PDA

View Full Version : I've got the borked no-torque FM--tips?



PlaneEater
06-17-2005, 09:31 PM
I did an uninstall-reinstall, since I'd installed 4.0m.

FB + AEP + PF + 3.01m + 3.04m + 4.01m should be correct, right?

But I'm not getting proper torque. Even the F4U-1D torque monster isn't rolling. (Actually, it's rolling ever so slightly, and very slowly).

I believe Ivan when he says there weren't any big FM changes between 4 and 4.01, but I'm still getting the non-torque FM. Any tips?

Takata_
06-17-2005, 09:35 PM
Originally posted by PlaneEater:
I did an uninstall-reinstall, since I'd installed 4.0m.
FB + AEP + PF + 3.01m + 3.04m + 4.01m should be correct, right?
Any tips?

correct install is 3.0m + 3.03m + 4.01m

3.04 is not needed (small patch), but 3.03 is mandatory before 4.01m.

Takata

jurinko
06-18-2005, 12:39 AM
well i did simple test in 4.00m.. started in bf109 in default Okinawa map, 110% trhottle and without any input waited until the crosshair passes the horizont down and after getting some speed, it will pass the horizont up. The plane yaws because of the torque. If the torque is different, the moment of gunight center passing the horizont should be different.

It perfectly matches with 4.01m - 26sec and the screenshots are 100% identical in that moment.

I tested also F6F taking off with tail wheel locked, 110%/120mix from the carrier without any input, checking at which moment it will leave the board and fall into the water. If the torque is weaker, it should stay on board for longer period. It perfectly matches again.

WWMaxGunz
06-18-2005, 07:25 AM
Fly slow and level maybe 20 kph above stall then hit the ignition off (I key default) and
see if the plane doesn't roll and maybe the nose yaw. Try 109G-2 or Spit IX. Then start
the engine back up and pull on full power. I see torque when I do those.

Recon_609IAP
06-18-2005, 08:24 AM
you mean there are 2 FM's based on which patch order you install?

That seems odd

VMF-214_HaVoK
06-18-2005, 08:41 AM
Originally posted by PlaneEater:
I did an uninstall-reinstall, since I'd installed 4.0m.

FB + AEP + PF + 3.01m + 3.04m + 4.01m should be correct, right?

But I'm not getting proper torque. Even the F4U-1D torque monster isn't rolling. (Actually, it's rolling ever so slightly, and very slowly).

I believe Ivan when he says there weren't any big FM changes between 4 and 4.01, but I'm still getting the non-torque FM. Any tips?

I dont understand. I got so much torque Im a alieron triming, rudder triming fool. As far as the Corsair goes when I take off of the carrier it almost rolls right into the water because of torque. Hellcat is even worse I spent the better part of a flight triming.

Jetbuff
06-18-2005, 10:23 AM
Originally posted by Recon_609IAP:
you mean there are 2 FM's based on which patch order you install?

That seems odd
It's not odd, more propesterous. It's all in their heads I tell you.

Simple test to confirm, take either flavour of 4.01 install and record a QMB track in it excluding the 190's and the SBD. (which did change) Replay this in an alternate 4.01 install or the original 4.0 => zero difference in playback. To get the track to play edit the first line of inputs (below the [$$record] line) to 118 for 4.0 and 119 for 4.01.

PlaneEater
06-18-2005, 01:49 PM
No, I was getting a significant difference, probably because I included the 3.02 / 3.04 patches by accident. In beta 7 and 4.0, I was getting a good 20 degrees / second roll to the right at full throttle in the F4U because of torque. With 4.01 incorrectly installed, I was getting MAYBE two or three degrees a second. It was there, but very small.

I play enough to tell when something is different, and I read this forum enough to know if it's supposed to be or if I'm just 'thinking' it is. : )

I'm going to try a fresh reinstall with just 3.03 and 4.01 and see if that does the trick.

WWMaxGunz
06-18-2005, 03:24 PM
You fly the right speed, you should get no roll at all.

PlaneEater
06-18-2005, 03:50 PM
Can someone with beta7, 4.0, and 4.01 do some tests for me?

Start a QMB in each with the F4U-1D. Close the throttle, then when the plane is at 150 mph IAS, slam the throttle open and record how long it takes the plane to roll 90 degrees due to torque.

I'm sure Ivan and the other testers / devs are right (that 4.01 is essentially 4.0), it's just that right now, the 'torque' I have is *so* subtle I'm not sure if it's torque or improperly centering ailerons and / or aileron trim. :\

I had 3.04, then beta 5, then beta 7 and 4.0. I frequently flew the P-40B and F4U-1D, and going suddenly from closed to full throttle would make the plane keel over onto its side at about 20 degrees a second.

I installed 4.01 over 4.0, and that went away, so I assumed I needed a fresh install, since other people with 4.01 are talking about the kind of heavy torque I remember. But now I'm not getting that...

Hrmm.

Patch order is FB, AEP, PFm, 3.03m, 4.01m, right?

PlaneEater
06-20-2005, 12:55 PM
Ok, I'm hallucinating.

Must have been remembering beta 5 / 7.

Torque in 4.0m is the same as 4.01m. Listen to Ivan & Co., folks.

Capt._Tenneal
06-20-2005, 01:28 PM
correct install is 3.0m + 3.03m + 4.01m

3.04 is not needed (small patch), but 3.03 is mandatory before 4.01m.

Why can 3.04 be skipped (aside from the fact that it is a "small patch") ? Is what is on the patch not really important for a merged install ? I'd hate to skip 3.04 only to find out that it has some important component.

FoolTrottel
06-20-2005, 03:07 PM
Originally posted by Capt._Tenneal:
correct install is 3.0m + 3.03m + 4.01m

3.04 is not needed (small patch), but 3.03 is mandatory before 4.01m.

Why can 3.04 be skipped (aside from the fact that it is a "small patch") ? Is what is on the patch not really important for a merged install ? I'd hate to skip 3.04 only to find out that it has some important component.

My guess is, all changes made in 3.04m have just been encorporated into 4.01m, no problem.

Have Fun!

Jetbuff
06-20-2005, 03:35 PM
Originally posted by PlaneEater:
Ok, I'm hallucinating.

Must have been remembering beta 5 / 7.

Torque in 4.0m is the same as 4.01m. Listen to Ivan & Co., folks.
Thanks for the confirmation. It's quite refreshing to see someone admit to being mistaken. Good on you.

I made a similar mistake at first when all the hysteria broke loose and started thinking that maybe the FM had changed. Only the objective track comparison cleared it up for me.

PlaneEater
06-21-2005, 12:02 PM
I have to say, though, the roll-you-on-your-side torque from beta5 felt a lot more real. I was looking through a F-51 flight manual two days ago and there was a warning not to go beyond 40"/Hg when chocked, to avoid flipping the plane over its nose onto its back. The much-reduced torque we have now sure doesn't feel like it might do that. :\