PDA

View Full Version : Tulaji 1942 Fighter Pilot Campaign ?



RS.Wedge
12-22-2005, 09:03 PM
First off let me say that I am new to FB-AEP-PF and after reading through the forums it is best to use the DCG created by Paul Lowengrin when playing through campaigns.

I just started the Tulaji Fighter Pilot Campaign using the Auto-Generation Mode (IL-2 Dynamic Campaign Generator). I have now flown 3 escort missions in a row (F4F-3) and now after completing my last mission I am up for yet another escort mission. Is there something wrong? Is the DCG not working properly? I noticed that my target points have changed but usually they are in the same general area.

Any suggestions? Is this pretty much the mission types for flying the F4F-3?

Skycat_2
12-22-2005, 10:17 PM
You'll find that most DGen campaign missions are repetitive. That's why people say that Lowengrin's DCG is better. It's also an argument in defense of scripted campaigns that are creative and well-planned.

RS.Wedge
12-23-2005, 08:42 AM
You'll find that most DGen campaign missions are repetitive. That's why people say that Lowengrin's DCG is better. It's also an argument in defense of scripted campaigns that are creative and well-planned.

I know DGen can be repetitive and that is why I installed Lowengrin's DCG. I have flow pretty much the same mission 3 straight times. These missions were all generated by Lowengrin's DCG. Please re-read my original post.

jds1978
12-23-2005, 10:18 AM
My guess is that the bombers you are escorting are not getting the job done

are they being forced to drop bombs early so as to avoid enemy AC?

if not then they are probably hitting targets close to the original target which makes it appear repetitive

RS.Wedge
12-23-2005, 12:46 PM
Originally posted by jds1978:
My guess is that the bombers you are escorting are not getting the job done

are they being forced to drop bombs early so as to avoid enemy AC?

if not then they are probably hitting targets close to the original target which makes it appear repetitive

The targets are different and are located over land. So far I have not had any resistance in any of the 3 missions.

jds1978
12-23-2005, 06:41 PM
The targets are different and are located over land. So far I have not had any resistance in any of the 3 missions.

so you're not seeing any enemy AC?....

There are a lot of parameter settings in Lowengrin's DCG...check to make sure one of them isn't porked (ie: set Squadron density to "Full" or "Dense", make sure your combat radius is long enough, set enemy squadron settings to 4 flights of four planes etc.)

RS.Wedge
12-23-2005, 09:49 PM
Originally posted by jds1978:
<BLOCKQUOTE class="ip-ubbcode-quote"><div class="ip-ubbcode-quote-title">quote:</div><div class="ip-ubbcode-quote-content">The targets are different and are located over land. So far I have not had any resistance in any of the 3 missions.

so you're not seeing any enemy AC?....

There are a lot of parameter settings in Lowengrin's DCG...check to make sure one of them isn't porked (ie: set Squadron density to "Full" or "Dense", make sure your combat radius is long enough, set enemy squadron settings to 4 flights of four planes etc.) </div></BLOCKQUOTE>

Ok, I made those changes now, but I am starting off already airborne. This bugs me to no end - I like to start the missions taking off from the CV. I double checked my settings and I have "Taking Off and Landing" on. I am very frustrated now. Any help would greatly be appreciated. Thanks.

Skycat_2
12-24-2005, 01:05 AM
I tried DCG back in FB/AEP days, before PF was released. I liked it and respected it but ultimately I decided that DGen was less of a hassle. I've never used DCG with Pacific Fighters; the stock DGen works fine for me. If you jumped right to DCG on somebody's recommendation without giving the stock DGen a try, you may want to reconsider that. I started* an F4U campaign a while back and every mission began on a carrier deck and had waypoints that brought me back to the same carrier.

(*I've started several campaigns in DGen from all sorts of theaters, nations, plane types etc., and I just play them as the mood hits me. It breaks up the monotony.)

jds1978
12-24-2005, 06:20 AM
RS.Wedge Posted Fri December 23 2005 20:49
quote:
Originally posted by jds1978:

quote:
The targets are different and are located over land. So far I have not had any resistance in any of the 3 missions.


so you're not seeing any enemy AC?....

There are a lot of parameter settings in Lowengrin's DCG...check to make sure one of them isn't porked (ie: set Squadron density to "Full" or "Dense", make sure your combat radius is long enough, set enemy squadron settings to 4 flights of four planes etc.)


Ok, I made those changes now, but I am starting off already airborne. This bugs me to no end - I like to start the missions taking off from the CV. I double checked my settings and I have "Taking Off and Landing" on. I am very frustrated now. Any help would greatly be appreciated. Thanks.


there is an "Options" tab at the top of the DCG GUI....click on it it and make sure "airstarts" is unchecked.

In addition in one of the panels (i can't remember which) there should be a box w/ "Homebase" or "Airfield"....open it to change the location of where you are starting (it may be set to an off map airfield)

However, there are some missions (USAAF Kyushu 1944, USAAF Kyushu 1945, USAAF Okinawa, IJA/IJN Tulagi) where your default setting is at an off map airfield and you can't choose any other setting (ie: your home base is Rabaul and since Rabaul isn't mapped you are stuck w/ the airstart)

BTW: Have started noticing enemy AC yet?

RS.Wedge
12-24-2005, 08:19 AM
Originally posted by jds1978:
<BLOCKQUOTE class="ip-ubbcode-quote"><div class="ip-ubbcode-quote-title">quote:</div><div class="ip-ubbcode-quote-content">RS.Wedge Posted Fri December 23 2005 20:49
quote:
Originally posted by jds1978:

quote:
The targets are different and are located over land. So far I have not had any resistance in any of the 3 missions.


so you're not seeing any enemy AC?....

There are a lot of parameter settings in Lowengrin's DCG...check to make sure one of them isn't porked (ie: set Squadron density to "Full" or "Dense", make sure your combat radius is long enough, set enemy squadron settings to 4 flights of four planes etc.)


Ok, I made those changes now, but I am starting off already airborne. This bugs me to no end - I like to start the missions taking off from the CV. I double checked my settings and I have "Taking Off and Landing" on. I am very frustrated now. Any help would greatly be appreciated. Thanks.


there is an "Options" tab at the top of the DCG GUI....click on it it and make sure "airstarts" is unchecked.

In addition in one of the panels (i can't remember which) there should be a box w/ "Homebase" or "Airfield"....open it to change the location of where you are starting (it may be set to an off map airfield)

However, there are some missions (USAAF Kyushu 1944, USAAF Kyushu 1945, USAAF Okinawa, IJA/IJN Tulagi) where your default setting is at an off map airfield and you can't choose any other setting (ie: your home base is Rabaul and since Rabaul isn't mapped you are stuck w/ the airstart)

BTW: Have started noticing enemy AC yet? </div></BLOCKQUOTE>

I will check those settings. Yes, I did start to notice enemy aircraft a squad of 3 enemy fighters were flying south as my squad was flying north. We ended up flying head on into them but our squad leader did not engage and we stayed on our original mission of escort to Tulaji.

RS.Wedge
12-24-2005, 08:21 AM
Originally posted by Skycat_2:
I tried DCG back in FB/AEP days, before PF was released. I liked it and respected it but ultimately I decided that DGen was less of a hassle. I've never used DCG with Pacific Fighters; the stock DGen works fine for me. If you jumped right to DCG on somebody's recommendation without giving the stock DGen a try, you may want to reconsider that. I started* an F4U campaign a while back and every mission began on a carrier deck and had waypoints that brought me back to the same carrier.

(*I've started several campaigns in DGen from all sorts of theaters, nations, plane types etc., and I just play them as the mood hits me. It breaks up the monotony.)

Thanks for the advise. I will trouble shoot the DCG a few more times then I will head back to DGen if I cant get things worked out.

Mosin_91
12-25-2005, 05:11 PM
DCG is Far superior in all respects. As long as you set it up right, you will get the best results. There is a reedme associated with DCG that is available for download that will not only explain the diferent pannels, but will also explain how it works with IL2.

Again, like was already posted, after starting a campaign, open that campaign in DCG. Go through all the pannels, making sure that your flight is based where you want it and has the skins you want. Make sure any enemy squadrons have skins associated with them if you wish. Make sure the flight size and number are how you want, and that the action radius is set to where you want. If you like, you can also edit exactly where the front starts, and where the points for victory are in order to win the map and advance to the next map. If you like you may also add and delete squadrons, or change the acraft type of a squadron. You can add, change or delete ships as well.

There are options galore that are available to the user, where DGEN has zero options and is not as great.

I have flown missions in all times of day in all types of weather. I have also ALWAYS started on a carrier. After you have set up all of these options, generate ONE mission. then go back to IL2 and treat it like DGEN. You should only have to generate a mission on the first mission of each map, making sure all setings are how you want for that map. You do not have to generate a mission from DCG everytime. The sim will automatically generate a mission, without you doing it manually.

The purpose of DCG is to allow you to set up DGEN how you want it. Except for the set up process, it is the same as DGEN. You can even run DGEN campaigns with DCG.