PDA

View Full Version : Out of Virtual Memoey?



walsh2509
01-09-2005, 12:04 AM
Out of Virtual Memoey?


Single Mission "Patrol over PH" and after about 6 or 7 minutes , I heard something running inthe background and then the screen froze..

Out of Virtual Memory?

Has this to do with "Page Size"? I set No page size for this as it was the only way that my son could run his CM game.

If its not that, could someone point me in the right direction?

Thanks

Slick750
01-09-2005, 01:46 AM
I think you better put back "page size" on. I never saw a game that needed it turned off. CM? never heard of that. But anyway...unless you have 2 gigs of ram, always use it or let windows manage it. I use 1 gig of ram and 1 gig of "page size".

x6BL_Brando
01-09-2005, 04:59 AM
Hi Walsh,

Slick is spot on with his reply. Setting No Page File is a recipe for disaster as far as this and most sims are concerned. If you're running Windows XP then it's much better to let the OS manage it.
There may be other stuff happening (or not happening) that is also affecting the rig's performance - you will get more help if you post a dxdiag readout in the Community Help forum.