PDA

View Full Version : OMG - don€t laugh I'm new to this (sort of)

philtb
10-14-2005, 03:53 AM
So quick history lesson€¦..the last flight sim I played was microprose€s F-19 stealth fighter on my Amiga, when was that? Late 80€s I think. God I almost shudder when I think it€s not far from 20 years ago, wow€¦..anyhow.

Most of my computer gaming since has been console based, although in the last 2-3 years I€ve had a pc€¦..€I need one for work dear, you can use it too€ ahem.

I like a mixture of most games and have been playing mostly over the last 12+ months Rome TW, HL2, EVE (excellent but I have one life already), WOW, 40K DOW, BF2, silent hunter 3 (an excellent sub sim)€¦.

So there I was walking round the shops to find PF available for 9€¦..bargin I thought, why not, ages since I€ve flown, so suitable joystick purchase later and I€m at home, patch the thing up and go.

Hhhhmmmm€¦. What an awful front end this game has, almost seems like an afterthought, not very immersive in terms of putting you there. Little touches can go a long way in this regard in terms of €˜being there€. Take silent hunter for example the front end is your office on dry land where you access all manner of stuff to do with the on going campaign. Leaving port, families by the dockside waving off your crew, like I say little things.

Any way back to PF and why I€m here (and why I bought it) the flying. The training section is a bit of a joke, watch a movie? What€s all that about? You can€t even alter the view to get any hints or tips, oh well let€s start with a quick mission, take off€¦..how hard can it be.