PDA

View Full Version : WW1



RAF74_Limey
01-16-2005, 04:10 PM
This is a great sim, but I would be willing to pay top Dollar for a WW1 add on to this game like RB3D
I don't think I am the only one out here. To fight in the old WW1 planes with this format would be great, plus how far back casn one go for copy rights?
I miss my Camel

Von_Zero
01-16-2005, 04:17 PM
It won't happen. There was a WW1 project, but it is dead since a long time ago.

heywooood
01-16-2005, 08:05 PM
it wont happen soon...but this engine would be just fine for a WWI sim, only needs a blank map of Verdun region, some period buildings and equipment and a few planes...and no lawsuits for trademark infringements...

WUAF_Badsight
01-16-2005, 09:42 PM
there were so many , id love a seperate sim to cover 1900 - 1930

when i found out why KoE was shelved . . . . man was i ever bummed

even so , Wings of War can be modded into a completely realistic WW1 sim but its the open dev that is totally not good for multiplay

AlGroover
01-17-2005, 02:41 AM
I really wanted to like WOW but even with the mods it still is an arcade game. If you've got a copy of CFS2 hanging around, Prune has nice models at http://tede.org.uk//ww1home.htm . Also follow his links to Stuart Green's models which are some of the best I've seen for CFS2. Some of the AER planes are a bit basic in the cockpit graphics department but you can always edit them into your Quickcom file to use them as AI. WW1 terrain files are also available.

TgD Thunderbolt56
01-17-2005, 07:24 AM
I would grab a WWI sim based on this engine without thinking twice, but I fear that will never happen either...too bad I say. http://forums.ubi.com/images/smilies/16x16_smiley-sad.gif

shrike_426
01-17-2005, 12:45 PM
Then perhaps why not make one, I will have to have a look but i think it can't be that hard. the engine is pritty powerfull, so should easilly except a ww1 mod. The only difficult i think is trying to find relaible data on specification and performance data. but i must addmit a ww1 mod/sim on this engine would in fact rock.....

stathem
01-17-2005, 03:46 PM
Put me down for one too! http://forums.ubi.com/groupee_common/emoticons/icon_smile.gif

WTE_Galway
01-17-2005, 06:48 PM
story is Oleg unofficially indicated that if the community came up with enough planes he would seriously consider doing the flight models and releasing an addon

unfortunately the software required for IL2 3D work is expensive (thousands) so not many people actually do 3D modelling and the few that do it were pretty tied up with FB aircraft.

I believe one or two planes were well on the way ... but nowhere near enough aircraft to warrant the release of an addon

llandaff
01-18-2005, 05:23 AM
Oleg officially stated that he won't make ww1 sim, because there are no reliable data about ww1 planes performance.