PDA

View Full Version : Orientation and views

smurfo2007
04-01-2007, 03:32 AM
Hi All, I'm a noob at this game (I admit it). I also normally fly off-line and only get to fly a couple of hours a week (if I'm lucky).

I normally fly the "wonder woman" view, mainly so I can orient with the ground and icons show where the bad guy has gone. Also I don't have Track IR.

If you fly cockpit on, no icons how do you orient so that you know bank angle etc? Do you take cues from seeing the cockpit frame, bits of your plane and what the view of the ground looks like?

I know if I was flying for real I would get an idea from both peripheral vision and my own balance.

Thanks for any guidance you can give,

smurfo2007
04-01-2007, 03:32 AM
Hi All, I'm a noob at this game (I admit it). I also normally fly off-line and only get to fly a couple of hours a week (if I'm lucky).

I normally fly the "wonder woman" view, mainly so I can orient with the ground and icons show where the bad guy has gone. Also I don't have Track IR.

If you fly cockpit on, no icons how do you orient so that you know bank angle etc? Do you take cues from seeing the cockpit frame, bits of your plane and what the view of the ground looks like?

I know if I was flying for real I would get an idea from both peripheral vision and my own balance.

Thanks for any guidance you can give,

Skycat_2
04-01-2007, 04:15 AM
I still get disoriented fairly often, but I've gotten much better with reading the instrument panel. I supplement that with information from the speedbar because its easier to know speed, altitude and heading at a glance than to try to decipher the guages.