PDA

View Full Version : Can I add dot range / icon alterations to off-line campaigns?



foxhound31
06-10-2004, 02:25 AM
Hello

Is it possible to add a line(s) to the config file so that in off-line campaigns I get friendly icons only?

Thanks.

Asus A7N8X-X, Barton 2500+, 786mb DDR333, XP Home, Ti4800SE with nvidia 45.xx drivers, SB 5.1.

foxhound31
06-10-2004, 02:25 AM
Hello

Is it possible to add a line(s) to the config file so that in off-line campaigns I get friendly icons only?

Thanks.

Asus A7N8X-X, Barton 2500+, 786mb DDR333, XP Home, Ti4800SE with nvidia 45.xx drivers, SB 5.1.

DmdSeeker
06-10-2004, 02:39 AM
It must be possible; since that's exactly what some of the free downloads such as IL-stab offer. Try one of the many free add on programs for IL-2. Check the IL-2 essentials thread.

Slammin_
06-10-2004, 07:03 AM
I'm pretty sure this would work. Pull up the console and type:

mp_dotrange FOE DOT 0.001
mp_dotrange FOE COLOR 0.001
mp_dotrange FOE TYPE 0.001
mp_dotrange FOE RANGE 0.001
mp_dotrange FOE ID 0.001
mp_dotrange FOE NAME 0.001

Really, what you'd rather do is create a text file with these settings and then from the console type 'f <my test file>' and that will run the file with your settings.

Tully__
06-10-2004, 08:55 AM
Offline custom icon settings were not available in the early versions of IL2 Sturmovik. They were introduced either in the later IL2 Sturmovik patches or in FB. I don't recall the exact version where it was enabled, but a quick flick through the various patch readme files should reveal it.

To activate the commands you need to bring up the console (Shift-Tab) once you're in a mission. There are a number ways to short cut the command entry (one such is that suggested by Slammin_), but the standard mp_dotrange commands will do.

To automate it you would need to work with the rcu file, not the conf.ini file.

=================================================


http://members.optusnet.com.au/tully_78th/sig.jpg

IL2 Forums Moderator
Forum Terms of Use (http://www.ubi.com/US/Info/TermsOfUse.htm)
Tully's X-45 profile (SST drivers) (http://members.optusnet.com.au/tully_78th/fb.zip)

Salut
Tully

antifreeze
06-10-2004, 08:35 PM
Here is a recent post I made about icons:

The controls for icons are in your FB root folder in file called 'RCU'.
RightClick it>Choose OpenWith>Wordpad
Add these lines underneath the text that is already there:


@a icondef mp_dotrange DEFAULT
@a iconcheck mp_dotrange

--- icon settings: no teamcolour, dotdist 15km, no range info, planetype 1/2km, no name---
@a iconF mp_dotrange FRIENDLY COLOR .005 DOT 15 RANGE .005 TYPE 1.0 ID .005 NAME .005
@a iconE mp_dotrange FOE COLOR .005 DOT 15 RANGE .005 TYPE 1.0 ID .005 NAME .005


Note you have two settings: one for your own team (FRIENDLY) and one for the enemy (FOE).
Some servers have different settings for friendly than enemy, but I find that it defeats the purpose, because often you can spot or identify planes by the differing behaviour of the icons. So usually I keep them the same.
The numbers are all kilometres. 0.5= 500m, 0.1=100m, 0.05=50m, .005=5m
.005 is the smallest distance allowed I think; but effectively it means 'off'.

COLOR is the range that icon turns from grey to blue/red. If you leave it at 5m (.005), icons will stay grey and don't tell you what team your target is on. This is only a good idea if the mission being played has red flying allied planes only and blue flying OKL planes only. For dogfighting with mixed planesets I would change it to 2km or whatever.

DOTDIST is the range that a small dot appears on your screen. I think the default is 12km.

RANGE is the range that the 'target distance' information appears. The setting above has it switched off so that no target distance is given.

TYPE is the 'target type' (ie. the type of plane or ground target). Above, I've got 'type' set to 1km to help me practise identifying planes; it allows me to try to ID something by it's shape or skin at 2-3km, but at the last minute I can still abort an attack if I was wrong. If you're not into identifying planes by sight, then make the distance bigger.

ID is the squad information. I have it turned off.

NAME is the players online nickname. I have it turned off.

So with the above example, I will get no icon information except a grey-coloured 'plane type' at 1km.

Note that it matters what your in-game 'toggle icon' key is set to. Eg. With the above settings, if I had my in-game 'toggle icon' key set to 'off' (ie. no icons) I would not see any icons at all. If I then pressed it twice (ie. set to show 'range' and 'planetype') I would now see the planetype at 1km, but not the range. If I then pressed it another two times to turn all icons on, I would still only see planetype at 1km.

Couple of other notes.
There is no way to make the RCU settings (or script settings) default. You have to turn them on manually every new game. Online you do this by starting a game, bringing up the chatbox and type exactly:
>iconF
and 'return'. Then type:
>iconE
and 'return'.
Delete the > and close the chatbox.

Offline there is no chatbox, so you have to use the console (shift+tab) and type:
iconF <return>
iconE <return>

Note that you can change the labels 'iconF' and 'iconE' to whatever you want in the RCU file.
Typing 'iconcheck' should display the current icon settings.
Typing 'icondef' should reset them back to default.
Again you can make these 'labels' for the commands whatever you like in the RCU file.

Last note: the host of an online game sets the icons, not you. If you host, however, everyone will use your settings. Offline, obviously you are the 'host' so the RCU settings will apply.

http://www.forgotten.battles.pulpo.co.uk/il2logo.jpg (http://www.the-vaw.com)
9th AWACS is Recruiting: (http://www.9thawacs.com/modules.php?name=Content&pa=showpage&pid=19)
Accept all players (16+ years old).
Play FB for fun + VEF/VOW.
Fly when you want to (no minimum).
Training given on request.
Dedicated Teamspeak server.
Several other games played.
Members from all over Europe.

RocketDog
06-11-2004, 02:42 AM
Thanks Antifreeze, very helpful.

This should be stickied somewhere.

Regards,

RocketDog.

Dem4n
06-11-2004, 07:15 AM
Antifreeze

This doesn't work offline somehow. It says "command unknown" in console when you enter "iconF". Do you have to change the mp_dotrange to sp_dotrange? But it doesn't work either..
What am I doing wrong? http://ubbxforums.ubi.com/infopop/emoticons/icon_frown.gif

http://www.photodump.com/direct/MjrKoenig/lrg1543.jpg

"I don't know what weapons well be fighting with in WWIII, but in WWIV it will be sticks and stones." -Einstein

antifreeze
06-11-2004, 11:02 AM
Dem4n,
You edited your RCU file OK?

Check that you also have the default lines in there:

@set fast off
@set echo on
@set alias on
@set history 10
@file dosturmolog
@alias a alias

...above where you pasted the dotrange edits.

Also, the console/chatbox commands are case sensitive, so 'iconf' is not the same as 'iconF'.

That's all I can think of that could go wrong.
It definitely works.

'sp_dotrange'? Never heard of that command.

http://www.forgotten.battles.pulpo.co.uk/il2logo.jpg (http://www.the-vaw.com)
9th AWACS is Recruiting: (http://www.9thawacs.com/modules.php?name=Content&pa=showpage&pid=19)
Accept all players (16+ years old).
Play FB for fun + VEF/VOW.
Fly when you want to (no minimum).
Training given on request.
Dedicated Teamspeak server.
Several other games played.
Members from all over Europe.

Canad-ian
06-11-2004, 04:58 PM
Just in case anyone's confused with this, here's my rcu file (without the ----'s):

---------------------
@set fast off
@set echo on
@set alias on
@set history 20
@file dosturmolog

@alias a alias
@a h history
@a s show

@a f mp_dotrange FRIENDLY COLOR 3.5 DOT 9.9 RANGE 0.005 TYPE 4.5 ID 0.5 NAME 0.5
@a e mp_dotrange FOE COLOR 0.005 DOT 9.9 RANGE 0.005 TYPE 1.5 ID 0.005 NAME 0.005
@a def mp_dotrange DEFAULT
---------------------

So, in game, I set friendly icons by typing 'f' in the terminal, and enemy icons by typing 'e'. 'def' will reset all icons to the default.

Dem4n
06-12-2004, 05:01 AM
Yeah thx, I figured it out thx for the help.

http://www.photodump.com/direct/MjrKoenig/lrg1543.jpg

"I don't know what weapons well be fighting with in WWIII, but in WWIV it will be sticks and stones." -Einstein

Adlerangriff
07-11-2004, 02:23 PM
Can you load specific dot ranges into your properties file to set various ranges?

Clear = 20km
Good = 14
Hazy = 10


etc?

Canad-ian
07-11-2004, 08:22 PM
I really don't think so, sorry.

Rebel_Yell_21
07-11-2004, 10:11 PM
You could save 3 different configurations in your rcu file and name them Clear Good and Hazy. I only use 1, that I named sim, but this is an interesting thought. Think I'll implement that and include one for night.

http://www.303rdbga.com/art-ferris-fortress-S.jpg