100 1
1V=0 100 100 100 100 100 100 100 100 100 100 1
FF=0

Filter your trims or suffer noise.

I suspect some very old code was changed.

Takata_
10-19-2005, 07:50 PM
Originally posted by danjama:
what do u mean by increasing the filter? which filter? screeny or something... please

- conf.ini

[rts_joystick]
...
1X=0 10 20 30 40 50 60 70 80 90 100 0
1Y=0 10 20 30 40 50 60 70 80 90 100 0

- first number is for deadzone; default is zero
- next 10 numbers for imputs
- last one is for "filter"; default is zero

- Mine is set to 100 because my crappy X-45 is never stabilized.

In game, you can change that in your "imput" control panel, from the main screen.

Bearcat99
10-19-2005, 08:08 PM
http://forums.ubi.com/images/smilies/25.gif Thats exactly what I did last night..... If there is one thing I have learned about this series it is .. as far as the FMs go.... we have a LOT more control than in ANY other sim considering that the FMs are closed to us. By adjusting stick settings we can compensate for a lot... by using IL2 sticks... or the stick utility that comes with the latest IL2 Manager.. both which can be found in the Aturmovik Essentials link in my sig... there is a great deal of flexibility. It takes time to fully assess the FMs of any new patch and whatever one may think they have "discovered" in a new patch in the pros or cons.... can change or be adjusted in eiter direction, but it takes time to really discover the whole picture.

fordfan25
10-19-2005, 08:50 PM
of course every one should relize if you do it the way i discribed "100% filter" you loose alot of crispness/responsivness of your fighter.

baldie: i found yous a bit less stable but for some resone the 47 and 51 would not stall in a turn? is that because you have it set at 80 peak?

BaldieJr
10-19-2005, 09:23 PM
Yeah. I can never pull more than 70% of full stick because my sliders all stop at 70.

My stick has a deadzone built in so I need higher values at the begining. Your stick is probably more sensitive at center.

To clean up my sticks' strange response I use filtering.

jimDG
10-19-2005, 10:51 PM
Originally posted by fordfan25:
of course every one should relize if you do it the way i discribed "100% filter" you loose alot of crispness/responsivness of your fighter.

baldie: i found yous a bit less stable but for some resone the 47 and 51 would not stall in a turn? is that because you have it set at 80 peak?

inertia and filtering is exactly one and the same thing - more of it slows the response of something in time, to an applied input.
So, if a/c appear to have less inertia, more filtering is the way to go- and you are back where you began, in terms of agility/stability (general handling).

Tully__
10-20-2005, 08:14 AM
Filtering helps because most PC pilots are too agressive with the controls.... http://forums.ubi.com/groupee_common/emoticons/icon_wink.gif http://forums.ubi.com/groupee_common/emoticons/icon_wink.gif

TgD Thunderbolt56
10-20-2005, 08:27 AM
I don't/haven't changed (or needed to) any of my stick settings. I do ok. http://forums.ubi.com/images/smilies/blink.gif

F19_Ob
10-20-2005, 08:34 AM
Related stuff:

I posted about Yawing = swaying= pendulum problems for those with twiststicks and rudder rockers in ORR.
http://forums.ubi.com/eve/forums/a/tpc/f/63110913/m/9171099863

One thing that was good for me was to set the range of travel in yaw settings to 60.
One loses a bit of rudder-function but the curve smoothens so there is no big leap when moving my twist-rudder a few millimeters.

arjisme
10-20-2005, 10:11 AM
So, regarding adjusting the filter settings, can someone explain to me how the filter settings work? 1 is less and 100 is more, but what does the setting really do? TIA!

bun-bun195333
10-20-2005, 10:18 AM
Originally posted by ar****e:
So, regarding adjusting the filter settings, can someone explain to me how the filter settings work? 1 is less and 100 is more, but what does the setting really do? TIA!

Filtering gets rid of instantaneous spikes from an axis and smoothes out the response. If you have a stick that is not spiking you don't need filtering.
Filters are for making coffee.

arjisme
10-20-2005, 10:20 AM
So a filter setting of 100 would require greater joystick movement before an input is actually caused?

FoolTrottel
10-20-2005, 10:33 AM
Haven't tried any filtering yet, but have found an improvement by using Capt. Brown's settings (except I changed the rudder a bit, upwards)

aileron=0 0 1 3 7 9 14 18 23 27 33 0
elevator=0 0 0 3 5 8 12 16 21 27 34 0
rudder=0 1 4 5 11 16 23 32 42 53 66 0

(But, I have not spent much time trying!)

Have Fun!

fordfan25
10-20-2005, 10:33 AM
Originally posted by TgD Thunderbolt56:
I don't/haven't changed (or needed to) any of my stick settings. I do ok. http://forums.ubi.com/images/smilies/blink.gif


good for you man

bun-bun195333
10-20-2005, 10:37 AM
Originally posted by ar****e:
So a filter setting of 100 would require greater joystick movement before an input is actually caused?

Nope, if you have the filter set at 100 and quickly shake the joystick around center the game averages all that motion so it sees no movement at all.
Filtering will give you smoother response at the expense of time when the controls start responding.
What Tully said is true; handle the controls smoothly and save the quick motion for when you need it.
I toned down my axis response a bit but I won't turn on filtering.

BSS_Goat
10-20-2005, 11:15 AM
Originally posted by FoolTrottel:
Haven't tried any filtering yet, but have found an improvement by using Capt. Brown's settings (except I changed the rudder a bit, upwards)

aileron=0 0 1 3 7 9 14 18 23 27 33 0
elevator=0 0 0 3 5 8 12 16 21 27 34 0
rudder=0 1 4 5 11 16 23 32 42 53 66 0

(But, I have not spent much time trying!)

Have Fun!


I use a similar. This is approx for all:
0 2 4 6 8 16 24 32 42 56 72 0

but I suck ......

TheGozr
10-20-2005, 11:16 AM
A very easy way to see what this filter do.
Make the filter on into the Power throtle of your joy.
Then give accelerate you'll see what you will end up with. They are some goods and cons. Just make sure that you are aware of it and take some time to setting things up well for yourself.

jimDG
10-20-2005, 11:36 AM
Originally posted by TheGozr:
A very easy way to see what this filter do.
Make the filter on into the Power throtle of your joy.
Then give accelerate you'll see what you will end up with. They are some goods and cons. Just make sure that you are aware of it and take some time to setting things up well for yourself.

how?!
and a related question - how do I change my stick settings "in game"? Any ideas?

BaldieJr
10-20-2005, 11:39 AM
Dude, go to the stick adjustment screen and look around.

Don't be scared of using your computer http://forums.ubi.com/groupee_common/emoticons/icon_smile.gif

I'd post a screenshot if I were not at work.

SeaFireLIV
10-20-2005, 11:53 AM
I`ve never touched the FB internal settings. I used to a while back, but it often caused more problems than it solved. I only adjuct my Control Panel or personal driver joystick settings. That way there`s only one setting facter to worry about, not several.

arjisme
10-20-2005, 12:59 PM
Originally posted by jimDG:
<BLOCKQUOTE class="ip-ubbcode-quote"><div class="ip-ubbcode-quote-title">quote:</div><div class="ip-ubbcode-quote-content">Originally posted by TheGozr:
A very easy way to see what this filter do.
Make the filter on into the Power throtle of your joy.
Then give accelerate you'll see what you will end up with. They are some goods and cons. Just make sure that you are aware of it and take some time to setting things up well for yourself.

how?!
and a related question - how do I change my stick settings "in game"? Any ideas? </div></BLOCKQUOTE>Look at the first page of this thread -- especially starting at about the 3rd post. A couple of ways to adjust the settings are discussed.

On filteriing: thanks for the explanations folks. I'll take the advice and play with the settings on my throttle to see how they work. I'm interesting in understanding why I would choose, say, 40 vs. 80 or choose no filtering at all. Sounds like the best way to decide is to just try different settings.

Kuna15
10-20-2005, 01:55 PM
Really good stuff here, good help to every user of the game that didn't payed attention for this stuff (before).
I must that I didn't payed much attention to this stuff untill 4.01 (rudder).


Originally posted by FoolTrottel:
Haven't tried any filtering yet, but have found an improvement by using Capt. Brown's settings (except I changed the rudder a bit, upwards)

aileron=0 0 1 3 7 9 14 18 23 27 33 0
elevator=0 0 0 3 5 8 12 16 21 27 34 0
rudder=0 1 4 5 11 16 23 32 42 53 66 0

(But, I have not spent much time trying!)

Have Fun!

This sounds good, I will try that out. Thanks FT.

jimDG
10-20-2005, 01:59 PM
Originally posted by BaldieJr:
Dude, go to the stick adjustment screen and look around.

Don't be scared of using your computer http://forums.ubi.com/groupee_common/emoticons/icon_smile.gif

I'd post a screenshot if I were not at work.

"in game" = while I'm flying on a server

FoolTrottel
10-20-2005, 04:42 PM
Originally posted by jimDG:
<BLOCKQUOTE class="ip-ubbcode-quote"><div class="ip-ubbcode-quote-title">quote:</div><div class="ip-ubbcode-quote-content">Originally posted by BaldieJr:
Dude, go to the stick adjustment screen and look around.

Don't be scared of using your computer http://forums.ubi.com/groupee_common/emoticons/icon_smile.gif

I'd post a screenshot if I were not at work.

"in game" = while I'm flying on a server </div></BLOCKQUOTE>

Make sure you've got only one controller (check it in Control Panel, Game Controllers). Once you've got that fixed, you can use the in-game screen to adjust sensitivities.

This from the Manual:
http://img.photobucket.com/albums/v668/fooltrottel/InGameStickSettings.jpg

and if you have multiple controllers, there's now way it can be done in game. That's to bad. It's a feature!
Have Fun!

jimDG
10-20-2005, 05:50 PM
Originally posted by FoolTrottel:
<BLOCKQUOTE class="ip-ubbcode-quote"><div class="ip-ubbcode-quote-title">quote:</div><div class="ip-ubbcode-quote-content">Originally posted by jimDG:
<BLOCKQUOTE class="ip-ubbcode-quote"><div class="ip-ubbcode-quote-title">quote:</div><div class="ip-ubbcode-quote-content">Originally posted by BaldieJr:
Dude, go to the stick adjustment screen and look around.

Don't be scared of using your computer http://forums.ubi.com/groupee_common/emoticons/icon_smile.gif

I'd post a screenshot if I were not at work.

"in game" = while I'm flying on a server </div></BLOCKQUOTE>

Make sure you've got only one controller (check it in Control Panel, Game Controllers). Once you've got that fixed, you can use the in-game screen to adjust sensitivities.

This from the Manual:

and if you have multiple controllers, there's now way it can be done in game. That's to bad. It's a feature!
Have Fun! </div></BLOCKQUOTE>

forget about puting the filtering on a slider.
for quite a while now i've been trying to figure out a way to have a hot-key for switching skick curves etc while flying - one curve for turning fights, one surve for BnZ. this is why I was asking...

Tully__
10-20-2005, 11:54 PM
Originally posted by ar****e:
So a filter setting of 100 would require greater joystick movement before an input is actually caused? Not quite.

With no filtering, the game reads the current joystick position and applies it directly. When you add filtering the game applies the average joystick setting over a short period of time. At maximum filtering the average time is about 1 second if I recall correctly. This means that with no filtering you can go from zero to your chosen deflection almost instantly but with full filtering it will take a second for the control to move from the starting point to the current joystick position.

For normal cruising around you wont even notice the difference, but for some combat or aerobatic situations it makes a huge difference to aircraft response.