PDA

View Full Version : Different FM per computer setup?



Mispunt
02-26-2004, 07:19 AM
I know this sounds bizarre, but I've been getting rather frustrated over the last few days with the difference in FM's I seem to experience at home and at work.

I'm running 1.22 on both machines and always flying on the same server with all FM settings enabled.
The only difference between my home and work setup is the system (duh), joystick and patch order.
Both systems are more than capable of running IL2, I get smooth framerates pretty much all the time.
At home my stick is a Saitek X45, at work it's a Logitech Extreme 3D pro. It would seem likely that it's got to be the joystick. I still have to swap the two to see if that's actually it though but I was wondering if this sounds familiar to anyone.

Basically the difference between setups is comparable to having Stalls and spins on or off.
At home planes hardly stall (I can pull back on the stick all the way), at work I stall very quickly (pulling back all the way equals stalls)
Both joysticks are calibrated, both games have the same config settings, both machines have the latest DX 9.

Any advice would be more than welcome.

http://www.tmeier.org/LockOn_Upload/store/MisSig.jpg

Mispunt
02-26-2004, 07:19 AM
I know this sounds bizarre, but I've been getting rather frustrated over the last few days with the difference in FM's I seem to experience at home and at work.

I'm running 1.22 on both machines and always flying on the same server with all FM settings enabled.
The only difference between my home and work setup is the system (duh), joystick and patch order.
Both systems are more than capable of running IL2, I get smooth framerates pretty much all the time.
At home my stick is a Saitek X45, at work it's a Logitech Extreme 3D pro. It would seem likely that it's got to be the joystick. I still have to swap the two to see if that's actually it though but I was wondering if this sounds familiar to anyone.

Basically the difference between setups is comparable to having Stalls and spins on or off.
At home planes hardly stall (I can pull back on the stick all the way), at work I stall very quickly (pulling back all the way equals stalls)
Both joysticks are calibrated, both games have the same config settings, both machines have the latest DX 9.

Any advice would be more than welcome.

http://www.tmeier.org/LockOn_Upload/store/MisSig.jpg

LEXX_Luthor
02-26-2004, 07:22 AM
Try offwhine missions, at home and at work, see if they are different then. It may be some onwhine internet thing or something.

Also, ask your boss, see what he/she thinks about the problem. http://ubbxforums.ubi.com/images/smiley/16x16_smiley-happy.gif

__________________
RUSSIAN lexx website http://www.lexx.ufo.ru/members.shtml
Stanly is a moron, kai is a walking dead beet, Xev just want sex.
:
you will still have FB , you will lose nothing ~WUAF_Badsight
I had actually pre ordered CFS3 and I couldnt wait... ~Bearcat99
Gladiator and Falco, elegant weapons of a more civilized age ~ElAurens

SuspectSquirrel
02-26-2004, 07:29 AM
[QUOTE]Originally posted by Mispunt:
I've been getting rather frustrated over the last few days with the difference in FM's I seem to experience at home and at work.

Where do you work that you can get away with this? Your lucky!



Thank you,
Mr. Squirrel

WWSensei
02-26-2004, 07:32 AM
Different joysticks will react differently. That's why Oleg's recommended stick settings work for some people and not for others.

adlabs6
02-26-2004, 08:07 AM
It's likely the joysticks causting the difference.

But I am convinced that flight model corruption CAN or at least COULD (under previous patches) occur in FB while in online games. I have experienced it personally. Some months back, I had a couple of games where my planes (La7 and Bf109) would be able to lift off and fly just fine at 100km/h or less. The planes also climbed like rockets, seeming that gravity had been reduced or something. I got some strange kills from this, and landing seemed to take forever as the plane just floated on and on. Yes, these were realistic setting servers. It was annoying to the point that I rebooted the PC, and the problem was gone.

This effect had set in over the course of a five hour play period, maybe three and half to four hours in. I'd say it happened three to four times, and was probably a corruption of some sort, since like I say, each time it happened a reboot fixed it.

Whether this is still possible under the latest patch, I have not idea.

http://www.geocities.com/adlabs6/B/bin/sigUBI.GIF
My FB/FS2004 Pages (http://www.geocities.com/adlabs6/B/) | IL2skins (http://www.il2skins.com) | OMEGASQUADRON (http://777avg.com/omegasquad/)

sambar
02-26-2004, 08:14 AM
Yes, it's the joysticks. The X-45 is way more forgiving to sudden movements than Logitech. You can not yank and bank with the latter...

By the way, the skull under your name is overmodelled...it should have no eyeballs in it http://ubbxforums.ubi.com/images/smiley/16x16_smiley-very-happy.gif

sambar

heywooood
02-26-2004, 08:34 AM
sHHEEESH - I get lil'pangs of guilt doing these posts and reading this forum at work.
Where the hell do you work?.. or is it your own company and will you hire my FB addicted
A$$? Ill work at low scale if I can FB all day.

ThirdCoastNickP
02-26-2004, 08:41 AM
Yea man just ask your boss. Im sure he'll be happy to answer that one for you. Oh and since you have a Saitek x45, how long did it take you to get used to that pinky trigger? I went to BestBuy the other day to wrap my hand around that stick and the pinky trigger annoyed the hell out of me. Also the throttle seemed really stiff (A: Ive never moved another throttle so are they that stiff? B: It couldve been due to the fact it was a display model.)

Mispunt
02-26-2004, 09:54 AM
Thanks all for the replies,
hehe, I play at work AFTER work hours and during lunchtimes (with colleagues and my boss as well actually).

If it is the joystick then the difference in control is amazing and simply ridiculous.
I mean I was beginning to feel bad playing online at home because I felt I had an unfair advantage due to some FM corruption.

@ ThirdCoast: The pinky trigger doesn't get in the way for me, the stick is quite large so there is plenty of room for me.
The only thing that takes some getting used to is the rudder on the throttle, it can be a bit hard too reach.
The throttle stiffness can be reduced. It is a bit too rigid for it's own good if you don't clamp your Hotas to your desktop (which I haven't btw). All in all I can recommend it greatly if you are looking for a decent stick for not too much money.

http://www.tmeier.org/LockOn_Upload/store/MisSig.jpg

Fehler
02-26-2004, 10:11 AM
<BLOCKQUOTE class="ip-ubbcode-quote"><font size="-1">quote:</font><HR>Originally posted by LEXX_Luthor:

Also, ask your boss, see what he/she thinks about the problem. http://ubbxforums.ubi.com/images/smiley/16x16_smiley-happy.gif

<HR></BLOCKQUOTE>

ROFLMAO! That's one of the best things you have ever said Lexx! OMG that was funny!

http://webpages.charter.net/cuda70/FehlerSig.gif
http://webpages.charter.net/cuda70/9JG54.html

Fehler
02-26-2004, 10:14 AM
<BLOCKQUOTE class="ip-ubbcode-quote"><font size="-1">quote:</font><HR>Originally posted by ThirdCoastNickP:
I went to BestBuy the other day to wrap my hand around that stick and the pinky trigger annoyed the hell out of me. <HR></BLOCKQUOTE>

I also have large hands.. Like they say, big hands, big... http://ubbxforums.ubi.com/infopop/emoticons/icon_wink.gif

You can remove the pinky trigger by lifting forward and out. Then you are left with a nice little indentation at the bottome that you can use instead of the trigger. It doesnt break a thing, and it replaces with a snap. Go try it at Bestbuy...

http://webpages.charter.net/cuda70/FehlerSig.gif
http://webpages.charter.net/cuda70/9JG54.html