PDA

View Full Version : Hello, I'm and new and have a question



Paul_2k12
05-23-2005, 01:29 PM
Hi,

As above,

My new computer should be arriving this week, below are the specs, My question is will I be able to run Pacific Fighter well, I mean with the water on perfect or so I've heard?

AMD 64 3500+ CPU
1024MB DDR PC3200 RAM
200GB HD
256MB ATI Radeon X850XT Graphics Card

Thank you

Paul

Aero_Shodanjo
05-23-2005, 01:54 PM
Welcome aboard http://forums.ubi.com/groupee_common/emoticons/icon_biggrin.gif

Well, your spec is a high end system that should easily handle PF. I think even in perfect mode with all the graphic options maxed out.

Congrats http://forums.ubi.com/images/smilies/25.gif

Paul_2k12
05-23-2005, 02:16 PM
Good job

I have just placed an order for it 10.00 isn't bad i thought.

Paul

RAF74_Poker
05-23-2005, 02:37 PM
Ten quid ?!?!?!?!?!?!
Strewth ... buy me one, m8 !!!!!!!!

sk065
05-23-2005, 03:10 PM
Any chance you could post a link to where your getting that system from?

ploughman
05-23-2005, 03:32 PM
Sorry buddy, these guys are pulling your chain. A high end system won't be enought to run the super charger on one of the over-modelled Spitfires these guys pedal. Best thing is to pop down to your local Uni's Physics Department and buy some downtime on their Kray II, espcially if you want to fly any mission that migh involve a little bit of flak. Have a grooovy day. http://forums.ubi.com/groupee_common/emoticons/icon_cool.gif

Atomic_Marten
05-23-2005, 03:44 PM
Originally posted by Ploughman:
Sorry buddy, these guys are pulling your chain. A high end system won't be enought to run the super charger on one of the over-modelled Spitfires these guys pedal. Best thing is to pop down to your local Uni's Physics Department and buy some downtime on their Kray II, espcially if you want to fly any mission that migh involve a little bit of flak. Have a grooovy day. http://forums.ubi.com/groupee_common/emoticons/icon_cool.gif

AFAIK there is no computer chip, VGA and memory combined outhere that will run water=3 on satisfactory level.

Instead you can max everything out, and set water to 2.
Try it out. But be *sure* to read the manual before you proceed with tweaking/etc.

Dumbo_AK32nd
05-24-2005, 06:22 AM
Originally posted by Atomic_Marten:
AFAIK there is no computer chip, VGA and memory combined outhere that will run water=3 on satisfactory level.

I'm running with Water=3 at all times and have no problems whatsoever. Smooth as silk 99% of the time...both off-line and on-line.

The remaining 1% would be whenever there's intense flak around the fleets...then it gets a little choppy. But I've found that if I just remain "in cockpit" vs. using any external views I can pretty much fly right through it. I average 30 FPS in both the "Kamikaze" and "Black Death" tracks with the following settings:

PERFECT terrain graphics
EXCELLENT all other graphics
Water=3
Forest=3
3dgunners=1
1024x768x32 resolution @ 70Hz
AA 2x
AF OFF
V-Synch ON
"High Performance" image settings

major_setback
05-24-2005, 06:50 AM
Paul.
Note: I'm no expert but, 'Perfect water' and 'water=3' aren't the same thing.
I can (just about, at a push) run 'perfect' landscape settings, even with my slightly dated Ti 4600 graphics card. The water is animated and looks very good at this setting. But only the best graphics cards will allow you to see 'Water=3' waves (a config' file setting).
As far as I know it's only the GeForce 6800 (the one Dumbo is using, see above) that can show 'water=3' waves at their best (with swell).

I get water like this first picture, but not like the second one. (I stole one of these pics from 'community screenshots' on the main site page) :

http://www.pacific-fighters.com/en/screenshots/Perfect_RataEarlyMorning_06_Rab.JPG

http://i4.photobucket.com/albums/y129/major-setback/USS_Lexington.jpg

RM_bizkid
05-24-2005, 07:27 AM
My water=3 looks like this.
ASUS A7N8X Deluxe
AMD Athlon XP 3200+
1024 OCZ Dual Channel DDR PC3200
2 x WD Raptor 36GB SATA 10,000 RPM Raid 0
Gainward Ultra 2400 6800 GT 256 mb
Nvidia 66.93 Saitek X52

http://img.photobucket.com/albums/v505/bizkid/GCS0003.jpg

Paul_2k12
05-24-2005, 12:15 PM
Thanks for the replies.

I am aware my graphics card is the second most powerful available so I will have a try at setting everything to perfect or whatever the highest setting is and see how it plays.

Thanks for the responses though. Any tweaks I need to know about?

Paul

major_setback
05-24-2005, 05:39 PM
Originally posted by RM_bizkid:
My water=3 looks like this.
ASUS A7N8X Deluxe
AMD Athlon XP 3200+
1024 OCZ Dual Channel DDR PC3200
2 x WD Raptor 36GB SATA 10,000 RPM Raid 0
Gainward Ultra 2400 6800 GT 256 mb
Nvidia 66.93 Saitek X52

http://img.photobucket.com/albums/v505/bizkid/GCS0003.jpg

Very nice water. Glad to see that you can get that good quality. I am proven wrong. http://forums.ubi.com/images/smilies/cry.gif Maybe someone else knows which other graphics cards give the best available water renditions?

DRAGON_2_GO
05-25-2005, 01:43 PM
You know it's not that difficult to run water=3 and everything maxed out if can live with with an average of about 20fps. Like this I don't get too much trouble, even in AAA fire.(exept beeing shot down by ithttp://forums.ubi.com/groupee_common/emoticons/icon_wink.gif however I refrain from using externals...

My system Specs:
Athlon 64 3400+
Asus K8V-X
1 gig ram
GeForce 6800 LE running at 355mHz with 128MB


Greetz

Bearcat99
05-25-2005, 07:55 PM
What are you bragging.... Nice rig. Yeah you should have no problems maxing out your settings I dont know if the 850XT gets PS 3.0 though.